We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vision & Motivation Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Craigieburn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vision & Motivation Conference”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had no hesitation to return to Craigieburn this year after the excellent service we received in 2011. The staff are so easy to work with to ensure our 40 Guests ( from Interstate & Regional NSW) enjoyed their experience at Craigieburn and the Southern Highlands over the October long weekend. The Restaurant catered extremely well for us in giving us great choice and variety for all meals. The Gardens are beautiful for a stroll - and that gorgeous old "Pool area" would love some TLC and then Craigieburn would be complete.
We recommend the golf course, local shopping and the many tourist attractions to give yourself an enjoyable experience @ Craigieburn in the Southern Highlands of NSW.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are as nice as the old original ones so you have lots to choose from . All rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you Jan we really appreicate you having taken the time to provide this great feedback. The staff will be thrilled to hear your comments. It was a pleasure to have you and your group with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    372
    254
    132
    90
See reviews for
155
666
30
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

My husband and I took my parents here over the October long weekend. This hotel has an old world charm to it and Mum especially loved walking around the gardens.

Most of the staff member were lovely and extremely helpful, however we did have a few instances where we received bad customer service. Mum and I waited almost an hour for our cocktails to be made (we were told that the cocktail maker was in a meeting when we ordered them and they would be five to ten minutes) and one of the waitresses at dinner was grumpy and not very helpful when we asked about an item on the menu. It was like she didn't want to be there at all. Dinner was expensive for what it was, although we did enjoy it (apart from the dessert which was a disappointment)! The included breakfast was lovely and I would recommend it even if you have to pay for it.

Overall, for the quality of accommodation, I think it was good value for $180 including breakfast, but i would recommend having dinner in town!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you Donna for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Great to note you enjoyed our beautiful gardens which I will be sure to share with our gardner as he is very passionate about what he does. Disappointing to learn that not all of our staff provided the best service. At Peppers Craigieburn, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us as it allows us to identify areas in need of enhancement to ensure the best experience for our guests. We do hope you will visit with us again sometime.
Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

stayed as a couple october 2013 for 2 nights. Disappointed with the room as it was small in size and basic but clean and modern. However For the price we were paying I would have expected a better room standard. Location is really good right on the golf course and nice gardens and common areas with fireplaces etc. Buffet breakfast was excellent but dinner was average and expensive. Staff were nice and helpful. Would stay again but only if we got a better deal pricewise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you David for providing feedback on yours stay. Being built back in 1887 the main house rooms are not as large as those of the modern house of today, I am sorry the size was not to your expectation. Pleaseing to note you found them clean and modern and you also enjoyed the gardens, the golf course and lounge areas. We do hope you will visit with us again.

Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We have just returned after a two night stay at your hotel and whilst the vista is beautiful at Craigieburn the amenities are more than lacking. The rooms are small, ill equipped and lacking decent storage. We were not supplied with a new bathmat or soap for our second night. We fully understand that Craigieburn is a treasure in that area but the top floor really deserves a full upgrade to match the quality of the downstairs floor. We felt that the obligation to pay extra for a decent cup of coffee with breakfast really is a sad reflection on the standard of your hotel. You need to find the balance between the old world charm and the overall requirements that your visitors expect in this day and age. We definately would not recommend this venue to our friends

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
HI Amanda
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to speak with me today. I acknowledge that you felt the room did not supply enough storage for your articules during your stay and that this was also lacking in the bathroom. With regards to the bathmat and soap had you contacted Reception this would have been replaced straight away. However I am very sorry that this was overlooked during the room service. With regards to the coffee It is common practice in the industry to charge for espresso coffees with standard coffee being included in the breakfast charge. As mentioned we have improved on the coffee standard since your stay. Once again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowral hotels

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is in a very pretty location overlooking beautiful gardens and a private golf course and not too far from the town of Bowral. The room (in the Elms Wing) was modern and very clean if a bit on the small side. I am sure they have larger rooms elsewhere in the complex - some opening onto verandahs.

The breakfast room overlooks the gardens and is light and airy. There were not enough people there for a buffet breakfast so we were offered a la carte, which was very nice if a bit slow to arrive. It is also a bit expensive at $44 per couple or $58 if you do not advise the hotel the night before. A little steep if you only want cereal and toast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you Caroline for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is a great locaton to stay whilst you explore what the Southern Highlands has to offer. Pleased to note your found the accommodatoin comfortable. We do hope you will visit with us sometime again.

Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for only 1 night at Peppers Craigieburn whilst travelling home from Canberra. The Southern Highlands was a place we have been meaning to visit and were so pleased we made the effort on this trip.

Peppers Craigieburn is not for those who expect modern conveniences but if you enjoy the peace and quiet of the country and olde-worldly charm, this is the place for you. Our room opened onto a communal balcony, very large, with views over the gardens and golf course. We enjoyed sitting out here having a coffee with no other guest using this great space.

We did encounter a problem with an exhaust fan in the bathroom. It did not turn off for quite some time after using the bathroom, then came on by itself. As it was rather noisy, I contacted reception. The woman I spoke with was very pleasant and within a few minutes, had arranged for us to move to another room, with the same access to the verandah. We were happy with this arrangement, especially when the tariff for the room/breakfast was reduced.

I would gladly stay here again and would love to spend more time exploring this very picturesque area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you Julianne for providing feedback on your stay. It is indeed a a lovely country setting and full of olde world charm a great place to base yourself while you explore the Southern Highlands. Pleased to note the staff looked after you and that you would visit with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at Craigieburn for a friend's wedding, which was also hosting the reception. As a part of the wedding package we stayed in a Moreton wing room. On a previous trip we stayed in an Elms wing balcony room (much nicer). Service is fine, but a special mention for a waiter at the restaurant by the name of Wayne. Excellent service and the perfect balance of friendly and funny without crossing the line. Rooms are fine, comfortable king bed, bathrooms on the smallish side. The buffet breakfast is excellent! Overall a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an Elms wing balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you MD for taking the time to provide feedback on yours stay. Great to note you enjoyed your stay. Will be sure to pass on your comments to Wayne. We do hope you will visit again sometime.
Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
7.9 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
1.9 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
1.5 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Craigieburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Craigieburn

Property: Peppers Craigieburn
Address: Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Craigieburn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the style and elegance of the original homestead, Peppers Craigieburn was originally built in 1887 and welcomed its first guests in 1909, with 2009 marking 100 years of exquisite stays, service and food. Within easy reach of Sydney, Canberra and the coast, Peppers Craigieburn is set in an area renowned for its national parks, antique shopping and cool climate wines ultimately offering an idyllic and relaxing escape. The retreat boasts 72 guest rooms spread across two wings with a selection of rooms featuring either views of the golf course or the landscaped gardens while premium accommodation includes an airy shared balcony with views designed for relaxation. All rooms include central heating, flat screen television, tub chair, minibar fridge, tea/coffee-making facilities, ensuite bathroom with shower, hairdryer, shampoo and toiletries, iron and ironing board and high speed wireless internet. A new dining experience awaits you with the opening of Hickory's Restaurant and Bar. Overlooking the original 9 hole golf course and offering a relaxed atmosphere and local produce inspired menu promises something for everyone's taste. The retreat offers an idyllic and relaxing escape. Set on a picturesque country estate, this fully refurbished grand country home features its own private nine-hole golf course, billiards room and tennis courts. When visiting Bowral and the Southern Highlands, you will be inspired by the beauty of the local area. Highland fresh air, fresh produce and friendly locals will ensure your stay at this retreat is one to be remembered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Craigieburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Craigieburn Hotel Bowral
Craigieburn Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing