We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bellbird revisited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellbird Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Bermagui B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bellbird revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We returned to Bellbird for a wonderful weeknd, to find that, if anytthing, the experience was better. The sheer beauty of this B&B, located in Bermagui, NSW, has to be seen to be believed. Gretel and Tony have renovated the guest bathroom, which now includes a wonderful double shower, and a spa bath. The service reamins the same - friendly, impeccable and of the highest standard. Bermagui itself is still picturesque, and a gloroius place for a break. 10/10 for this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzCaliburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TranquilityAustralia, Manager at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
It was wonderful to be able to share Bellbird with you again and very much enjoyed hearing your latest travels and adventures. Thank you for such a lovely review and we will look forward to seeing you again. Until next time. Cheers Gretel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
72
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

A fantastic stay at the B&B in the woods with the bellbirds chirping. The large windows overlooking the woods made it so relaxing. Breakfast comes to your room no need to go out. Gretel comes to your door with home baked dishes and breads and cooked fruits more then you can eat in one sitting. She also comes with a smile and ideas for your day.
Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Well worth the extra miles if you are traveling along the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grace a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TranquilityAustralia, Owner at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review. I'm so chuffed that our woodland views gave you so much pleasure. We're so fortunate to have a woodland location within Bermagui and we love to be able to bring breakfast to you to allow you to be part of your surrounds. That your stay was so lovely means a lot to me. Thank you and I hope we'll see you when you're next in Australia. :) Gretel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Well, what can we say? My wife and I stayed at Bellbird for a couple of nights during May. The room, location and Gretel, were all just absolutely divine. A perfect setting. When you first arrive you're greeted by the cat who then shows you to your room. And what a beautiful room it is. Big, bright, private and beautifully decorated. And Gretel, what a charming hostess. She makes you feel at home and comfortable instantly. Nothing is too much trouble. And how does she manage to think of such delightful and thoughtful breakfasts? We've stayed at about five or six quality B&Bs in Australia, but Bluebird is the pick.
So do yourselves a favour and get on down there.
The only drawback was having to leave.
Neil, Sydney Australia

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nfmsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TranquilityAustralia, Owner at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
What can I say but thank you for such a lovely review. I'm also impressed that 'Mgutu' our furry family member demonstrated some butler abilities by escorting you to your room, tis rare indeed :) I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much, and look forward to seeing you again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

All we can say is thank you, thank you, thank you Gretel! We traveled to Bermagui for three nights after our wedding and it was the most beautiful, relaxing and enjoyable stay. We had never stayed at a B&B before and unfortunately it will be hard to choose another one after how amazing our experience was. Gretel is so welcoming and friendly, with the perfect amount of local knowledge to get you as busy or as relaxed as you want. Gretel is considerate and always arrives with your breakfast/cheese/antipasto platters at exactly the time she says she will ensuring the ultimate privacy during your stay! This brings me to Gretel's food WOW - the breakfast (while not traditional) was delicious and interesting, all the while capturing the seasonal flavours and really adding to the overall experience that is Bellbird B&B! Thank you so much we cannot wait to return xxx

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninanewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TranquilityAustralia, Owner at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
And thank you thank you for such a lovely review. It was a delight to be able to make your honeymoon such a special and memorable time. I'm so thrilled you enjoyed it so much and will look forward to seeing you again. Cheers Gretel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had stayed here before and loved it so when I planned another trip to Australia driving between Melbourne and Sydney I knew I would have to go back. Unfortunately Gretel had to attend to some sad family business and couldn't be there but she still managed during a difficult time for her to make sure we were ok. We were met by a neighbour, and the chorus of the bellbirds, who took us to the superb room and then Tony made sure were settled in ok when he came home from work. He made us feel so welcome again it really was like returning to friends and he brought us the most delicious breakfast in the morning.
The new bathroom is absolutely wonderful with the beautiful view of the garden and trees. I cannot fault anything about this gorgeous place an I can't recommend it highly enough. Please go and stay....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoSaint51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TranquilityAustralia, Owner at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
It's always so special when guests return to us and I'm so disappointed I wasn't able to see you again. Very chuffed you loved the changes and Tony was feeling very pleased with himself at being able to look after you all on his own :) Hoping that I'll see you when you are able to come back next time. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This B&B is exceptional, as is the hostess Gretel. Found nothing in our 2 month trip to match it. The reviews here do reflect the truth.
It is beautiful – huge, tastefully furnished suite overlooking private garden/ forest. Paradise. And peaceful.
Bathroom equally huge with spa bath and twin shower.
Breakfasts are to die for – Gretel is a superb cook and prepares the most amazing breakfasts imaginable. You need to take the morning off to relax and enjoy them to do them credit.
Gretel works part time for the local Information bureau and knows pretty much everything in the area.
Whilst being friendly and thoughtful, she also balances discretion. This is just the perfect place for a romantic getaway – I wish we lived nearer!

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank cranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TranquilityAustralia, Owner at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
This little home cook is very humbled by your review. I am so thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay so much and will take back such wonderful memories. These reviews and comments in our guestbook means so much to us and we just love looking after our guests. Many thanks for the review. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

If you are considering staying at Bellbird Cottage... you must! It is the most amazing B&B, totally private & tranquil location. We are so glad we made that decision and so will you be! The hosts were so welcoming and friendly, supplying such wonderful special touches to this luxury accomodation. Everything you may need has been catered for and I personally could have spent the whole of our stay in the bath just watching the birds go by. Just wish we had stayed for longer. The breakfast was out of this world and we had to take photos of it before we demolished it! The Bellbirds are truly amazing and add the finishing touch to a perfect stay. Do yourselves a favour and book it today!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TranquilityAustralia, Owner at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review I'm just so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope we'll see you again and will plan for your extended bath time :) Cheers Gretel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bermagui
9.1 mi away
The Bryn at Tilba
The Bryn at Tilba
#1 of 2 in Tilba Tilba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbourview Motel
Harbourview Motel
#1 of 3 in Bermagui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bermagui Motor Inn
Bermagui Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Bermagui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beachview Motel
Beachview Motel
#1 of 1 in Bermagui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Ocean Lake
1.3 mi away
Captain's Quarters
Captain's Quarters
#2 of 8 in Bermagui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellbird Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellbird Cottage B&B

Property: Bellbird Cottage B&B
Address: 88 Nutley's Creek Road, Bermagui, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bermagui
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bermagui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bellbird Cottage B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellbird Cottage B&B is a lovely, award winning, AAA rated 4.5 Stars B&B, in the stunning seaside town of Bermagui. Enjoy the privacy of being our only guests with your own private entrance and garden area. The Woodland room is luxurious and spacious with uninterrupted woodland views. King size bed, TV/DVD, comfy chairs, breakfast table and large en-suite with corner bath, picture window and double shower. You can be assured of a warm welcome and the little special touches you hope for in a B&B. Breakfasts are served in your room or can be enjoyed in your private garden area. We also offer an 'Indulgences Menu' which provides the opportunity for additional dining options such as oysters and wine, seafood platters and wicked supper treats, just to name a few. For the ultimate indulgence why not relax with in room pampering and massage. If you prefer to dine out enjoy one of our lovely restaurants on the Harbour or nearby winery. We can also offer contemporary self contained accommodation at our sister property - Art on Hart, also located within Bermagui about 1km from us. 'Art on Hart' is your 'coastal home away from home' located 1km from the river, beaches & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bellbird Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing