We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort for a budget”
Review of Oxley Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oxley Motel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort for a budget”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This motel is great to use as a base to explore the area. We stayed for three days and drove around the district each day. It was comfortable to come back and rest here. It was spotless clean and we negotiated a very good price. The location is good and it's nice and quiet. Recommend!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    31
    21
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
39
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We had unit 21 a family room which has a double bed and two single beds.It is tucked back between two other units in a corner and is very dark inside. Our main complaint is that the beds are very hard and uncomfortable and all 4 of us had back ache and little sleep. The rooms near the front also cop all the traffic noise all night.On the final morning we were woken by a huge compressor on a trailer at 6.30am with deafening noise that was still continuing when we checked out. Even if this was a council operation the motel was aware this was happening and should have informed us. The motel does have wifi internet but it wasn't accessible in our unit, probably because it was tucked in the corner, we had to go outside to get internet. It is really necessary to have internet as the owners didn't seem to know much of attractions in the Southern Highlands for example "Glow worm Glen" at Bundenoon which is commonly known amongst locals. The unit wasn't clean enough for us, there was mould in the bathroom and thick dust along the top of the curtain pelmet. The bathroom is very small for a family room. I know this is considered a budget motel but I still expect more for $160 a night.Saturday and Sunday night were charged at this $160 a night and the Monday was charged at $120. We would have moved on after one night but we had already booked with credit card. I didn't expect luxury just a comfortable bed and cleanliness. On the plus side the rooms were well serviced and all bathroom and tea coffee amenties are well stocked daily, The motel is in a good position in town as it is just far enough out to be away from crowds but near enough to be in town quickly.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here ask for the Deluxe rooms that are at the back of the property. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussiemum2twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed for a Day on the Green concert. Decent rooms, clean, spacious, quiet in terms of road noise, air cond and other guests. Nice helpful proprietors. Good value for money, particularly in the Bowral area! Will stay there again later this month for another concert.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GizmothecatCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We were passing through the Southern Highlands and decided to stop over in Bowral.We didn't have a booking but the Oxley were able to accommodate us at a very reasonable tariff. The room was comfortable and clean and we were able to have a very good night's sleep in a very handy location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank collectors_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

I stayed at the Oxley Motel in Bowral for one night this week at short notice, while in the Southern Higlands of NSW. I chose this hotel as they had availability, were located close to my destination and accepted American Express card without any surcharge.

Reservation direct with the hotel via telephone and check in were both friendly and efficient. Throughout the stay the staff were very pleasant.

The room was simple but comfortable, featuring a queen size bed, telephone, reverse cycle air conditioning, an ensuite and a television. The room was very clean, and the heating worked well (which was very important given that it was 4 degrees C outside). I ordered a cooked breakfast at check-in which was delivered to my room (room 31) on-time in the morning.

The motel is a 2 minute drive from the centre of Bowral, where there were a range of restaurants to select from. Free parking was provided outside each room. The motel is an modest older style property, but is in good condition and is fantastic value for money. It is not a place to stay if you are looking for a "wow" experience, but is functional and efficient. Good for those on a budget or business travellers only looking for a bed rather than an office. I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend this hotel if travelling alone, although if travelling with clients I would most likely choose somewhere more luxurious.

A positive feature is that this hotel does not charge any credit card surcharges. I find it deplorable that hotels can enjoy more benefits of credit card use than most other industries (booking guarantees, pre-authorisations, charging for no-shows, charging for late charges, avoiding large cash transactions) but the industry has been one of the most bullish industries in Australia to introduce credit card surcharges. Well done to the Oxley Motel for not introducing any surcharges.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OzML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.7 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
1.7 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
2.5 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
3.8 mi away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxley Motel

Property: Oxley Motel
Address: 535 Moss Vale Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxley Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Oxley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing