We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchorage
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed In the 4 star unit and were extremely happy with everything. The towels are huge, the kitchen had everything and it was a great place to stay for a destination wedding. The only complaint...more hooks to hang up the towels. Other than that, I would highly recommend the anchorage to everyone!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the 4 star rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne332013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Spent three nights at the Anchorage this long weekend, having read the reports had mixed feelings when booked initially. The place is fantastic, the rooms are clean and spacious. The BBQ area next to the pool is beaut. Great self contained apartments adjacent to the water.The owners make you feel right at home very friendly. Highly recommend this place to stay whilst in Bermi, a real winner!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asheek k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed at the Anchorage while attending a funeral in Bermagui. Had one of the newer 2 bedroom apartments and it was in immaculate condition. Self-contained with modern amenities, the Anchorage was a perfect place for a family of four to stay.
Had a great shower, good size rooms, air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchen. Only a 20 minute walk from the centre of Bermagui, it was quiet and peaceful.
We had some bad news on the morning that we were leaving and the manager, Susan, could not have been more understanding. Made it clear that we could stay as long as we needed to and that there was no hurry. You don't get this type of kindness everywhere!
Have no hesitation recommending the Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussie1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Firstly: To those reading or past reviwers - This is a 3 1/2 star place. There are old units and new ones. Half the place has been renovated and are privately owned, half are more, budget (definitely easier on the wallet) and more "fisherman friendly" apartments. Ask for units 1-6. They are the nice ones. But more expensive.
This is the place I dream of when going on holidays. The owner is lovely, the peace and quiet is to die for, the view and accessibility is great. Could not ask for more. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-6 are the most newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Our family decided to visit Bermagui to celebrate my hubby's birthday. I had read all the reviews about "The Anchorage" prior to booking and I was very satisfied with what I read. The hotel claims to be a "three and half star" sort of place and even the previous review ratings on this website was also positive. So be booked the place for three nights. We got there on the first night, the place was old and very out of date! The bathroom had probably been cleaned using only water and no detergent as it smelled of urine and mold. The kitchen cabinets had a very foul smell attached to it, even to this day I still can not figure out what it was! But to top it off, the main bedroom smelled of cat urine. On the first night, we had trouble sleeping due to the smell. So we confronted the owner the next day- Carolyn the owner quickly got on the defensive line and claimed that the property was beautiful and that she did not understand what we were complaining about. I asked her when was the carpet steamed cleaned, as I could see that it looked like it was very dated and dirty. The owner could not even give me an answer! This is obviously not a place for young children and it was old, dirty and smelly-even our three year old son complained! So if you have read anything positive about this place on tripadvisor, I'd say you must question it- as I do not think that the comments on here are "reliable". We witnessed it first hand, and booked because of the positive comments, but we were disappointed when we got there as the place is NOT A THREE AND HALF STAR Hotel! More like a ONE AND A HALF STAR Hotel!

Room Tip: Do not book room 7 as it is smelly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tresbelleboutique007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We enjoyed our short stay. Very quiet. Check-in was easy and they made adjustments for my oversight when booking. All in all....excellent value and a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank McAslan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bermagui hotels
0.5 mi away
Harbourview Motel
Harbourview Motel
#1 of 4 in Bermagui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Captain's Quarters
Captain's Quarters
#2 of 8 in Bermagui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Ocean Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bermagui Motor Inn
Bermagui Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Bermagui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachview Motel
Beachview Motel
#1 of 1 in Bermagui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
3.9 mi away
Regatta Point Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Property: The Anchorage
Address: 2 West St, Bermagui, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bermagui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Bermagui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage Apartments are self catering The property provides 3 and 4 star accommodation It is family friendly with children,s play area mineral saltwater pool and B.B.Q area The Anchorage also caters for fisherman with a walk in freezer and ample parking for trailerboats up to 26ft. The Anchorage is ideal for fishing and golf groups ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing