We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Rate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“First Rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Booked for one night and ended staying for four.

Lots to commend about this hotel. Staff were very friendly and efficient, any requests for service were swiftly and courteously dealt with.

The swimming pool was excellent and the on-site restaurant and coffee lounge, which overlooked the river, were pleasant and not over expensive.

There is a secure underground car park with direct access to the hotel.

Centrally located and within walking distance of many good restaurants and one block away from the tourist information centre.

We particularly like the large balcony overlooking the river where we were able to breakfast in the morning and take a refreshing glass of wine in the evening. The suite came with a King size bedroom, a large lounge/ kitchen/dining area with enough room for a two piece suite, dining table and chairs and the kitchen area equipped with a huge fridge freezer, micro wave, dishwasher, toaster and all the cutlery and crockery you could require.

There is wifi throughout the hotel though there is a charge ($5 per day).

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gallimaufry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Gallimaufry, Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina. It gives our team genuine pleasure to provide our guests with such a positive holiday experience and we are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and our beautiful region. We hope to be of service to you in again the future, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    270
    54
    25
    4
See reviews for
107
353
26
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at the Ramada enroute to Brisbane. The room was clean and pleasant. On request for assistance around 11pm we couldn't raise anyone by phone and eventually went to the reception to find it unmanned. Apparently there was only one person on this shift to manage all requests and bookings. He was away from reception and together with our issue there were others waiting for attention by the time he returned. Not his fault the Hotel should provide additional staff. Otherwise we were happy with the hotel and hope to return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bathgate3554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Bathgate3554, thank you for your positive comments on your stay during our hotel. It is usually very quiet in the evening but I believe that last night was busy and we will definitely take this on board. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

A smooth and trouble free bookin and upgrade (not free). The two bedroom suite was clean, spacious and at ground level with a huge courtyard overlooking the river. Meals and beverages in the restaurant were delicious and reasonably priced. The friendly staff were a huge bonus. Undercover parking was included but there not enough spots for all cars during the busy Christmas period. A great place but not cheap.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a view but the higher the better. We were on the ground floor so the view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosetta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Rosetta D, Thank you for your positive comments, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Only here for one night but would certainly come back. Rooms are adequate but not extraordinary, about right for the price.
Position of the hotel is great, right on the estuary. You can see dolphins from your room if your lucky, plenty of sea birds, people fishing etc, just a very relaxing spot.
The restaurant downstairs is peaceful with a good range of food and wine and outdoor tables right next to the water.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Adam M, thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina. We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful natural wildlife, the dolphins are indeed very popular. Thank you again and we hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I have often stayed here but this time I'm really disappointed. There were large blobs of food on the curtains and the shutters between the bathroom and bedroom were covered with dust. There was no ice in the ice tray (not in itself unusual) so I went down to get some. I told reception (they couldn't have cared less - 'get some from the bar' - no 'sorry about that sir'. Barman, reluctantly, gave me a very small amount of ice, saying. 'I've nearly run out myself'. Manners cost nothing but they would make such a difference. Ric

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear lyn b, thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina. I am very disappointed that we have not lived up to your expectations on this stay and will be addressing all issues mentioned in your review. Unfortunately, due to OH&S regulations we are unable to fill the ice tray or water bottle which makes it inconvenient for the guest so we will definitely be looking at ways to improve this service. We hope that you will return and we can be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, but could easily have stayed longer. The Spa Room was just right. Good size, good layout, lovely bathroom, with a shower separate to the bath, and fabulous view of the river from the room and even from the toilet! Quality fittings, including iPod docking station, flat screen TV. Only a few niggles: Pretty ordinary tea and coffee selection, little pots of milk, and no biscuits. And no free wifi. I would expect better from a place of this calibre.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TripleJFLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear TripleJFC, thank you so much for your positive review about your stay at the Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We will definitely be investigating your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked a river view room but it was disappointing. The room was one of only a few located on the ground floor along from the reception desk and we really didn't have much of a view. Plus we had people walking past the room along the boardwalk. The room was also quite small but the bathroom was huge. We did enjoy the spa bath, however, but could've done without the louvres between the bathroom and bedroom. The staff were very friendly and the service in the restaurant at breakfast very good. I suggest asking for an upper floor when booking.

Room Tip: Higher floors have views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WandaSandhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear WandaSandhills. thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and sorry that the view was not what you had anticipated. We hope to welcome you back again, and on a high floor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ballina Heritage Inn
Ballina Heritage Inn
#1 of 20 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ballina Island Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron

Property: Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
Address: 2 Martin St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#2 Business Hotel in Ballina
#4 Family Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Hotel & Suites has 115 rooms consisting of hotel spa rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses, all with modern, stylish decor and all the facilities you would expect from an international class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing