We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourteen years on Murray River golf tours”
Review of El Sierra Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Sierra Motel
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I wish to comment on the hospitality and accommodation at the El Sierra Motel, with respect to golfing tours along the Murray River in Australia.

I have organised golf tours, primarily based at the El Sierra Motel, for fourteen years. Groups have ranged from six to sixteen golfers, both male and female and a mixture of singles and couples. Golfers have come from Australia ( mainly Queensland, New South Wales and Victoria), Fiji Islands, United Kingdom, Papua New Guinea, and Thailand. Over the fourteen years, we have played courses at Shepparton, Cobram-Barooga, Tocumwal, Yarrawonga, Corowa, Albury/Thurgoona, and Rich River.

The El Sierra Motel has always been convenient and central to the golf courses we have played. The accommodation has always been more than adequate and an acceptable standard. The rooms are large and clean. Obviously, the motel facilities have been upgraded periodically over the years. Michael and Lorraine Bhutas have always been efficient and accommodating when organising the golf program for each year. The hospitality at the Motel during our stays has always been friendly and pleasant at all times. The breakfasts have been very good.

I commend the El Sierra Motel and its owners to anyone who wants to enjoy the high quality golf courses along the Murray River. We will be back for our fifteenth year's golf in March 2013.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElSierra, Manager at El Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for your input. As you know we are a family run business and we specialise in groups like yours which you would have seen in 14 years or coming to us! We continue to upgrade our facilities to give you and all our guests the best service and we be beaten on price. Say hello to all in your group and see you next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for El Sierra Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

The committee and members of the Club Hotel Golf Club wish to say a special thank you to you and your staff for making our trip to Cobram-Barooga a most enjoyable stay.

The facilities around the pool and BBQ area made socializing for the whole group most enjoyable and the ladies from the motel could not have been more helpful.

The feedback so far has all been positive and we will be coming back for our annual trip in February for years to come.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We saw the review by Dean O and as we were booked in for Easter we were concerned. So we rang the motel. We were assured that there were no bugs anymore. The manager said that after heavy rains that they had an unusual amount of bugs around for a few days. We have just returned home from the Easter break. Our stay at El Sierra was most enjoyable. Rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. No bugs in the rooms! Service was great with all the staff helpful. Best breakfast we've had for a long time in a lovely breakfast room. Kids enjoyed the pool and tennis court whilst we enjoyed the BBQ's in a lovely courtyard garden setting.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_BMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElSierra, Manager at El Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for you feedback. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

So yes i do agree with the other reviewers issues about bugs and Micks attitude. This place is a real low grade stink hole no doubt. We had bugs crawling out from everywhere, albeit only smaller cockroaches so i guess he had the place "bombed" recently. By the sight if the piled up matresses in the main entrance to the rear carpark, i would suggest that Mick has had to replace all of the beds with new ones....doesn't look like he is throwing out the old ones as they are wrapped in plastic. From the moment you walk into the office with the stale smell of chops to Micks eagerness (gold chains and second hand car yard stature), to get the cash into his hand, i can only say that you get what you pay for. We were not expecting anything brilliant from this dainty little hovel and Mick delivered 100%. Top work Mick, you should be proud of running a real top notch show my friend. Keep up the.....(hhmmm..??)......work..??

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubyaEchuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElSierra, Manager at El Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Yes we had an unusual number of insects after heavy rains and we have had the place sprayed several times to rectify this issue. We are in the process of continual upgrading of our property and we are replacing the beds for our guests comfort. Can't see anything wrong with that. The old ones are awaiting to be carted away. If you were dissatisfied, we would have appreciated if you would have come to talk to us so we could make you happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is infested with insects, we arrived on Friday evening and entered our room. We found the place to be full of beatles, cockroaches and bull-ants. After spending over an hour killing them, we decided to sleep in the car, as the beasts were in the bed covers, crawling all over the walls, and exiting every available orafice in the room.

The next day we complained to the Manager, Michael Butas. Now Michael is a very difficult man, and would only agree to refund 1 night's accommodation, not 2. He wanted us to stay in his hotel, albeit in a different room, that evening. We duly checked out the room offered, next door to the 1 we were previously allocated, but that too was full of insects, it was not just a couple, they were all over (and in) the bed and walls, it was disgusting. I have photographic evidence which proves this. Furthermore, the Receptionist agreed she had never seen so many creatures in 1 concentrated area.

Anyway, Michael - who continued to be rude and aggressive throughout - refused point-blank to refund both night's accommodation, and as a result we are left out of pocket, as we had to then pay to stay somewhere else for the night.

Room Tip: Just DO NOT visit
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElSierra, Manager at El Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

The reason insects got in was, because the guest rang late at night to tell us he got lost on the way. So we said we will leave the lights on in the room and leave the door slightly open so he could easily find it. The insects were abundant just after the heavy rains we had. So they got in as they were attracted to the lights. We meant to be helpful, but it did not work out that way. We refunded that night and we offered them a new room. We made sure it was ok ( We would not have given them another room with bugs in it) As for rude and aggressive, we both know who that was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barooga
0.3 mi away
Barooga Golf View Motel
Barooga Golf View Motel
#2 of 3 in Barooga
24 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sportsmans Motor Inn
Sportsmans Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Barooga
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn Cobram Barooga Golf Club Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cobram Colonial Motor Inn
1.1 mi away
Sunrise Motel Barooga
Sunrise Motel Barooga
#1 of 3 in Barooga
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barooga Country Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sierra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sierra Motel

Address: 183 Golf Course Rd, Barooga, New South Wales 3644, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Barooga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Barooga
Price Range: £55 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Sierra Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Sierra with 41 quality, self-contained and family units, provides better class accommodation designed to make your stay in Cobram/Barooga relaxing and enjoyable. A holiday you will want to experience again and again. Just across the road from the Golf Club clubhouse and a stroll form the Sports Club. Placed in the middle of two superb golf courses, El Sierra is centrally located to all great golf courses along the Murray and is the perfect base for enjoying some of the best golf on Australia. Brilliant weather and a host of attractions on Australia's renowned Murray River. We specialise in All inclusive Multi-Course Golf Packages along the Murray. Prices start at $69 per person per day. Includes Golf, accommodation, breakfasts, evening dinners at the clubs. You play Cobram/Barooga, Yarrawonga, Tocumwal, Rich River, Corowa, or any course of your choice at no extra charge. We can accommodate up to 180 people at any given time and we have the largest breakfast room in Barooga. For the best breakfast in town come to El Sierra Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Sierra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing