We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's better than an open fire place in winter?”
Review of Links House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Links House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Certificate of Excellence
Copacabana, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What's better than an open fire place in winter?”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The first thing that catches your eye is the lovely entrance of a circular drive to reception. From the outside the house is inviting. From the inside of main house it holds a warm, homely charm about it. This is not a hotel, this is a Bed and Breakfast, so don't expect the Ritz. You have a nice bar (which serves some of the loveliest wines) that adjoins a comfortable sitting room, with plenty of lounges to cosey up to that special someone. Then there are the rooms. Again, this is not a 6star resort and the rooms are a little older and simple in style but they are very comfortable, warm and cleaned every day. Get in early for king size beds but also know that you will be looked after. When I visited Links House last time, Lisa and Mike couldn't do enough for me and my family. I was there with my partner and his mother (who has late stages parkinson), so they also cater for the disabled. A shower with a chair and bathroom with the necessary handles, plus enough room for the wheelchair. I wish I had of caught the name of the lovely cleaning lady, who was also extremely helpful. Anyway, when faced with looking for amenities for wheelchair access and even laundry facilities, they are the ones to go to. The breakfasts were also lovely (which is all included in the price). And for any of you golfers out there, Links is across from the Bowral golf course. It was just a pity that the restaurant wasn't open when we were there, because I have heard great things. Maybe next time. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: They have a cottage (for two people) which is quaint plus Room 18 has the king bed and private sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoyAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    107
    27
    15
    7
See reviews for
85
164
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My partner and I were heading back from the 'Gong and thought we'd call in to somewhere in Bowral that had good food and an open fire - a quick google search came up with Vida and we thought 'why not?' We had no booking and thought that we should check that Vida wasn't full so rang Michael from the car park. It was our good fortune to be there on their Christmas in July night ($70/head for 3 course meal + a glass of bubbles). "Fabulous, we'd love to" we said. Michael was so accommodating and attentive - fabulous food, delicious bubbles and the open fire (with a little prodding from my partner) combined to provide both a warm inner (and outer) glow. Michael is a real asset to Links House and we met and chatted with some lovely folk around the fire with coffee and strawberries dipped in chocolate. Thank you - we'll be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I booked a stay here as a last-minute thing, on our way to Sydney. We only stayed for 1 night but wish it was for longer! The gardens are lovely, and our room was perfect. The best thing though was the hospitality - Michael is lovely, and it was nice to chat to some of the other guests around the fireplace before dinner. We had dinner at Vida, the in-house restaurant, for no other reason than we just wanted stay indoors in the cold weather! However, we were very impressed with the quality and prices. The included breakfast was ok - nothing special, but ok.

Overall, we had a lovely last-minute overnight stay, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F0xf0rce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Fantastic central location overlooking beautifully groomed golf course greens. Breakfasts and dinners are delicious with staff including maître d'hôtel Michael, courteous while striving to ensure their guests feel welcome. While the bathrooms are small, the hotel's history and décor are charming. Will certainly return for another stay. George and Sue of Brisbane

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirroul, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My hubby Shane booked this surprise getaway for my birthday during the weekend of 4-6 July 2014. We love the vibe of Bowral and we only live in Thirroul so not a huge trek for us. Our bedroom was very cosy and we also loved the "day bed", ensuite very small but Links House is quite old and you can get past that. The common areas - dining area and sitting rooms were very comfortable - I would probably recommend some dusting(!) and the placing of ornaments in the room with the fireplace (mantel was empty as was a nice little writing desk) to give it a little more of a old-worldly feel, but the fire was lovely and there were plenty of books and DVDs to choose from. We didn't catch the names of any of the ladies working there but all wait staff were friendly and helpful. We LOVED chatting to Michael - he is quite a character and very engaging and remembered our names and made us feel very special. If you know your Hitchcock trivia, try to test him! Christmas in July dinner wasn't what my husband was expecting (he imagined more of a group dynamic where we all met for champas and canapes and chatted first) - but the food was lovely and the dining room very inviting and staff wonderful. We got to chat to a lovely couple celebrating their 45th wedding anniversary. Our cooked breakfasts were also very well done each morning and there were many choices. We had a few drinks in the sitting room each night as well and were very well looked after. One morning we walked into town to the end of the main street and back which was 5km, bit chilly but invigorating and helped us justify a delicious cooked breakfast! My hubby paid so I'm not sure of the breakdown but I would estimate it was what you'd expect to pay for two nights' accommodation plus Christmas in July dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoonaB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My Mum and I stayed for two nights as part of a Girlie getaway. We were most impressed by the lovely ongoing welcome we received from staff, including Caitlin and Michael.

We loved the open fire and met some very nice people during our stay. It was delightful to sip from a red while enjoying great conversation in the living room. The room we stayed in (#1) was a little noisy due to it being right next to the door leading to the living room and ladies. Unfortunately some of the other guests were not very considerate when they passed our room and spoke rather loudly during 'sleeping' hours. However, this was certainly not the fault of the staff. The room itself was well sized, with an excellent mirror plus heater to ensure we looked and felt our best.

While we were there, both a wedding and a party were held at the House. It was not really feasible to access the livings rooms or restaurant on that night, so we ordered in takeout and the lovely attentive staff ensured that we still had a grand time (and still felt special!), with a mini dining table, chairs and white tablecloths and napkins delivered to our room, along with a DVD to keep us entertained.

We would certainly stay at Links House again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from Links House after a group house party to celebrate a major birthday. The lovely atmosphere and charm of the house far outweigh any minor issues of small bathrooms and thin walls. Old houses have issues, it comes with the territory. The staff couldn't do enough to make this occasion special, while dealing with a wedding party at the same time. Our outstanding waiter Michael is a special talent. Addressing everyone in our group by name right from the start was impressive. The three course meal was superb - congratulations to the chef. Thanks again to all at Links House for helping create great memories for this milestone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
1.9 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
6.7 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House

Property: Links House
Address: 17 Links Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Links House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Links House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links House Hotel Bowral
Links Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing