We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beaut pub”
Review of Hotel Brunswick

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brunswick Heads
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Brunswick
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brunswick Heads
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beaut pub”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This place is consistently good, and very popular. We always get there a bit early so we don't have to fight for a table. Tables are outside with umbrellas surrounded by flame trees and has great views of the river. Food is not very inventive and the menu doesn't seem to change - every year when we visit from Victoria, same dishes on offer. But they are generous meals and typical pub fare, and very fresh. Sitting in the shade, sipping our wine, enjoying the heat and the views and ambience is one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    26
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
29
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
279 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The best beer garden in NSW! Great food as well. We love this pub, sitting under the shady trees sipping a couple of quiet ones whilst eating huge meals. It doesn't get any better than this! We can't wait to get back down to Brunswick Heads.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skaz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Firstly the pub looks great, great atmosphere. The maintenance team does a wicked job. The food comes out in huge portions! Lots if flavour, I have found when ordering steak, order its cooked under your usual preference, as the chefs cooks them well.
The rooms I have found to not be cleaned thoroly as I found bottle tops and a large dead bug on th floor in one room and when we switched rooms a dirty blue boxer shorts in a drawer. Also the rooms have no curtains, so expect a early start. The rooms over looking the beer garden are better for a lye in. But beware if a weekend as the stage goes off.
Also went down to the bar for some chips just after 10pm as had a early dinner, last orders had been called but drinkers where still there and the bar tender informed me that there was a caltex down the road! I also had the correct change to give him, once I told him I was staying up stairs he soon changed his tune, but was a little hostile at the beginning! Apart from the last instance over all staff were pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariadobson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Had a great week here over Easter, shared a twin and had our room cleaned and towels changed every day, shower and toilets were shared and clean throughout our stay.

There was a share kitchen with tea and coffee supplied, could use the refrigerator, and also had a lounge area.

Unfortunately, someone slept on the couch in the lounge and jimmied the door to the ladies showers open so that he could use them. Was vulgar and I felt unsafe in this enviornment. I reported this to the staff, but nothing was done. Pity, otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacksonJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Hotel Brunswick is a beautifully restored art deco hotel. The rooms are in excellent condition as are the bathrooms. Everything is sparkling clean - even the plastic plants. This last item being the only negative aspect.
The bar staff make check in easy, but otherwise you won't see or hear any staff unless you go looking for them. Rooms are quiet. Shared, guest only lounge has a mid sized LCD TV, couches and chairs, and has its own balcony over the beer garden.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I just love this hotel - it really does take you back to a time that was very minimist and (realitively) stress free. The accomodation is clean and basic (in keeping with the age of the hotel) but really does set you up for a total break. The food is amazing, so do eat at the hotel.
We love the Friday and Saturday nights - a gentle way to be part of the Northern NSW social agenda - relaxed and gentle.
I can honestly say that at the end of your stay you will be totatlly refreshed.
And of course, the location is just brilliant.

Room Tip: no, I am not going to share my special room - a secret
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The Brunswick Heads pub has some great things about it- the play area for the kids is excellent and in general the whole place has a very child friendly feel to it which is good for families. The food here is pretty overpriced for what you get- which is basically average to sometimes below average pub food. Everytime I've been there for dinner they always absolutely drown the side salad in some horrible salad dressing and it ends up being inedible. Not a bad place in general though, but the food could definitely improve.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanDVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick Heads
0.0 mi away
Brunswick River Inn
Brunswick River Inn
#3 of 4 in Brunswick Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brunswick Heads Motel
Brunswick Heads Motel
#1 of 4 in Brunswick Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
6.4 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sails Motel
The Sails Motel
#2 of 4 in Brunswick Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Middle Pub Hotel
The Middle Pub Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullumbimby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Motel
Chalet Motel
#1 of 1 in Brunswick Heads
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunswick

Property: Hotel Brunswick
Address: 4 Mullumbimbi St, Brunswick Heads, New South Wales 2483, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Brunswick Heads
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brunswick Heads
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Aussie Pub, the Hotel Brunswick offers excellent food, cold beers, and a friendly family atmosphere in a leafy, riverfront beer garden.Fourteen rooms some with river views, add vintage charm to this beautifully restored 1940’s building in the heart of Brunswick Heads, in Northern New South Wales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing