We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Links House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Links House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013 for a wedding in nearby Berrima. Rooms are quite small and a bit dated but very clean and the bed is comfortable. The only thing I'd ask for is some thicker curtains as our lace ones weren't conducive to a sleep in. Service on check in was excellent, as was service in the restaurant for breakfast, which was awesome, especially the morning after a wedding! Great little place for a weekend away, Bowral has some great restaurants and the Don Bradman museum - a must see if you're a cricket fan.

We'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    111
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
87
172
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Made a late booking at Links house in transit to Sydney. Arriving late the reception was excellent. The heaters were on and the rooms were toasty warm and inviting a refuge from the icy cold Bowral night. It is the little things that matter. The property has a wonderful old world country charm and ambiance. The rooms are well finished and comfortable. The bathrooms are compact but very functional. The staff are excellent. The breakfast selection,included in the tariff was large and the food we had was perfect. The new Manager (1 day) was serving breakfast which was good to see. We found friendly, knowledgeable and interesting.He took the time to have a chat which we enjoyed (especially the Whisky discussion). The short stay was very relaxing. It was a shame that we only had a flying visit. We will be returning as we need to try out the restaurant and spend some more time at this wonderful property and Bowral

Room Tip: All the rooms appear excellent but try for a room away from the driveway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa v, Manager at Links House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We love to have feedback from our valued customers and it really helps our small boutique Hotel shine bright, we look forward to welcoming you back .. Robert G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for just one night, but enjoyed it so much. We had thought we eat at a local restaurant, but once we got inside into the warmth and friendliness of the Links House, we decided to eat in-house. What a great decision! The food and service are both without fault. We enjoyed a drink in the lounge prior to dinner and Michael and his staff are to be complimented on their ability to make everyone feel at home and relaxed. Will definitely stay here again, am thinking of their Christ in July package which looked great value.

Room Tip: I think any room would be just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newcastletraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights for a Christmas in July package and were thoroughly impressed! Michael is a real asset to the hotel, catering for our every need and checking in on how we were going, we didn't have to ask for anything. The open fire was a great place to relax and meet some of the other guests before dinner, which were 4 delicious courses in the restaurant, with canapes and champagne by the fire first. There was a huge selection of options to choose from for breakfast and we were impressed on both days. The room we had was a little on the small and tired side but it was very clean, comfortable and cosy. We hope to stay with you again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit_in_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copacabana, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The first thing that catches your eye is the lovely entrance of a circular drive to reception. From the outside the house is inviting. From the inside of main house it holds a warm, homely charm about it. This is not a hotel, this is a Bed and Breakfast, so don't expect the Ritz. You have a nice bar (which serves some of the loveliest wines) that adjoins a comfortable sitting room, with plenty of lounges to cosey up to that special someone. Then there are the rooms. Again, this is not a 6star resort and the rooms are a little older and simple in style but they are very comfortable, warm and cleaned every day. Get in early for king size beds but also know that you will be looked after. When I visited Links House last time, Lisa and Mike couldn't do enough for me and my family. I was there with my partner and his mother (who has late stages parkinson), so they also cater for the disabled. A shower with a chair and bathroom with the necessary handles, plus enough room for the wheelchair. I wish I had of caught the name of the lovely cleaning lady, who was also extremely helpful. Anyway, when faced with looking for amenities for wheelchair access and even laundry facilities, they are the ones to go to. The breakfasts were also lovely (which is all included in the price). And for any of you golfers out there, Links is across from the Bowral golf course. It was just a pity that the restaurant wasn't open when we were there, because I have heard great things. Maybe next time. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: They have a cottage (for two people) which is quaint plus Room 18 has the king bed and private sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoyAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My partner and I were heading back from the 'Gong and thought we'd call in to somewhere in Bowral that had good food and an open fire - a quick google search came up with Vida and we thought 'why not?' We had no booking and thought that we should check that Vida wasn't full so rang Michael from the car park. It was our good fortune to be there on their Christmas in July night ($70/head for 3 course meal + a glass of bubbles). "Fabulous, we'd love to" we said. Michael was so accommodating and attentive - fabulous food, delicious bubbles and the open fire (with a little prodding from my partner) combined to provide both a warm inner (and outer) glow. Michael is a real asset to Links House and we met and chatted with some lovely folk around the fire with coffee and strawberries dipped in chocolate. Thank you - we'll be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I booked a stay here as a last-minute thing, on our way to Sydney. We only stayed for 1 night but wish it was for longer! The gardens are lovely, and our room was perfect. The best thing though was the hospitality - Michael is lovely, and it was nice to chat to some of the other guests around the fireplace before dinner. We had dinner at Vida, the in-house restaurant, for no other reason than we just wanted stay indoors in the cold weather! However, we were very impressed with the quality and prices. The included breakfast was ok - nothing special, but ok.

Overall, we had a lovely last-minute overnight stay, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F0xf0rce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.9 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
1.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
6.7 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House

Property: Links House
Address: 17 Links Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Links House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Links House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links House Hotel Bowral
Links Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing