We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate Small Restaurant”
Review of Deck 56 Restaurant

Deck 56 Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Belmont
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Deck 56 Restaurant is located directly opposite beautiful Lake Macquarie. We are open Monday-Sundayday 8.00am till late for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Light meals available in the afternoon. We specialise in great food with a casual, elegant atmosphere. We make all our desserts in house and am open for morning and afternoon tea, 7 days a week. Deck 56 is fully licensed, has wheelchair access and also caters for kids.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Intimate Small Restaurant”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely small cafe/restaurant- have lunch, dinner or just stop in for coffee. Good service and food. Nice view, set across from Lake Macquarie.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiddoRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    69
    23
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redhead, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I wrote a review about how great it was...but tonight was not worth it. So sad, wait staff different, Menu different, asked if same chef told have a new chef but still have the same old chef. Definitely not. I would like to go the restaurant where the old chef works now. If you are going to charge top price you need to have exceptional food.

I do not usually write bad review but felt I should since I and recommended it previously and it had changed so dramatically.

Unfortunately, we will not be back...Off to find a new restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna071269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Muffins to die for”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

we meet friend for a coffee at deck 56 great location opposite lake at Belmont. On arrival he staff were friendly and the café had a warm feeling, We sat outside due to the nice weather, excellent coffee and cakes, I recommend the muffins Raspberry and white chocolate.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulli, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, Great view over lake”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The food wa excellent, we had rack of lamb and it was done to perfection. Staff were very friendly and the service was great. The view over the lake is breath taking

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful views”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My partner and I came across Deck 56 by chance. Such a pleasant surprise to find a small and sophisticated restaurant in the Belmont region. All of the dishes we experienced were fresh, beautifully presented and delicious. The staff and chef were super friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were fortunate enough to view a magnificent sunset as well. We would totally recommend the restaurant to anyone and hope to visit again soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deck 56 Restaurant also viewed

Belmont, Lake Macquarie
 
Belmont, Lake Macquarie
Belmont, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Deck 56 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing