We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service first class”
Review of The Imperial Motel

The Imperial Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Customer service first class”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Great location, great room spotless throughout.
Rang on day of arrival booking procedure laid back and very helpful.
Best of all was help from young lady at reception she could not have been more helpful.
Great advice re where to eat for breakfast and evening meal.
Would have no hesitation in staying here again if we could get in!

Room Tip: Liked room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHappyGrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    35
    37
    7
    8
See reviews for
26
38
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Easy check in. Up a flight of stairs to corner room 14 well away from the pub and overlooking a vacant lot. Clean, fresh and new. Comfortable bed.
However 2 things will stop me returning.
1. The cleaner used smells like those balls they place in men's urinals. Very off putting for a guy. My wife did not have the same association but did not like the smell.
2. Noise. Even though brick walled and carpeted, the noise of people coming and going echoes badly. It's not the noise from pub, it's from other guests, coming in and out, starting cars and idling diesel engines. Weather strips under doors, mats on walkways, more vegetation, sort furnishings hanging on external walls would all help.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I travel a bit with my work and often end up in some seedy places to have Dinner.But not the Imperial Hotel this was a great dining experience I had the Salt and Pepper squid for entree and it was sensational and extremely fresh I followed it up with the 500 gram rib eye fillet medium rare with roasted vegetables and mushroom sauce it was cooked perfectly the atmosphere is made for a great dining I took a look around at the other dinners and everybody seemed to be having the same foody experience.give it a try you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stayed in the motel clean comfortable and great value i think all the rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Botho_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is a separate building located behind the hotel at one end of the main street. The room (upper level so required stair climbing) was nicely furnished with plenty of lights including a portable desk lamp. The large window facing a vacant block could be opened overnight. We had a problem with the fridge oozing brown gunk but this was handled promptly. Unlike other reports we were not troubled by noise however the car was surrounded by broken glass in the morning. A staff member swept this up so we could leave.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Wasn't too sure of what to expect in Bowral, but we were very pleasantly surprised with The Imperial Motel. Neat..Modern and had all you need for a perfect comfortable stay!! Good quality beds..towels..etc. We stayed for one night over the Australia Day weekend and would definitely stay at the "Impi" as our friends from Bowral called it. Highly recommended !! It was a tad bit expensive, but there's no price on getting a good comfortable night of rest.

Room Tip: Get the rooms upstairs, its a lot more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Was a little hesitant to book this property after reading the reviews, however was surprised in the end.
The actual room was quite modern for Bowral, spacious and had the general facilities needed. We stayed for two nights over the Australia day long weekend and while there was a band on in the pub the Saturday night we only had one group who was a little noisy while walking to their vehicle. Nothing to cause any concern about and you would get this in any hotel from your neighbours walking down the corridor taliking loudly. The second night there was not noise at all!
The only constructive criticism would be the lack of attention to detail the housekeeping department provided in servicing the room. It was rather sloppy and to be honest we could of done a better job ourself. It is clear the procedures need to be reviewed here.
Apart from the housekeeping, the property is in a great central location, it is modern and ticked most boxes. Check-in and Check-out was efficient and pleasant also.

Room Tip: The bottom family room we had was an acceissible room, the shower flooded the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyTraveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

My friend and I go to the imperial as a monthly dinner together. I often get the duck salad which is lovely and my friend almost always gets the chicken schnitzel (which I'm sure is a popular decision for many people). The food is wonderful, I can almost never fault it, good price for the size and always amazing taste and presentation. Almost all of the staff are wonderful and very approachable and friendly. Unfortunately though, one lady who seems to be a kitchen hand or a waitress has had a temper on several of our visits. I remember on one occasion she almost yelled at me when I entered my pin incorrectly. Perhaps she had a bad day, nevertheless that is no way to talk to a customer. But, I will keep going back because of the delicious and reasonably priced food and atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.1 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
0.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
1.1 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
0.8 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
2.7 mi away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Motel

Property: The Imperial Motel
Address: 228-234 Bong Bong St, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing