We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gorgeous hidden treasure...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Links House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Links House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gorgeous hidden treasure...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at Links House this weekend and had an excellent stay. The staff are wonderful; friendly, available, yet not intrusive. The food was superb and prepared with love, especially the generous country-style a la carte breakfast. I had the duck dish at dinner, which was absolutely beautiful in appearance (it was decorated with bright strawberries), and very tasty. Breakfast was great and the staff made us feel right at home when they brought us our tea and coffee in the sitting room, where we had a choice of overlooking a picturesque golf course, or staring into the rustic fire place. Everything was just lovely and the staff ensured a great stay for us. Thank you to all of you, we will be sure to stay at Links House again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Suite, (room 15). It was very homely and cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    104
    26
    15
    6
See reviews for
80
162
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
287 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The title refers to the property, which was Australia's first en suite hotel - or so the material claims. The place has an air of genteel comfort, particularly in the common areas like the lounge.

The bedroom was clean, but quite small - in particular the bathroom. The noise travelled easily between rooms, even at conversation level. Every single word of our neighbour's normal conversation could be heard. Water temperatures in the shower were hard to control. The rooms will be warm in winter, with both heating and electric blankets available.

Staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble, either at reception or in the excellent restaurant - which will get a separate review. The location, overlooking a golf course is not central to town, but if you wanted that why would you come to Bowral?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Situated a little out of the main town and facing a golf course Links House presented as a cosy if unremarkable small hotel. Taking up a Wotif.com midweek option we had a pleasant couple of days here. It was clean and comfortable, rooms cleaned daily and breakfast as well as dinner were, on the face of our visit, very good. There is plenty of off street parking and it is well positioned to explore the southern highlands (which for us was its main strength) The staff were pleasant and helpful. Although rooms are not air conditioned they were comfortable. I notice from some other reviews that noise appeared to be an issue but I must say we had no real problems with this and the hotel was almost full when we stayed. No problem coming back here we thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent a night at the hotel over Easter long weekend 2014. The staff were really nice and the house is beautiful and is facing a lovely golf course. The breakfast was also tasty. However, there were so many problems with our stay and overall these problems ruined our visit. I would not be likely to visit again.

1) The rooms are noisy. We were taken to Room 10 when we arrived which was incredibly noisy (the people next door were talking normally and it sounded like they were in the room with us, the walls felt like they were made from paper). The staff were nice about it, and allowed us to change rooms.

2) Service at the restaurant while friendly was not good. We had to wait over an hour (nearly 1.5 hours) between entree and main course. We think they forgot our order, but we didn't really get an apology or any explanation. They also forgot the side dish we ordered which was a shame.

3) Fire alarm problems and cold rooms. In the morning, it was freezing in our room, so we turned on the heater. It set off the fire alarm, which went off again four more times after we turned off the heater. We had to climb on a chair to turn off the alarm and even after we went to the front desk to let them know it was happening, nobody came to our room to fix it. This was happening at about 7.30am so I wonder how the other guests felt!! It would have been nice if there had been a blanket in the cupboard for us to use during the night, we were really cold.

4) The bathroom is tiny.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - room 10 was so noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at Links House to celebrate a birthday with extended family. The hotel was warm and cosy, the staff very friendly and obliging and the food was amazing. We held our celebration dinner in the private dining room, and it was wonderful to have our own space. The staff were available, but weren't intrusive - perfect. And the choice for breakfast the next morning was longer and more interesting than I expected. We had a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcampbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent 2 nights at Links House. We were greeted by a warm staff member on arrival and shown to our room. The room was quaint. They have done a great job of combing the old worldly hotel with modern conveniences. Yes, the bathroom was rather small but it didn't matter as everything was so clean and all we needed for a couple. we had a small sitting area with a couch and desk. The gardens are very pretty and we sat out there reading and relaxing. we had 2 dinners at Links House and 2 breakfasts. There was no need to eat in Bowral as the food here was absolutely amazing! Breakfast was a hot breakfast chosen from a menu and served elegantly on a white cloth with all the trimmings. Dinner was superb and they have on offer local wines. After dinner we sat in the lovely lounge area and Michael lit the candles in the fireplace for us. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is an old world sort of hotel in Bowral. It is named because it is opposite the golf course.

The best thing was the white tablecloth style breakfast. Good food and service. We had coffee in the lounge afterwards, which is homely and comfortable.

The bedrooms are ok, but not special. There was a small sitting area, but the total area was small. The bathroom was tight. The staff were friendly.

I felt that it was quite expensive, but we were staying only 1 night and Bowral is an expensive place to stay. It is autumn and the leaves were falling, making it pretty and a wintery feel compared to Sydney.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room along the corridor. there may be rooms elsewhere that are larger or better, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjmSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
1.9 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
6.7 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House

Property: Links House
Address: 17 Links Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Links House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Links House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links House Hotel Bowral
Links Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing