We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Links House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Links House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My Mum and I stayed for two nights as part of a Girlie getaway. We were most impressed by the lovely ongoing welcome we received from staff, including Caitlin and Michael.

We loved the open fire and met some very nice people during our stay. It was delightful to sip from a red while enjoying great conversation in the living room. The room we stayed in (#1) was a little noisy due to it being right next to the door leading to the living room and ladies. Unfortunately some of the other guests were not very considerate when they passed our room and spoke rather loudly during 'sleeping' hours. However, this was certainly not the fault of the staff. The room itself was well sized, with an excellent mirror plus heater to ensure we looked and felt our best.

While we were there, both a wedding and a party were held at the House. It was not really feasible to access the livings rooms or restaurant on that night, so we ordered in takeout and the lovely attentive staff ensured that we still had a grand time (and still felt special!), with a mini dining table, chairs and white tablecloths and napkins delivered to our room, along with a DVD to keep us entertained.

We would certainly stay at Links House again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from Links House after a group house party to celebrate a major birthday. The lovely atmosphere and charm of the house far outweigh any minor issues of small bathrooms and thin walls. Old houses have issues, it comes with the territory. The staff couldn't do enough to make this occasion special, while dealing with a wedding party at the same time. Our outstanding waiter Michael is a special talent. Addressing everyone in our group by name right from the start was impressive. The three course meal was superb - congratulations to the chef. Thanks again to all at Links House for helping create great memories for this milestone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed one night - there were four of us in two rooms.

Just lovely! Welcoming, friendly staff but not over the top.

Very comfortable room, nice and warm with the heater on when we walked in. Great lounge area with open fire - books and dvd's to use while staying..

And then - definitely the best food we had during our weekend in Bowral. We had both dinner and breakfast at Links House. I had the chicken pie for dinner YUM and very filling. Breakfast options amazing - great start to our day, and end to our stay :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmore2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I and two adult daughters stayed in a family suite for 3 nights. This comfortable boutique hotel has a rustic earthy charm and a friendly and helpful standard of personalised service rarely found these days. Lisa, Caitlin, Richard and Michael went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The food is outstanding and the breakfasts are to die for. The comfortable lounge area and warm open fire creates a lovely environment and there is a good supply of reading material. After being treated so much like family we were sorry to leave but will definitely return again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at Links House this weekend and had an excellent stay. The staff are wonderful; friendly, available, yet not intrusive. The food was superb and prepared with love, especially the generous country-style a la carte breakfast. I had the duck dish at dinner, which was absolutely beautiful in appearance (it was decorated with bright strawberries), and very tasty. Breakfast was great and the staff made us feel right at home when they brought us our tea and coffee in the sitting room, where we had a choice of overlooking a picturesque golf course, or staring into the rustic fire place. Everything was just lovely and the staff ensured a great stay for us. Thank you to all of you, we will be sure to stay at Links House again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Suite, (room 15). It was very homely and cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The title refers to the property, which was Australia's first en suite hotel - or so the material claims. The place has an air of genteel comfort, particularly in the common areas like the lounge.

The bedroom was clean, but quite small - in particular the bathroom. The noise travelled easily between rooms, even at conversation level. Every single word of our neighbour's normal conversation could be heard. Water temperatures in the shower were hard to control. The rooms will be warm in winter, with both heating and electric blankets available.

Staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble, either at reception or in the excellent restaurant - which will get a separate review. The location, overlooking a golf course is not central to town, but if you wanted that why would you come to Bowral?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Situated a little out of the main town and facing a golf course Links House presented as a cosy if unremarkable small hotel. Taking up a Wotif.com midweek option we had a pleasant couple of days here. It was clean and comfortable, rooms cleaned daily and breakfast as well as dinner were, on the face of our visit, very good. There is plenty of off street parking and it is well positioned to explore the southern highlands (which for us was its main strength) The staff were pleasant and helpful. Although rooms are not air conditioned they were comfortable. I notice from some other reviews that noise appeared to be an issue but I must say we had no real problems with this and the hotel was almost full when we stayed. No problem coming back here we thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.9 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
1.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
6.7 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
3.8 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House

Address: 17 Links Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range: £92 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Links House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Links House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links House Hotel Bowral
Links Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing