We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I hope this place stays a well guarded secret”
other travellers have booked this property
Haven Hideaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Haven Hideaway
Lounge/Dining area Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Haven Hideaway
Lounge/Dining area
Fully equipped kitchen
Private deck
Lower bedroom
Main bathroom with double spa bath
Upper bedroom
Upper bedroom ensuite
Upper room views
Pleasant walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Berry, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jamie W
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“I hope this place stays a well guarded secret”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed at the Berry Hideaway last year and could not believe it was available again this year. It's been in the Good Weekend 50 weekend locations and is reasonably priced so I have no idea why that is the case.

The hideaway is on the other side of the highway from the main Berri town so you're away from the town which in my opinion gives you a greater sense of being on holidays. The hideaway consists of three houses on a very large plot. You cant see the other houses from your house.

Wendy and Kim are such warm hosts. They provide breakfast as part of the deal and are generous with their time showing off the alpacas and other animals to our kids.

The houses are basically new, the air conditioning is fantastic even in a heat wave and there is plenty of room for a family of 4 to eat, sleep and interact in separate spaces.

Berry is a great launching spot for Gerroa, Gerringong, Nowra, Kiama... just about any place inland or beach on that part of the south coast. We went to Jamberoo for a day and it was only about 30 mins drive.

If you do go do me a favour and keep it to yourself.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2018
Thanks for your review Jamie. We look forward to seeing you again at some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townmouse...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for rest & relaxation (with all the comforts)”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Booked for a week of books, walks and dining in/out and this did not disappoint. The cabin(s) are ideally situated just outside of Berry for the village amenities and dining options but most of the time we were happy to be hanging out on the property and not doing much at all. The Haven is fully equipped, breakfast provided and superb hosting by Kym and Wendy. Bonus thrown of fresh farm eggs and the alpacas. Would highly recommend. Just off the A1 Princes Highway - turning around if travelling north-south from a turning circle at Croziers Road is easy. Easy access to 7 mile beach but rare to have the seclusion so close to all conveniences.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for this review John & Ruth. It seemed like you were enjoying the peace & quiet of the Hideaway. We look forward to welcoming you back here again next time you need to de-stress.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay L
Penrith, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely property, fantastic cottages, friendly hosts and a very peaceful place to unwind.”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just a 5 minute drive into Berry, beautiful property, cottages set in amongst the gum trees. We really enjoyed our stay at The Haven at Berry.
I couldn't fault anything and I'm pretty fussy.
The cottages are tastefully decorated, with a lot of natural light.The veranda out the back was perfect for sipping on a glass of wine or beer whilst relaxing and enjoying the peaceful surrounds.
Kym (host) was very friendly and we were supplied with a great country breakfast each morning.
I loved Barry (the dog) and Cusco,Machu & Picchu the Alpacas.
Definitely would love to stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Thanks for your review Kay & I'm glad you enjoyed your birthdays here. I hope to see Bob & yourself back here again.

Kym
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulThoma...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Peaceful and idyllic”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Very well presented and appointed property. Serene location a short five minute drive to the city centre. Fresh eggs from local chooks a plus. Kym (property manager) very friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review us Paul. I'm glad Bev & yourself enjoyed your midweek break & hope to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie W
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is a great place to stay. We are not B&B people and though this is theoretically a B&B you have your own house and you cook your own breakfast that they supply. That suited us down to the ground.

There are three identical houses on a very large block, each with a large grassed area you can let the kids run around in. The houses are very well stocked with cooking utensils, pots, pans, a BBQ. The sleeping is for 4 people, 2 upstairs and 2 below and its very comfortable.

Kim, the manager, kindly cut the grass out the front of our place so we could play cricket and also organise for us to be around when the Alpacas were being sheered. The kids loved it.

We were there when it was stiflingly hot. The air-conditioning is more than up to the task. If it had not been we would have been in a spot!

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a weekend away or a longer stay. The place is located about 2km outside of Berry along the pacific highway. It is central to Berry, Kangaroo valley, Gerroa, Gerringong and Kiama so there is always a new place to go to each day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Thank you Jamie for taking the time to review our place, we were glad you and the kids enjoyed your stay and got the most out of the spacious grounds. Hope to see you again sometime .
Kym and Wendy Cazzolato
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We could not ask for any more - ticked all our boxes”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying 3 nights with our 10 & 8 y/o over the weekend. Although the weather was cold Kym and Wendy our hosts certainly know how to look after you. From the cosy 2 story/2 bedroom cottage with full kitchen, to the organic breakfast basket with fresh local produce, extensive DVD collection and expansive grounds- it was great value for money for us and only 2 minutes into town for that all important morning coffee run.
We are already planning another trip back in Summer when we hope their pool will be ready for our kids- whilst we kick back and enjoy the countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing