We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bega Downs Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bega
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Spacious Room”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

This motel room was spacious. Bed was comfortable. Large TV. We went to the restaurant in the motel property but were a little disappointed that what we wanted was not available. Gardens and lawns around the property could do with a little TLC.
Apart from the above we were extremely happy with the room and breakfast. It was one of the best we have stayed in. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    16
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
5
16
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jervis Bay
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at this motel for a Business Trip which included Dinner and Breakfast. When I arrived at the Motel I was greeted by a Man who was dressed poorly and when I gave him my booking form, he handed me my key and said your room is down the end and went to walk away. I asked about Room service and he grunted.."The menu is in your room, just ring the Restaurant and tell them what you want". Then walked away back into the live in residents place, from Reception you could see nothing but mess and paperwork everywhere. Luckily the room was clean and presentable. The meals were nice and plentiful and presented well. I had to read that I needed to have my breakfast booking sheet back to the drop box that night, would have been nice if I was told this in person. The breakfast was large and cooked well. Such a shame the Management lacks Customer Service and this man who greeted me looked like he couldn't care less about my stay at his Motel. Hoping that the next time I have to stay there for work, I will be treated with much better Service. Next expecting Concierge treatment, but just some general customer service and some information in relation to staying at the Motel would have been helpful

Room Tip: Cheap rates for Room, Dinner and Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FijiIsMyDestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bega hotels

Callala Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Its Ok for a quick stop over on business but wouldn't recommend long stay. Rooms are in desparate need of update as are really starting to show age. Stayed 3 times now and always booked out with workers, mainly construction workers. Don't switch the aircon on if you are trying to sleep or hear something. Food is good, wifi one of the most expensive I have come across and staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Get one which doesn't back onto the highway. Highway soon to be by-passed when construction is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

As a business traveller I stay in many places and this is one of the most dated I have been in - ever!
Not overly clean. The AC is from the 80's and so very noisy, during the night if a adjoining room has their's on the noise was enough to keep me awake in my room.
The facewasher provided looks like it may have been part of a Barbie set it is so small.
So many stains on the carpet I did not want to walk around the room in bare feet.
FIVE DOLLARS an HOUR for internet connection and no other options.
Free Austar with only 5 channels (3 Fox Sport showing only rugby, 1 music, Fox 8)
One bright point of the motel is the restaraunt attached where the food is very good.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

You get what you pay for. For one night it's ok. Any longer and the age would get to me. 100% occupancy when we were there. Air conditioner was too noisy to leave on, carpet had a lot of stains and needs replacing. Curtains + bedspreads are just so 70s.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Room was only worth half of what was paid due to age and location. Food from onsite diner receives 10/10 for taste, especially the pot pie.... if u don't mind waiting an hour for service. Entree came in cold, but issue was resolved with excellent diplomacy from friendly staff, with satisfying outcomes. Overall it is worth the stay if it is renovated and if the prices are reviewed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

At $138 per night, you could reasonably expect a modern, clean room. Unfortunately this was not the case. Filthy carpet, mouldy bathroom & broken bed were very obvious. Location was good, close to town, but quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteLozsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bega
8.3 mi away
Tathra Beach House
Tathra Beach House
#1 of 1 in Tathra
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bega Village Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Princes Motel
Princes Motel
#1 of 3 in Bega
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bega Southtown Motor Inn
14.9 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Merimbula
139 reviews
15.0 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 15 in Merimbula
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bega Downs Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bega Downs Motor Inn

Property: Bega Downs Motor Inn
Address: Corner Princess Highway & High Street, Bega, New South Wales 2550, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bega Downs Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bega Downs Motor Inn is situated in the heart of Bega and is the perfect place to stay for the corporate traveller, couples and families seeking a relaxing holiday or for that weekend getaway. The motel features 27 comfortable rooms including a spacious Queen, twin and family rooms, as well as a 2 bedroom family spa unit for up to 4 people. All rooms are ensuited, air conditioned, with free WiFi. Bega is set in a valley at the junction of the Bega and Brogo Rivers and surrounded by rich dairy country. Bega is a handsome, historic town with a proud tradition of cheese making. Over the past 100 years, Bega Cheese has come to dominate the Australian cheese market. The Bega Cheese Heritage Centre tells the story of the cheese-manufacturing process and the company’s growth and the journey in the faithful reproduction of the original factory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bega Downs Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bega
Bega Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing