We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Yarramalong
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Only stayed one night, but was impressed with rooms. Great views and feel. Beds a bit dodge but fine. Front desk staff were great and brekkie hit the spot. Only downside is we didn't have dinner there as friends said it was wonderful, unlike Sutton forest inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YarramalongDeadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    136
    53
    24
    14
See reviews for
74
135
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I found the property to be beautiful, the rooms were a little bit tired so a little spruce up would go a long way ! Found the Inn was great with an open fire and a great selection of local wines. Food was nice and in my opinion above normal pub fare. Had the cook your own steak which the meat was fantastic. All in all I will be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. Our room was lovely and warm with a beautiful outlook. It was clean and comfortable.

Unfortunately it was tired and in need of a revamp.

Our door couldn't be locked from the inside which we prefer to be able to do when we are going to sleep.The door also rattled terribly in the wind so we had to put our case up against it.

The restaurant meal was really disappointing, so much so that we wouldn't go back.

On the positive the service was friendly and prompt.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Restored1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Recently stayed for one night for 3yr anniversary. The room was flawless, amazing amenities provided, clean, classy, very large tub, great design and layout of room overlooking lake. The staff were soooo friendly. 100% recommend and 100% going back. Do not hesitate! Great price for very very high value!

Room Tip: Ensure view of lake, absolutely beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therese b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrimal
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We drove up here on a Sunday - it was very cold 7 degrees. The Restaurant was booked solid and one of the girls told us there would maybe be some tables in the bar lounge area.

We found a nice cosy table with comfortable lounge chair right in front of an open fire. The waitress and bar staff were excellent.

The steak we both had for lunch was extraordinarily good cooked to perfection and the accompanying large baked potato with sour cream was good as was the choice of salad.

I would not hesitate to recommend Briar's for a nice, cosy relaxing lunch

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roscoediboscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed for Mon & Tues nights. Room was well-appointed , clean , good outlook with a nice view over green space and private pond with Gazebo. The only real issue was a lack of communication re the amenities and an embarrassing moment at dinner. 1) We could not get the TV to work, apparently there was a 'Kill Switch" next to the bedhead ( never heard of this before and why when you have a remote ? ) . Had to ring reception to find that one out. 2) Advertise Foxtel, give you a program with 3 movie channels listed, but then only have one programmed into the set. So no movies and no in-house movies. again had to ring reception and even she didn't know without ringing some-one else 3) On arriving at reception saw the nice room shown in brochures with fire, lounge room etc but then told "we only use that for receptions and weddings, you need to go to bar" (another building) 4) At dinner, we ordered drinks at the bar, to sit in front of the fire, before sitting down at our table, but I was then asked to hand over my drivers licence. Not only had I pre-paid the stay, and left credit card details at reception, as is the norm, now I was being asked to hand over my licence to complete strangers. After to-ing and fro-ing, they settled for the room key. I have travelled all over the world and have never been asked this before. 5) Our table was pointed out to us, nobody took us, and then left sitting there until we asked for a menu and were then told 'Oh you order at the counter and we bring it to you' Communication please guys, This is your place not ours and we need to be told how it works.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have recently stayed for 4 nights with a friend. Our room was very comfortable with a beautiful view. Krista on reception was so helpful and very professional, she made us feel very welcome. However, I feel the standard of communication at the Inn was lacking and I was put in a very embarrassing position. We had paid $40 between us for each day to have breakfast but decided to have coffees instead. For 2 mornings the staff made us a flat white each, they were welcoming and polite. But on the last morn, I was told a definite no, and when I told her about the previous service, she firmly said "well they shouldn't have" and turned her back on me. So I thought I'd check with the other staff, she went into a long explanation about why, so I asked for a tray so I could take a little bit of breakfast to my friend. When she brought the tray back she left it on the side and it was dirty. I was left standing there and quite frankly felt like bursting into tears. We have asked this to be reported to the manager. I am a polite and caring person. I work as a nurse and would never turn my back on someone in mid sentence no matter how busy we were. Quite frankly the two women didn't care.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosesinposies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
4.0 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
4.2 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
4.2 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
376 reviews
5.4 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briars Country Lodge & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars Country Lodge & Inn

Property: Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Address: Briars Meadow 653 Moss Vale Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Briars Country Lodge & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Briars Country Lodge & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briars Country Lodge And Inn
Briars Country Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing