We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location....but that's it...”

Main Beach Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Main Beach Backpackers
Quin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location....but that's it...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I chose this backpackers due to its location...but this was a really bad choice. With Aquarius Backpackers across the road, there is no reason to stay here.

Cleanliness was non-existent and while the staff were friendly, that is the only other positive that I could say about the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    11
    18
    34
See reviews for
1
24
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

I am an avid traveler and this was easily the worst hostel I have ever been in. The bathrooms and the kitchen were disgusting. There was no reinforcement as to cleaning up after yourself. Every dish was dirty and there was literally food on the floor. There was even a banana peel on the floor of the reception area. I like to socialize, but there was partying going on in common areas until 4 am. Which could be heard throughout the dorm rooms. Not that it mattered, we couldn't sleep because of the smell of our room. It smelled of strong mold, even with the windows wide open. We gave it two nights and were out of there bright and early to run to aquarius across the street. Same price and felt like a resort after Mainbeach. Just don't go! Byron is incredible, don't let this place taint your experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed in Byron Bay for a 5 Days whilst travelling the East Coast with Two Friends we're all from the UK. We stayed in a 16 Bed Dorm but as It was quite a quiet time of year only half the dorm was full most of the time. The Staff are all very friendly and we had a really good time getting to know everyone on the nights out we had. The Kitchen is usually very clean and the common area/tv room is always good to chat to new people. If you arrive by the Grey Hound Bus they'll organise to pick you up from the Stop and Drop you back which is always great. For the average price of $20 per night It's a good place to stay and would recommend it to anyone travelling through Byron! This wasn't really the type of hostel you'd bring Children too so bear that in mind!

Room Tip: The Dorms with less people are of course more quiet of course so 4 Bed or 6 Bed may be the Dorms for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The rooms were HUGE, like 20 people in one badly lit room. So you WILL be kept up by the last person to bed and woken by the first person up.

They also had NO ventilation, so the room was hot, stuffy and smelly. There was sick in the bathroom when I went to bed, which is fine, it happens, but it took until almost midday the next day before it was cleaned up. Definitely not to the same standard as some of the other hostels in town.

Did have lockers in the rooms and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Had a nice outdoor area, car park and was well connected with activities in the area.

The main problem was simply the quality of the rooms. They need updating - some kind of ventilation is the first step.

Room Tip: Stay at Nomads instead. SOO much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayfaringVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonstetten, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

the hostel is located very good, near to beach and everything. Rooms are run down, dirty bathrooms, lousy kitchen, beds are old nd hard>).... not to be recommanded. but prize is good :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

I came here because of the recommendation in the Lonely Planet. The hostel is great located in walking distance to the beach. The staff is friendly. But the whole place is very filthy and unclean. I've booked a double room for AUD 60 a night and that was a waste of money. The bed was in a terrible condition and I'd had to put a cushion on the middle of the matress to lay straight. It was all smelly and I was not shure, if the sheets had been changed. The shared bathroom is in a lausy condition and was dirty and damp. Not to recommend at all!

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank myriam_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

As my title says, the hostel has a superb location with 2 minutes walk to the beach, and 2 minutes in either direction to bars and restaurants and so on. Also, if you are a social person then it's a great place to meet new people, especially if you're on your own.
Downside is that it's all quite basic, with very thin mattresses, and everything is a little unclean especially the bathrooms. If you can ignore then fine, but there are no creature comforts here, bar the fun moral! Lockers in rooms are a plus!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
#41 of 64 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 64 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#5 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.3 mi away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#25 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Beach Backpackers

Property: Main Beach Backpackers
Address: | Cnr Lawson & Fletcher Streets, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 48

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing