We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful and Relaxing Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berrima
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashrowan Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Berrima B&B and Inns
Sydney Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A Peaceful and Relaxing Experience”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Just come back and Ashrowan B & B took our breath away. The hosts Phillip & Susan were gracious and unobtrusive. We stayed in the Tower room. It had nice views of the valley and river. The bathroom was luxurious and had nice touches including bath towel heating rack and French shampoos and conditioner and body wash in pump dispensers. The room was cosy and comfortable. Cooked brekkie was amazing and you have a wide choice of combinations. It was close to everything in walking distances. The interior furnishings and decor was country-inspired.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Towle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bondi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

What a little gem in the beautiful Southern Highlands town of Berrima. Susan and Phillip couldn't have been more hospitable and genial hosts. From the luxurious accommodation to the sensational cooked breakfast we couldnt find fault with anything. Centrally located to all the wonderful eateries that Berrima has to offer this place I'm sure will become one of our regular fav places to stay. Thanks again Phillip & Susan.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Found Ashrowan via Tripadvisor and stayed a Friday and Saturday night on the way back to Sydney from Canberra and, incidentally, it's one and a half hours drive from each. Very quiet location away from the main road through Berrima. House is delightful and beautifully furnished. Met by Philip at the door and shown to our wonderful room for our 2 night stay. Fabulously comfortable bed with nice pillows and linen, television, DVD and CD player. Huge choice of music, DVDs and books in the sitting room. Big, nicely tiled bathroom with a private outdoor sitting area through the double doors leading off it. Philip made us tea on arrival which we had sitting on the terrace. He showed us around and we filled out our breakfast order which has a choice of 3 times - 8.30,9.00 or 9.30 but they'll extend to 10.00am if you really can't get out of bed. Choices of bread, hot breakfast really all you will ever need and when it comes to the consuming part, just divine! They leave a bottle of bubbly in the house fridge for you and there's port and chocolates in the sitting room when you return from dinner. We took both their dinner recommendations - Josh's cafe (our preference) with superb service, great atmosphere and interesting menu; and Eschalotte a one hat restaurant which seems to have the one hat regional problem of incredibly slow service. It's fine dining but to us lacked atmosphere and service commitment but the food was excellent along with the wine list which was a mile long! There is plenty to do in Berrima with walks along the river, visits to the many antique shops, drinks in the local pub, a visit to the historic court house and Harpers Mansion to name a few. Not too many places who claim the luxury tag really fulfil our expectations but Ashrowan delivers in spades. An absolute delight and would highly recommend this place for a very memorable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Thank you Susan and Phillip for a wonderful stay. We stayed in the Gardeners Retreat which had a separate sitting room. It was like stepping back in time with a little bit of Tuscany.
Susan and Phillip are wonderful hosts who are there if you need them but completely unobtruvise. Everything was just as it should be, clean, welcoming, warm and cozy. Phillip made sure there was always enough wood for the fire, breakfast was beautiful, there was an extensive library of books, dvd's and cd's if you needed them. It was so quiet, even though it was a very windy night we did not hear a thing. We loved it, it was just the way a B&B should be and within walking distance of the beautiful town of Berrima and top restuarants, make sure you check out Harpers Mansion if you are staying, it is worth the entry fee to see a little bit of our Australian history.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, the Gardens Retreat has its own sitting room but the other two rooms al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbliss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The Gardener's Retreat was excellent and having a separate lounge with a fireplace was a wonderful place to sit and read the Saturday papers, have a glass or two to sparkling prior to wandering out for dinner and to sip a glass of port when we returned.
The ambiance of Ashrowan was just beautiful, the decor, the collectibles just made it.. Susan and Phillip were wonderful hosts and made you feel very welcome in their home. We will not hesitate to return...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHCRONULLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Wonderful, welcoming, warm, cozy and friendly. Very tastefully appointed and a superb attention to detail. Very friendly hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronwynranallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cooma
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2010

As it was raining when we arrived, we were greeted with susan who came out with a umberalla for us. I immediately felt special. Our room was the tower and just everything was perfect. Comfortable bed and great view from our window. Amenties were exceptional. Pure luxury. We were totally left alone and enjoyed the peacefulness. Breakfast was excellent and the only time we saw other guests. It was so homely and the fire created a great atmosphere in the evenings. We were made so welcome and susan made the bookings for us each night for Dinner. We were in walking distance to everything in Berrima. By far the best place I have ever stayed and I can't wait to have the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneyCooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrima
4.1 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
4.2 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
4.7 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berrima Bakehouse Motel
5.1 mi away
The Old Nunnery B&B Moss Vale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashrowan Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashrowan Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ashrowan Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Wilshire Street, Berrima, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Berrima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Berrima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing