We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place if you can”

Spinnakers Leisure Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spinnakers Leisure Resort
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

There are a lot of permanent residents which all present very tidy & well looked after. Staff were friendly & helpful.
The tourist section was tidy enough & the cabin itself appeared tidy enough even though they are quite old. However at night the cockroaches came out! Not very nice at all!
The security screen door did not have a lock, the windows could not be opened as the fly wire was broken, the curtains were very thin which let in a lot of light & there was a light pole directly outside the bedroom window. Air conditioning was extremely noisy so couldn't be left on while watching TV or sleeping resulting in a sleepless night. We did not use any cutlery or plates ect because of the cockroaches.
Not the worst park I have ever stayed in but it's up there with them!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmajade_schultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Got here tonight around 6.00 pm reception was about to close. ady said they have a unit for $110 a night. not bad for a long weekend. no extra because it was labour day weekend. Great air con as the day was around 33c. !Nice hot shower. Unit was very clean would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

After reading the reviews i was very hesitant to book here but due to my low budget i thought i would book there for 2nights. I was waiting to see a dirty cabin with cockroach poo and mice but it was very clean and tidy i even looked for faults but there was none for what i paid this was really good accomodation would i book there yes i would. It has a nice BBQ area with a heater full kitchen in the area the swimming pool area is average and the staff where so friendly and poliet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We were 1 of 9 families that stayed at this leisure resort. We read a few reviews after our initial booking, which was a little concerning. However, under the new Management of Vickie & Adam since mid 2012, we found the resort was clean, the service was very friendly and all 9 families had an excellent time. All within a 5 minute drive, is a shopping centre, beaches, sporting fields and 16 footers sailing club, which we highly recommend a visit to. We would recommend this leisure resort to other families.

Room Tip: The Terrace has air conditioning, self contained laundry, and plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

If you enjoy friendly service, a self-contained air conditioned spa cabin with Wi-Fi overlooking a lovely pool with all the modern facilities like I do, then Spinnakers Leisure Park Lake Macquarie is the place to check into. You can eat in and make use of the well fitted kitchen or pop down the street for some take away Chinese from Swansea Mandarin - "the mixed noodle dish is enough to feed a horse". I enjoyed sitting on the cabin verandah taking in the evening light over the pool. The gymnasium was a complete plus before a morning dip. Cabin Spa One - you will see me again... .......Thanks Vickie !

Room Tip: Spa One, Spa Two or any of the two storey cabins overlooking the pool are nicely positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed only for only, Night but that's really All I could stand anyway. On Check in the Lady at the front counter was very friendly however that's all about this property that was a bonus Our "Bungalow" had an empty Beer bottle on the front porch on arrival so great first Impression. On entering our apt we saw a filthy stained unsanitary couch they we refused to sit on and since we have a 3 year old with us we were not happy. only 1 bed was made which we thought was weird and some clean sheet were left on the other bed, There were cockroaches in the apt (I killed 3) and floor had patches on the floor wearing away, AC was noisey and I thought it was gonna fall out of the wall and it kept turning off.
I felt really unsafe here and was expecting my car to be broken into, There is no views here and am glad It was for only one night....For $160 a night I would expect more...I would never go there again...YUCK

Room Tip: 2 star property, don't expect too much here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BethI153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed as part of a group of cricketing families on a week long cricketing carnival. The facilities were ecellent with both parents and kids well catered for. The excellent camp kitchen (one of the best in Australia) and the 2 swimming pools were well utilised each afternoon/evening. Our hosts Vicki and Adam were outstanding. They have worked hard on improving many aspects of the park. There wasplenty of lawn for the backyard cricket comps, amenities were clean and laundry excellent. Free wireless access allowed some, who had to, keep up with work committments. Many qualkity clubs and pubs in close proximity for a good value meal and cool drink. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The larger bungalows have a good deck for drinks and chats of an evening. Internal laundry very help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0ddWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belmont hotels
0.6 mi away
Aquarius Motel Belmont
Aquarius Motel Belmont
#3 of 4 in Belmont
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeview Motor Inn Belmont
1.1 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Squid's Ink Hotel
Squid's Ink Hotel
#4 of 4 in Belmont
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belmont Bayview Caravan Park
0.4 mi away
Belmont Palms Motel
Belmont Palms Motel
#2 of 6 in Belmont
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnakers Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnakers Leisure Resort

Address: 687 Pacific Hwy, Belmont, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2280, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Belmont
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Belmont
Price Range: £57 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing