We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not good enough for more than one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bega Downs Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bega
Reviewed 10 July 2013

As a business traveller I stay in many places and this is one of the most dated I have been in - ever!
Not overly clean. The AC is from the 80's and so very noisy, during the night if a adjoining room has their's on the noise was enough to keep me awake in my room.
The facewasher provided looks like it may have been part of a Barbie set it is so small.
So many stains on the carpet I did not want to walk around the room in bare feet.
FIVE DOLLARS an HOUR for internet connection and no other options.
Free Austar with only 5 channels (3 Fox Sport showing only rugby, 1 music, Fox 8)
One bright point of the motel is the restaraunt attached where the food is very good.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

You get what you pay for. For one night it's ok. Any longer and the age would get to me. 100% occupancy when we were there. Air conditioner was too noisy to leave on, carpet had a lot of stains and needs replacing. Curtains + bedspreads are just so 70s.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank 2,200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Room was only worth half of what was paid due to age and location. Food from onsite diner receives 10/10 for taste, especially the pot pie.... if u don't mind waiting an hour for service. Entree came in cold, but issue was resolved with excellent diplomacy from friendly staff, with satisfying outcomes. Overall it is worth the stay if it is renovated and if the prices are reviewed!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

At $138 per night, you could reasonably expect a modern, clean room. Unfortunately this was not the case. Filthy carpet, mouldy bathroom & broken bed were very obvious. Location was good, close to town, but quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteLozsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Had 2 nights at this shocking dump!!! Paint coming off shower floor sticking to feet. Badly stained carpet, curtains/drapes stiff with dirt, flyscreen/windows covered in dirt, dust and cobwebs, holes in dirty bed valence, badly chipped furniture, dirty entrance to units, shabby linen in general. Cracked floor tiles, loose, wobbly taps and lamp shades falling to bits and covered in dust. Mould in shower. This place should be condemned, do not stay there!!!!! Went up the road to where family were staying at another complex closer to town, same rate, delightfully immaculate. So dirty did not dare eat in the restaurant!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed here with partner for a night while in Bega on business. The motel is clean and neat, roomy, comfortable and very reasonable. Staff at reception very helpful and cheerful. We ate at the restaurant and were very pleased with both the food and service. Lamb shanks to die for with beautiful mash and my partner said his fish salad was lovely too, really good food and service, and fantastic value for money. The woman who served us was very helpful and attentive. Overall, great service, great food and a pleasant night at a reasonably priced motel. I will definitely return when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The room was clean and spacious, plenty of milk for tea and coffee. The face clothes were stained and threadbare and there were several cracked and broken ties in the bathroom. Generally the motel presented as tired and in need of updating for the star rating and the rates charged, we would award a max of 3 stars. The restaurant provided a good meal big portions which were overwhelming. For a one night stay this motel was acceptable but would not want to stay several nights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank S0ryar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bega
8.3 mi away
Tathra Beach House
Tathra Beach House
#1 of 1 in Tathra
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bega Village Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Bega Southtown Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Princes Motel
Princes Motel
#1 of 3 in Bega
26 reviews
14.8 mi away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#3 of 15 in Merimbula
105 reviews
8.2 mi away
BIG4 Tathra Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bega Downs Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bega Downs Motor Inn

Address: Corner Princess Highway & High Street, Bega, New South Wales 2550, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bega
Price Range: £56 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bega Downs Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bega Downs Motor Inn is situated in the heart of Bega and is the perfect place to stay for the corporate traveller, couples and families seeking a relaxing holiday or for that weekend getaway. The motel features 27 comfortable rooms including a spacious Queen, twin and family rooms, as well as a 2 bedroom family spa unit for up to 4 people. All rooms are ensuited, air conditioned, with free WiFi. Bega is set in a valley at the junction of the Bega and Brogo Rivers and surrounded by rich dairy country. Bega is a handsome, historic town with a proud tradition of cheese making. Over the past 100 years, Bega Cheese has come to dominate the Australian cheese market. The Bega Cheese Heritage Centre tells the story of the cheese-manufacturing process and the company’s growth and the journey in the faithful reproduction of the original factory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bega Downs Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bega
Bega Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing