We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and overpriced”
Review of Berida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berida Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We recently stayed here on a Saturday night. The hotel is very tired and old fashioned. The room we paid $219 for looked over a footpath and at a brick wall. We hadn't planned on having dinner there but unfortunately it ended up that way and we ate in the large, very brightly lit room with only one other couple. The fire would have added some atmosphere but was not lit. The food was ordinary at best. I would not recommend this accomodation and feel that the rate we were charged was excessive for the quality.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Visited Berida Manor with a group of 20 golfing women
Weather not conducive to playing golf but Matthew went out of his way to help us arrange alternative activities
We found staff helpful from our first contact arranging our trip and throughout our stay
Breakfasts were good
Rooms were large and comfortable
The Manor is charming befitting its title with lots of atmosphere and great lounge areas for a group to meet
Pool gym and spa are an addittional surprise

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My room stank of old / mould.
The conference training room smelled as well.
Asked strangers in the hallway if they could smell the room and they agreed it did indeed smell.
Asked the male manager to attend the room and he dead set lied to me saying he did not smell anything. That may be his opinion, but he failed to offer the courtesy to swap the room.
Stroppy sour man he was.
This could be a wonderful place but needs an injection of money.
Let down.

Room Tip: Demand not to stay ion room 43 at the end of the hallway on the left. You'll know you'll sme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hyk000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A beautiful and well kept hotel. We had a walk around the grounds and afterwards booked a meal. It was next door to our apartment at Bowral Heritage Park, which didn't have a restaurant. I would recommend a visit to Berida Manor as it was more like a hotel in UK and had some history, with some interesting artefacts. That price also included a bottle of wine and we chose the red which was very palatable. It is well hidden off Kangaloon Road. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dippy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed for two nights whilst attending a wedding at a local vineyard and wanted to stay somewhere different and not just at another hotel. The manor is lovely on arrival very fitting for the dready rainy day. You can tell it was once grand, the entrance is quirky with the suit of armour and staircase. The person who met us at the desk wasn't very welcoming, just seemed disinterested, still using paper cards to write details on, the office area could use fix up behind the desk. The interior was quite dark with dark carpet and walls, furniture looked a little tired however the numerous lounge areas and places to sit were nice. On a winters day sitting by the fire would be perfect whilst overlooking the greenery. The gardens could use a fix up, beautiful green walls however missing some flowers to truly make the place feel special and not tired pot plants and plastic plants.
The room was spacious, plenty of storage, clean, lots of windows and light, but again can use a change of carpet or furniture, found it a little dusty. There also wasn't any air con, only a fan, and in unexpected low temperature the room was very chilly, so extra blankets are needed.
The biggest surprise was the indoor pool and spa area which was fantastic. Large indoor pool and large spa, sauna, showering facilities, giant billiards room with darts and lounge area was a great addition, definitely should be marketed more. Free parking is also a bonus, outdoor and the front of the manor becomes full fast but there was always more at the back of the building. Overall with a revamp of the décor whilst keeping to its manor feel, it can really lift the place and restore its grandeur. We would come back next time we're travelling through Bowral.

Room Tip: The end of the building there was less rooms and away from the lounge areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SexyCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

It is looking tired and jaded but it is excellent value if you book through Wotif. It was once a grand old institution but it still has impact on arrival. The rooms are very basic and offer few frills - no coffee plunger as more modern hotels do.
The grounds are pleasant, a good large swimming pool and very centrally located - just a few metres to our favourite restaurant Biota.
It all comes down to $ - if you want a modern hotel with facilities , then don't come here but if you want a good base to explore the southern highlands without spending much time in your room - then this offers exceptional value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Only stayed for one night here. Room was clean, a bit small though and needed a revamp on décor. However our short stay was pleasant. Didn't get to use all the activities but the pool looked fantastic and if stayed here again would definitely have a swim next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MuswellbrookCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.5 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
2.8 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
7 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
0.4 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berida Hotel

Address: 6 David St, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia (Formerly Berida Manor)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range: £60 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berida Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berida Hotel is set amongst established gardens just moments from the main street of Bowral. Featuring 42 newly refurbished, fully air-conditioned guest rooms, conference facilities, an indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, guest gym, tennis court and Endota Day Spa. The in-house European Bistro and Bar, Bistro Officina, is open for dinner Wednesday to Monday, Breakfast Saturday and Sunday and Lunch Friday to Sunday. Serving the freshest local produce and an array of fine beverages in a warm and friendly atmosphere, bookings are recommended. During the week guests can enjoy a continental breakfast in the stunning guest lounge. Berida Hotel is conveniently located 1.5 hours from Sydney and a 5 minute walk from the centre of Bowral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berida Manor Bowral
Berida Manor Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing