We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyclist Friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braidwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Braidwood Torpys Eco Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Braidwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We are on a charity cycle tour around Australia and Torpys Eco Retreat kindly donated us one night accommodation as we passed through Braidwood. The proprietor, Andy, was very friendly and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The Eco Lodge offers discounts to eco-friendly travelers and those trying to reduce their carbon footprint – such as cyclists, motorists with electric cars etc….

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank BenE7470KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a really good time at Torpys Eco Motel. The place is really unique and the owner was very kind. Got a great sleep, after an unbelievable dinner down the road at the Paydirt Eatery. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The rooms were very clean and as advertised in period furniture.
The hosts Jacki and Andrew not only made me feel welcome but treated me as part of the family.
The first noticeable point is the Historic appearance of the building, being painted with White Wash.
Upon entering all floors are polished timber and converted gas lighting in the major rooms.
Andrew was very happy to share the history of the building and point out the changes in the building over the years.
We'll worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

If your looking for 5 star accommodation, then this is NOT the place for you.

We came with the intention to camp on the lovely field out the back of the motel, but Andy offered us a room, if not taken by 8pm, at half price...which was very kind and thoughtful of him.

When we got back at about 10pm, after having a fantastic evening with Jane and Shane at TorPeas, Andy saw us driving to our camp spot and came out to let us into our motel room...his 24hr service is assured.

The room was neat and clean, and the TV and fridge/freezer worked.

We found Andy to be welcoming and very helpful. ..and yes, he can chat a bit, but hey...he is from Devon and was just keen to share what Torpys had to offer us.

To be honest, Andy, the place does need a little spring clean...like not leaving all the cold drink cans lying around...even if u are in the process of crushing them all for recycling.

And hey, the guest house room you showed us was lovely, but was overshadowed by the clutter lying around in the hall and adjacent room.

The place is clean, but I think Andy could do with a little help in getting the place "organised"...get things packed away etc.

Torpys is in a great location with a lovely view over a small field and creek, but the competition is offering neater/brighter /more modern facilities. ...so, if Torpys is to compete Andy better get cracking in spring cleaning his entire spot...if he is to compete at the $110 to $140/night rate.
But if Andy decides to offer more affordable rates, $70 - $80/night (motel) then Torpys will be the place to stay.

Andy, thanks for the hospitality and for being so accommodating. ..you are sitting on a little gem, and all it needs is a little clutter clearing up...get a skip in and do a ruthless spring clean.

We would definitely revisit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank robertglewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stay at Torpy's ECO motel one night on January 9th ,2014 , we didn't book in advance, just drove pass and saw a nice green ground and decided to approach the owner ,maybe the owner will allow us to camp for a night , after talking to Torpy, he offered us a very affordable price on stay in the motel room or camp for the night.
We decide to take the room,the room is clean, warm, and very comfortable, the owner Torpy is very friendly and helpful , he has the vision of Eco living,he is an well manner and soft personality character, Rob and I for sure will come to stay this Eco motel again , highly recommend, great value for money, easy access to the town , comfortable bed and clean facility.
Rob and Rebecca from Cremorne NSW

Room Tip: Talk to the owner,get to know the background of this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at Torpy's on the weekend of 7th Decemeber 2013 for a wedding.
We had only a booking for the Saturday night and at the last minute decided we would like to stay the Friday night too. Andy went out of his way to fit us in and he provided us with helpful advice for the trip to Braidwood.
On the Friday night we stayed in the Attic room of the guest house which we found to be comfortable and warm. As pointed out by Andy, this room has steep steps and so is only suitable for younger able bodied people.There are other well appointed ground floor rooms too.
The guest house has an old world feel about it, which is in keeping with its heriatge. If you appreciate this style of accomodation you will enjoy staying in this section of Torpy's.

For the second night we stayed in the motel section of Torpy's which is separate from the guest house, it has a much more contemporary look and feel.
Our room was clean and comfortable with a pleasant outlook over an open green field. The room had ensuite bathroom, good thick walls so we were not disturbed by neighbouring guests, warm bedding, good TV and AC/Heater unit. There is a wooden balcony at the rear of the rooms, which would be a nice spot to have a cup of tea but its currently being repaired.

We had an enjoyable stay at Torpy's and Andy our host was very friendly and accomodating.
It is very upsetting to read of the prior negative reviews which we can not fathom as being true. Those comments are so far from our experience that they make me question the integrity of those "reviews" especially with the personal attacks made towards Andy's character... It wouldn't surprise me if another agenda is being served by the posting of those scathing comments.

No doubt prospective guests will be left in two minds as to whether to stay at Torpy's.
I strongly suggest giving Andy a call and having a chat with him about the different styles of accomodation and the Braidwood area.
That way you'll find out for yourself that Andy is a very nice and helpful host; and if you decide to stay there, that Torpy's is a great choice for a pleasant stay!

Thanks Again Andy,
Seth and Tess

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

AVOID THIS STRANGE AND DIRTY PLACE AT ALL COSTS!!!!

I don't even know where to begin. We had one of the most awful hotel experiences ever here (and we are frequent travellers).

The room was dated, stale smelling, old and disgusting bathroom (the toilet hadn't been cleaned and there were faeces and urine in and around it), old and smelly sheets, freezing cold draft coming in through the ill fitted balcony door... No tea or coffee. I could go on. The 'verandah' out the back of the rooms is an accident waiting to happen - the wood is so old and rotten that when we stood on the beams they wobble and bow under weight. We didn't dare take more than two steps out there. The room was worse than underwhelming, it was awful.

The owners are unprofessional, untrustworthy and downright odd. In the end, there was so much drama and upset (it's a very long story) involved in staying at this place, later that night we made the 4 hour drive back to Sydney, with our baby daughter. It was far from ideal, but was absolutely the happiest outcome rather than staying at Torpys Eco Motel (which, by the way, isn't eco at all). To top it all off - they had the cheek to charge my credit card for the nights stay. (this was later reclaimed by my credit card company for being an unauthorised payment).

I would NOT recommend this to anyone, even if you're desperate.

However, please don't confuse with Torpeas Restaurant next door - totally separate and we had a great meal and experience there. Funnily enough, Andy very adamantly told us not to go and recommend a lousy place further into the town! Sums him up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank KateLouiseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Braidwood Torpys Eco Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braidwood Torpys Eco Motel

Address: 18 McKellar St, Braidwood, New South Wales 2622, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Braidwood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Braidwood
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing