We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Rooms & Great Service at Links House Bowral”
Review of Links House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Links House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable Rooms & Great Service at Links House Bowral”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Links House. The hotel has a lovely ambience and the service is first class.
We stayed in the comfortable Links Suite. The room had a cosy gas fire which warmed the room nicely (it was particularly chilly the day we arrived). There is also an extra "plug in" heater and the bathroom has heat lamps so heating is more than adequate.

On the first night we enjoyed dinner at Links House' La Vida restaurant. Absolutely loved the food. Good choice and the service could not have been better. Friendly without being fussy. We also enjoyed our breakfasts there. Great selection of items on the menu. Definitely recommend to have dinner here at least once.

If you enjoy golf. Bowral Golf Club is across the road. We played at Moss Vale which is a 10 to 15 minute drive away.

If you are planning a dinner at Biota then I would suggest you ask the person at reception to organise a cab. It is a $10 cab ride away and definitely not worth it if you are planning on having a drink or two at Biota.

All together I would definitely come back to stay at Links House again. The only reason why I have not given it 5 stars is that the warm water was a bit temperamental. Generally it was good but from time to time it would go cold for a few seconds before returning to warm - not great but I would say just a minor irritation. That said it may be something Links House should seek to address as I notice some other reviewer also mentioned this.

BTW the ensuite bathroom to the Links Suite is actually very spacious.

Thank you Links House' friendly and helpful staff for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa v, General Manager at Links House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your review and we're so glad you enjoyed our restaurant and your stay at Links House.
We're sorry you experienced fluctuating water temperatures in the Links Suite. We actually thought the problem had been rectified as our plumber worked tirelessly for half a day on the project after a guest brought the matter to our attention a couple of months ago. Well, we'll be straight on the phone this morning and ensure the problem is finally fixed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    111
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
87
172
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for one night only while visiting Bowral to take my wife to the Bradman Museum/Cricket Hall of Fame for her birthday (the things we do for love!) Staff at reception and restaurant friendly and efficient. Slightly oddly configured room, with small sitting area/entrance hall, very small bathroom, and separate bedroom. Bed was rather uncomfortable. While bathroom was very small (no bath, only shower) it was very clean and appeared to have been renovated recently. Towels very nice! Breakfast excellent. Pleasant lounge with open fire; very convivial spot to have an after dinner drink and chat to other guests. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddingtontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel is a beautiful location. Stated in the Garden Suite that had its own entrance separate to the main property. Decor was country and quaint - very fitting for the surrounds.
Lovely and clean, very pretty open fire in the main lounge, free DVD rental and nice breakfasts.

However, both my partner and I struggled to get a wink of sleep - the mattress was an old bed of springs. Wish i could put thus down to personal preference but i literally felt every one in my back and suffered terrible back ache the next day. Impossible to get restful sleep. Trip to the chiropractors is now booked.

Such a shame because the place itself is a real winner.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FitFoodieBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa v, General Manager at Links House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
We're sorry to hear the mattress in our Garden Studio let you down. The mattresses are fairly new so it sounds like there might be a problem with that particular one. We will sort it out as quickly as possible. Without your feedback we wouldn't have known about it, so thank you for your review!
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Links House in the near future when we will ensure you sleep in absolute comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Links House is a lovely place to stay and a classic B&B. It's just a few min drive from Bowral town centre, and locates right opposite a beautiful golf course. It is very peaceful and quiet. The staff are very friendly and very accommodating with the kids. The room is quite small especially the bathroom is very tiny but very comfortable. The food is fantastic. We had lovely dinner there with some regional wines. And the breakfast was amazing - so much to choose from - fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_R_ABishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked for the last weekend of June 2013 and we're absolutely blown away by Links House. We've stayed at other places in Bowral, but this by far was the most pleasing experience we've had. We were very comfortable in our room - the bed was warm and cosy, it also almost became a necessity for us to for to unwind by the fire in the main area each night. The staff we're friendly and really helpful in recommending some great restaurants and attractions near by (Biota is a must!). The breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection, unlike most other hotel breakfasts we've experienced. We would definitely recommend staying here and can not wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnH74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Links17, Manager at Links House, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Bowral and the Southern Highlands has some great attractions and places to shop and dine. We're very proud of our region!
We're delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed in the Links Suite for 1 night in July. We had stayed at the Gibraltar in April (ranked #2 on Trip Advisor), but had decided to book this room for our Winter visit thinking that the #1 hotel ranking on Trip Advisor indicated beyond doubt that it was the exceptional B&B in Bowral. The Links Suite is the premium suite available at Links House, and we initially thought it was good value at $340 per night (weekend rate).

The common areas of Links House are quaint and have an old-world feel – it is these pictures that mostly used in their promotional material. However, we were quite disappointed to find the Links Suite itself hasn’t been well maintained. The suite itself is spacious and has a (gas powered) fireplace, which kept the area warm. The bed and linen were comfortable. However poor use of the space, and limited furnishings has meant that the mini bar is located in one of the bedroom cupboards, which was strange.

The bathroom in particular is very dated, smells musty/mouldy and is not cleaned thoroughly in between visits. The shower water temperature jumps from hot to cold (which is frustrating) and the shower has no door - as a result the bathroom heating is insufficient for the Highlands winter.
Breakfast is included as part of the cost of the accommodation (excluding espresso coffee). There were a wide variety of breakfast items on the menu, however the food wasn’t impressive (my fruit and yoghurt consisted of 1 tablespoon of yoghurt, 5 grapes, 2 slices of orange, ½ a strawberry and 1 thin slice of rockmelon). My travelling companion and I were also distracted by the dirty coffee cups/glasses and tired furnishings…we waited for our caffeine hit until we got into town.

If you are planning to spend $300+ per night in Bowral, this isn’t good value for money; there are better options available in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingProvocateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa v, Manager at Links House, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

Naturally, we're all rather disappointed by your comments as we work hard to provide a really pleasant experience for our guests, so it's somewhat deflating to read your review.

We've had two most dedicated housekeepers at the property for over ten years and they are indeed perplexed by your comments about the bathroom not being properly cleaned because they are meticulous when servicing and cleaning rooms.

We do generally serve a smaller portion of fruit as the menu offers a second course of items like Eggs Benedict, Omelettes, Big Breakfasts, Vegetable Stacks etc. It's a shame we weren't aware that you prefer a more substantial serving of fruit because we are very flexible and would have been pleased to provide you with exactly what you desired.

I'm not exactly sure of the day you stayed with us but perhaps the morning was particularly busy and that's why dirty glasses etc hadn't been cleared promptly. We will address that problem.

Every dining chair in the property has been re-covered in the last 12 months and the nature of the armchairs and lounges means that they are sturdy, old-fashioned and comfy.

We have contacted our plumber about the fluctuating water temperature in the shower that you have mentioned.

Whilst we don't necessarily agree with all your comments, we will most definitely take them into consideration.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We visited Bowral as a family of 4 in July 2012 and stayed at Links House for 2 nights. We stayed in the family room which was warm, cosy & comfortable. There is a lovely fireplace in the living room to relax by. Also, breakfast was very delicious. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.9 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
1.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
6.7 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House

Property: Links House
Address: 17 Links Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Links House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Links House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links House Hotel Bowral
Links Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing