We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carrington Inn of Bungendore
Ranked #1 of 4 Bungendore B&B and Inns
Canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great for a weekend getaway. Close to everything you need in Bungendore. Room was neat and spacious, a little dated but still plenty of county charm - I believe the new owner is planning a refurb soon anyway. Comfy bed and good amenities. The restaurant is under going a refit so was not open but our package included Dinner at Le Tres Bon (delicious food) and breaky at a local cafe both an easy walk from the inn. Looking forward to heading back in winter when the restaurant is up and running and the fireplaces are roaring.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletch_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    39
    11
    13
    8
See reviews for
17
51
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

rooms are very spacious and comfy, good strong hot shower, good TV , small kitchen with basic equipment. Nice quiet spot with easy walking to a variety of attractions/shops/eateries.We had not planned to stay here, in fact we were supposed to be camping but the heavens opened up for several days and the Carrington Inn became a very welcome refuge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
344 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our MX5 car club booked 13 rooms for the night. Check-in was handled efficiently, considering we all arrived at the same time! Rooms are very large and clean (ideal if travelling with a baby and portable cot), bed comfortable, and a small kitchette with fridge, microwave, toaster, plates & cutlery provided should you wish to bring breakfast. Cereal available for sale in reception, and there's an IGA supermarket close by. The other option was having breakfast in one of the cafes across the road, which many in our group did and commented how generous and reasonably priced the food at the Blind Duck Cafe was.
The room had quite a few lights and lamps, but it was quite dark, even with them all on. Some of our group commented on this as well, but the romantic one in our group said she liked the atmosphere it gave!
We had organised a trivia game for an hour and were going to hold it on the verandah, but they very generously allowed us to use the conference room at no charge.
A very good, clean, quiet and centrally located motel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Although the (closed) restaurant is on the main road, there is no signage indicating the existence of the motel. which we only found after wandering the verandahs of the restaurant and reading a small notice. No one was in Reception ... on either day... and we had to phone the owner to get our key. Pity the customer who doesn't carry a phone. The restaurant is closed for renovation, but there is no provision at all for breakfast. At least an offer of milk, cereal and DIY toast would have been appreciated, especially for those of us who had to be on the road before the cafes opened. Otherwise, the rooms are large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiniSz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCarringtonInn, Manager at The Carrington Inn of Bungendore, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear BiniSz, thank you for your critique. We take it constructively.

We are sorry that our main signs that read Carrington Inn - Boutique Hotel didn't work for you. In the coming month we will be updating our signs to make it more clear that we provide good accommodation to travellers and visitors to the region. While our restaurant is undergoing refurbishment we have made arrangements for our guest to be served by two very good cafés within 50 mtrs of the property. Our apologies if we did not make that clear.

Hopefully on your return, you will accept a complimentary hot breakfast in our new dining room scheduled for opening in April.

Warm regards, The Carrington Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly. Rooms are charming and well priced. Everything was beautifully clean. Gardens are delightful. Situated in the centre of town, close to some excellent little cafes and shops. Will stay again. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCarringtonInn, Manager at The Carrington Inn of Bungendore, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Deborah.

Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your visit. We like our small town too, and with new shops regularly opening there are always new people to talk to and things to see. We look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers, The Carrington Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, VIC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Average 80s accommodation; service and facilities acceptable. Bed ok; room a little dark as no main light. Small kitchen but no indoor table & chairs (some outside). Clean, tidy, fresh linen. Room could do with a freshen up - few dead bugs under the front door on arrival; otherwise clean. Located in centre of town; one block from pubs.

Room Tip: All rooms set back from main road; no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM67Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCarringtonInn, Manager at The Carrington Inn of Bungendore, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear CM67Melb.

Fare comment about the 1980’s look. While we have been proud of that original natural wood look and high ceilings, we agree it is time for a refresh. Throughout 2014 we will be redecorating all our guest rooms to make them lighter and brighter. Sixty percent of the rooms will also be getting private patio gardens so guests can be inside or outside as they prefer.

Sorry about the bugs – eek – that’s a bit of country life in the summer, but we should have double checked that before you checked in. Thanks again for staying with us.


Warmly, The Carrington Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I booked accommodation here for my boss for a business trip recently for a two-night stay. As I'm more...savvy...with computers, I'm uploading her review.

She found the facilities fantastic, as you can see from the pictures. The staff were wonderful and she felt very welcomed and "at home" the entire time.

The setting and town itself were delightful, with much exploring taking place. Will definitely be back for a leisure stay in time to come.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCarringtonInn, Manager at The Carrington Inn of Bungendore, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Mark, thanks for your kind remarks. We are glad your boss liked the Inn.

We strive to create a good country experience for our guest. Cleanliness, Friendliness, Peace and Quiet are amongst our top deliverables. Hope to have you stay with us one day too!

Cheers, The Carrington Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bungendore
13.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
13.0 mi away
Grand Manor Motor Inn
Grand Manor Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Queanbeyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
12.4 mi away
Rainbow Motel
Rainbow Motel
#9 of 13 in Queanbeyan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Capital Country Holiday Park
17.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
12.9 mi away
Golden Age Motor Inn
Golden Age Motor Inn
#2 of 13 in Queanbeyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Inn of Bungendore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Inn of Bungendore

Property: The Carrington Inn of Bungendore
Address: 21 Malbon St, Bungendore, New South Wales 2621, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bungendore
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bungendore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1885, The Carrington Inn has enjoyed a colourful and adventurous life. Initially a coaching inn for travellers on the Cobb & Co route the Carrington has in its century and a half existence, also been a general store and a private residence. In the 1980's it was lovingly restored as the Inn's warm and hospitable dining restaurant and the cornerstone to our good conference and accommodation facilities on the five acre property. We are very proud to offer the Carrington to you as a homely place to celebrate, relax, unwind, or stay. Our specialty is to cater for meetings and celebrations of between 15 and 60 people. The Carrington Inn environment is perfect for events where it is important to stay focused and not distracted by external noise, intrusiveness, or unpleasantness. The Inn is a foundation piece of Bungendore, a thriving country town with good food, boutique shops, arts, crafts, and Australian heritage. It's a small town and easy to get around on foot, while being welcomed everywhere you go. The Carrington Inn is just 20 minutes by car from Parliament House and 25 minutes from Canberra International Airport. It is beautifully located so as to enjoy the museums and culture of our national capital, the wineries and crafts of the region, while having a base that is comfortable, safe and hospitable. It is the perfect staging post for adventures in the cool climate wine country of the Southern Tablelands, or trips to the coast (90 minutes - East), or the snow (3 hours - South). The Carrington Inn has 26 well-appointed rooms each with kitchenette, air conditioning, flat screen television, and WiFi. Many of our rooms have private gardens and some have relaxing spa baths. Off-street parking is free. All our buildings and gardens support disabled access. PLEASE NOTE: OUR RESTAURANT IS CURRENTLY UNDERGOING REFURBISHMENT and is closed. It will reopen with an exciting new menu and decor later in the year. In the meantime, there are other lovely local restaurants and cafes who will treat Carrington Inn guests as we would ourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Carrington Inn of Bungendore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing