We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, Comfortable rooms, great weekend away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, Comfortable rooms, great weekend away!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed on a relatively quiet weekend, rooms were comfortable and really clean, staff were fantastic and friendly from check in,restaurant and housekeeping.Meals were great. Will certainly stay here again. (family friendly).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    136
    53
    24
    14
See reviews for
74
135
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed at Briars for 2 nights on a work conference.
Rooms are large with self contained bathrooms and a split level between the bed and lounge area. All rooms overlook the grassed area / lake and have french doors opening to it. There is room to sit outside and have a coffee or drink and enjoy the birdlife and the water.
Rooms are not modern, but have all the necessities including TV - radio and clock radio. There is also tea making facilities and a bar fridge in each room. Service was good, but the maid forgot to put towels in the room.
The Old Inn is attached to the resort and serves food and alchohol. Food for all meals was fantastic, best meals I have had for a long time. I did notice that the restaurant is always full of the locals and this is always a good sign. This place would be great for a romantic weekend!

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from the office would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doolighal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for one night on our drive from Melbourne to Sydney. Our room was nice and large with a king-sized bed, refrigerator, sofa, table and chairs but no wi-fi. French doors open onto a tiny patio with bistro table and chairs by the scenic lake. The weather was lovely so we sat there and enjoyed a glass of wine. There were lots of birds including ducks with babies tagging along. Some of the ducks are pretty annoying though. They've obviously been fed by guests as they will come right into the room and make a mess if you leave the door open. Parking is right outside your room.

We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. The food was good but not very creative.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Friends and I stayed at the Briars after a reunion dinner at the Briars Restaurant. A great choice as we were close to the restaurant (a two minute stroll) in a quiet, rural location.The well maintained room, large with a king size bed and offering a very pretty view of the lake, complete with water birds. Reception staff on arrival exceptionally obliging and helpful. Only criticism would be that the heaters were not that effective in my unit.
This is my second stay at the Briars and I look forward to my next stay in the not too distant future. Incredibly relaxing venue.

Room Tip: To my knowledge all rooms look onto the lake but check on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights for a wedding anniversary recently. We wanted somewhere where we could visit Bowral town centre but stay on some acreage so we could walk and enjoy the spring weather. It was lovely, the rooms were large, the water pressure in the shower was perfect. We spent most of our time walking the grounds, reading books on our verandah or drinking some bubbly at sunset. The beds were a little hard for our preference but that was definitely the only negative. Food at the Inn was yummy and the service was country friendly! Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We were in room 7, it was close to everything and yet quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here 2nights, the Inn was cosy and I minute stroll from your room . Beautiful landscaped areas around the property. Good size rooms , very warm as we were there in winter, Restaurant has great food. nice atmosphere. We spent the time with friends so extra special.5 mins from Bowral by car and taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the Briars for two nights. The room (we stayed in room 21) overlooked the Lake. We opened the French doors and let the warm winters day in. The view was lovely. King sized comfortable bed and cozy central heating. There was a well equipped laundry for guest use which could come in handy. My only advice (apart from telling you to book now) is to give the restaurant a big miss and go eat in Bowral. Onesta is recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva_Nov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
4.0 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
4.2 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
4.2 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
376 reviews
5.4 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briars Country Lodge & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars Country Lodge & Inn

Property: Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Address: Briars Meadow 653 Moss Vale Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Briars Country Lodge & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Briars Country Lodge & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briars Country Lodge And Inn
Briars Country Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing