We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
23
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach suite ocean view opposite the beach night stay outlook surf apartment bedroom accommodation byron
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I have spent 12 days here over Christmas and New Years. Wow. This place has breathtaking views of the beach, the one bedroom unit is smallish but has everything you need- from kitchen to beach chairs to umbrellas etc. It's beautifully appointed - I love the white marble bathroom and the relaxed, beachy furnishings. You can see the beautiful beach even lying in bed.. And hardly notice there's a road in between. We hardly wanted to leave the apartment! We loved it so much we're going to book it for Christmas 2014. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Studio 2 is downstairs and has no balcony blocking the view. Also easy beach access.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Talitha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary in September 2013 staying at the Watermark. Perfect unit in the most perfect location made it a magical long weekend. Definitely worth paying the extra to stay in the one bedroom self contained unit upstairs with breathtaking views. The unit is comfortable and relaxing with everything that you could possibly want. We plan on making it an annual event.

Room Tip: The high floor one bedroom unit well worth the extra cost for amazing view and privacy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The location sets the expectation. Watego Beach located in the Palm Valley below the Cape Byron lighthouse is a superb location - it has been rated as one of the top 20 beach locations in the world. Watermark is situated across the road from the beach. The quality of the accommodation and fitout, as well as the standards to which it is maintained, should satisfy the most discerning traveller. The only complaint is the poor internet connectivity - which some might consider a blessing. During the stay, the connection in the ground floor units was not working, and upstairs the wireless reception in the Ocean Suite was very poor.

We found the cleaning staff to be very friendly and helpful - a real delight to deal with.

We initially stayed in a beach suite - there are 2 on the ground floor. These do feel a little cosy. Unit 2 is a little larger than Unit 1. We then moved to the Ocean Suite, which is much more spacious.

Room Tip: please refer to the review.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tripper1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed here in early September this year in the apartment upstairs with a direct view of the beach. Beautiful apartment with a well equipped kitchen and plenty of light. Definitely had a nice homely feel about with lots of little touches and it was lovely to be able to see and hear the beach as it was only a walk across the road to Wategos Beach. I was here with my boyfriend and quite happy to be away from the crowds of Byron central. It really is a boutique place with only about 3 beachfront suites and the upstairs apartment which we stayed in. Some comment that the apartments are small...but they are very well set out and there is more than enought space for two people. We had some issues with connecting to wifi here but as we were on holidays it didn't bother us too much. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs apartment have fairly unobstructed views except for some power lines. Beachfront suites can still see the beach but through some trees on the road.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mickymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Watermark at Wategos is just a beautiful place to stay, simply breathtaking. The beach is one of the best in Australia. The rooms are private and very comfortable with a real touch of class. I want to revisit and highly recommend to anyone that enjoys quality.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning, but if you want a separate lounge area book into the upstairs suite.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews