We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Motel

The Imperial Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Motel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
479 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I am a regular here for good basic pub food. The steak is excellent though you can be waiting a while if they are busy. Table clearing service could be better but generally friendly, clean & hearty food always available.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gloria Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    33
    36
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
35
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We've always stop here when we're around this area for the good.
The chicken schnitzel is definitely the winner and good value for money.
They used to do an amazing chocolate mousse to but alas this has gone downhill.
Service has always been prompt and helpful at the bar and once the restaurant opens there's usually a line to order!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Clean with all the necessary amenities. We stayed in the family room. We found out the hotel has a tin roof as there was a hail storm & it was very loud in the middle of the night. The shower head in the bathroom was wonderful - made for a great shower. Quite a good motel room at a good price during the week. Would stay again. The receptionist who checked us in could have been a little more cheerful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed on the bottom floor and found the room to be very comfortable and clean. Easy parking and had a great nights sleep. The Hotel served great modern Australian food and wine list was better than average. Would certainly stay and most definately eat her again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We only stayed for one night (early Oct 2013) in this motel and found it to be clean and comfortable. We had no complaints about the room - it was a typical motel room and was fairly modern and the bed was comfortable. For the amount we paid it was a bit over-priced but it was in the school holidays and the first night of a long weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

When we called in to reception to book in it was like it was the biggest nuisance of the day. Staff totally indifferent, couldn't even raise a smile and everything was done at a snails pace. Very disappointing. Room was comfortable for a 1 night stay, bed was ok. Parking limited. Did not try the bistro instead went down to a nearby restaurant for dinner. Would probably not stay again tho reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Check in was a exercise in depression, staff should learn to smile and just be more pleasant not so down , don't expect a warm greeting or what is normal greetings at all, rather dull and seemed a chore for staff.
Room is dull but comfortable, lots of noise from car-park, other rooms and road at front of Hotel and at closing time of pub..
The shower head is way to small, pressure good, temperature good but have to do laps to get wet because the spray is small.
Only free to air channels on the TV there is no Pay Tv channels available.
If your on second floor there is only a stairwell to that floor, not much chop for elderly request ground floor.
Food is available at the pub bistro - give this a miss we found it very poor on service and food , its only pub food but its poor pub food and very expensive for what it was POOR, best walking up the main street for better food and better value again staff need to be more cheerful, helping not just to the half-cut regular locals?
Location is at the north end of the main street of Bowral only 100 meters walk to better food and entertainment.
Do not move your car once you have your car parked as when you return the patrons/staff who attend/work at the pub park in the hotel parking only car-park?! you will park on street as we did.
Will we stay again - maybe but will try other Hotels first.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.1 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
3.6 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
0.8 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Motel

Property: The Imperial Motel
Address: 228-234 Bong Bong St, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing