We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Berry Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berry Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Berry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I dropped in the have lunch last Friday at the Berry Hotel, many years ago this was a favorite stop off point of mine on work trips where you could get a good pub feed.

Unfortunatly it seems that the cheif has been watching Mastercheif to much, gone are the value meals of a big steak and chips and replaced by food that some idiot in Double Bay would order and pay to much for

The Garlic Bread i ordered arrived 40 minutes after i ordered it COLD and the meal was 5 Minutes behind that and was also COLD, and no it wasnt a salad

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Craig4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

A Newcastle couple en route to Bermagui.
Stopped at Berry to break the trip and stayed at the boutique hotel up the road (separate review).
Had dinner and some wines at the Berry Hotel restaurant....
Found it lovely. 2 mains & a bottle of wine coming to $70 odd.... Food was lovely and although the restaurant wasn't full (about four tables being used), found the two young wait staff girls very good.... with no evidence of the previous negative comments...
Perhaps when the place gets full, maybe panic sets in, but that's only supposition... It was mid week for us....
We will return to Berry and certainly have dinner here again...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We are fairly regular visitors to Berry and the Berry Hotel has become our venue of choice for Friday night dinner or Sunday roast. We have never stayed there as we stay with friends nearby.
The restaurant area at the front of the pub is warm and cosy (on Winter nights), the menu offers a good choice, the servings are generous and the quality of the food is consistently good. Wine needs to be purchased at the bar and can be charged to the dinner bill. The selection of wines is quite satisfactory and reasonably priced.
There is a larger open area in the middle of the pub which seems better suited to larger groups or families. We haven't eaten there as it is a bit breezy in winter which is when we are mostly in Berry. There is another very cosy room similar to the area at the front adjacent to this. All the food comes out of the same kitchen.
Staff and service have always been up to scratch in my view.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaStefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This gem is now a dud. What used to be a must eat venue has now become laughable. From sad staff in need of encouragement to substandard food and random pricing, we dined on 2 occasions during the holidays (Xmas 11) then a few weeks later. Lunch was ok, hard to mess up a salad, $21. Came back, same salad $18? Strange...our sad waitress informed us it would have been different because they reprice on holidays....Strange. Good parking out the back, chef smoking in the back kitchen area put us right off ever going there again. Strange place. Not recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0bbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We have had an annual group dinner there now for years wouldn't go anywhere else We book the coach house at the back which is specially for groups. We usually share it with one other group, a warm cosy fire, great good and service. It almost feels like home

Stayed: July 2012
Thank Sightseerers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Oh god...such a bad place to stay! We decided to come here last minute so our fault for not doing research, and thinking staying at a pub for $100 including breaky would be ok (budget calling!). Room right above the bar and facing the main st so obviously extremely noisy. Rusted iron bed, swinging bulb light, no tv, separate share bathroom....anyway we got a big breaky for two included in the price the next day, and it was an ok breaky, but accommodation woeful. Anyway we could only laugh and drink heaps of wine and sing with the band as we couldn't sleep obviously until they left...then all the drunks came upstairs...no soundproofing. Laughably the worst overnight stay ever!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JenGWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Jumped on Trip Advisor to write a review of the Berry Hotel and found that many of the reviews agree with my opinion. This place has down hill. I have come back to the Berry Hotel thinking it will be OK but each time it gets worse. On my recent trip we called in for dinner. The restaurant at the back was cold and there appeared to be only one heater working. Given the size the space this is woefully unacceptable. The South Coast/Southern Highlands is chilly and it rains a lot, it isn’t an unusual situation. We found a table for our group (of six) and sat down. After having ordered our meals a couple turned up and sat at our table, they claimed they had “reserved” the table. There was no “reserved” sign on the table and when we ordered we were not told that the table was booked. We witnessed this same scenario played at a few times throughout our stay. No one in my group was particularly impressed with our meals and the service is disorganised. Berry Hotel should take note, you need to lift your game

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank quizzycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berry hotels
0 mi away
The Berry Inn
The Berry Inn
#2 of 2 in Berry
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berry Village Boutique Motel
6 mi away
Belvoir Pavilions at Berry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Drawing Rooms of Berry
0.7 mi away
Broughton Mill Farm Guesthouse/B&B
2.1 mi away
Mt Hay Retreat
Mt Hay Retreat
#1 of 7 in Berry
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Hotel

Address: 120 Queen St, Berry, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2535, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Berry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Berry
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing