We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good All Round Pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brunswick

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brunswick Heads
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Brunswick
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brunswick Heads
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good All Round Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

There are no faults. The pub has good clean, reasonably priced rooms. The staff are a joy and the food is delightful. The town is picturesque and it's proximity to beach, that is to say, it is only 200 metres, is Nirvana for surfers and sun-lovers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzie747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    26
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
26
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We ate at this great pub several times while staying at Brunswick Heads. Great food, not your usual pub fare but more up market although at very reasonable prices. Great outdoor environment with large umbrellas. The night time entertainment was good too. Kids were also well catered for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyfox49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

This pub is awesome! Very popular and friendly pub which is opposite the river. The tables are outside with umbrellas surrounded by big shady trees. The food is excellent - you really get your money's worth. Cannot fault the excellent staff. We went here on a Saturday and the live band that started playing was awesome - played some of the the best music I've heard in a long time!! Well worth a vist to this pub - will definitely be going back for more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCGirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

This place is consistently good, and very popular. We always get there a bit early so we don't have to fight for a table. Tables are outside with umbrellas surrounded by flame trees and has great views of the river. Food is not very inventive and the menu doesn't seem to change - every year when we visit from Victoria, same dishes on offer. But they are generous meals and typical pub fare, and very fresh. Sitting in the shade, sipping our wine, enjoying the heat and the views and ambience is one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
267 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

The best beer garden in NSW! Great food as well. We love this pub, sitting under the shady trees sipping a couple of quiet ones whilst eating huge meals. It doesn't get any better than this! We can't wait to get back down to Brunswick Heads.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skaz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Firstly the pub looks great, great atmosphere. The maintenance team does a wicked job. The food comes out in huge portions! Lots if flavour, I have found when ordering steak, order its cooked under your usual preference, as the chefs cooks them well.
The rooms I have found to not be cleaned thoroly as I found bottle tops and a large dead bug on th floor in one room and when we switched rooms a dirty blue boxer shorts in a drawer. Also the rooms have no curtains, so expect a early start. The rooms over looking the beer garden are better for a lye in. But beware if a weekend as the stage goes off.
Also went down to the bar for some chips just after 10pm as had a early dinner, last orders had been called but drinkers where still there and the bar tender informed me that there was a caltex down the road! I also had the correct change to give him, once I told him I was staying up stairs he soon changed his tune, but was a little hostile at the beginning! Apart from the last instance over all staff were pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariadobson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Had a great week here over Easter, shared a twin and had our room cleaned and towels changed every day, shower and toilets were shared and clean throughout our stay.

There was a share kitchen with tea and coffee supplied, could use the refrigerator, and also had a lounge area.

Unfortunately, someone slept on the couch in the lounge and jimmied the door to the ladies showers open so that he could use them. Was vulgar and I felt unsafe in this enviornment. I reported this to the staff, but nothing was done. Pity, otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacksonJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick Heads
0.0 mi away
Brunswick River Inn
Brunswick River Inn
#3 of 4 in Brunswick Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sails Motel
The Sails Motel
#2 of 4 in Brunswick Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Middle Pub Hotel
The Middle Pub Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullumbimby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ocean Shores Motel
Ocean Shores Motel
#1 of 1 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Motel
Chalet Motel
#1 of 1 in Brunswick Heads
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mullum Motel Mullumbimby
The Mullum Motel Mullumbimby
#2 of 2 in Mullumbimby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunswick

Property: Hotel Brunswick
Address: 4 Mullumbimbi St, Brunswick Heads, New South Wales 2483, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Brunswick Heads
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brunswick Heads
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Aussie Pub, the Hotel Brunswick offers excellent food, cold beers, and a friendly family atmosphere in a leafy, riverfront beer garden.Fourteen rooms some with river views, add vintage charm to this beautifully restored 1940’s building in the heart of Brunswick Heads, in Northern New South Wales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing