We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Getaway - beautiful place...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Watermark at Wategos
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Getaway - beautiful place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

I surprised my partner with a surpise weekend getaway to Byron Bay and spent quite some time looking for the perfect spot. I am pleased to say that I was extremely happy with the Watermark. The location is perfect, right opposite the beach. There are 3 apartments to choose from, 2 studio apartments on the ground floor and 1 ocean front apartment on the second floor. We stayed in the ocean view apartment which is defintely the pick of the three as it has spectacular views and is more spacious. Given this is an apartment and not a hotel, it doesn't have a pool, restaurant, room service etc... so it's a little difficult to make a comparison to Victoria's or Rae's on Wategos, but 1 thing is for certain, the position of the Watermark is better than both. The walk into town is about half an hour on the beach or the same up to Captain Cook's lookout. The only restaurant in Wategos is Rae's which is quite expensive, so if you're not the type that likes walking, get yourself a car. It is also located close to the lighthouse. Internet access was provided (wifi) but we had trouble some days connecting. This didn't really bother us because we were on holiday to get away from everything!
Overall - Highly recommended!

One tip for those that haven't been to Byron Bay before, if you fly into Ballina, DO NOT get a taxi to Wategos! I think as soon as our driver heard Wategos they decided to charge us the night fare (at 2pm in the afternoon!) and then went the long way to Wategos... We obviously found this out later... Taxi fare ended up costing us $120! You can hire a car from the airport for about $50 a day which is perfect because you can then drive into town and get some groceries to fill up the fridge! :-) The trip from the airport to Byron is about 40 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules30_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

The place to stay if you really want to get away from the noisy, unpleasant man made jungle of city living. A gorgeous beach with a really exclusive feel about it and we had it all to ourselves while swimming early on a thursday morning in water that was like green glass! With the lighthouse so close there is plenty of exercise to be had and the beach links back around to Clarkes Beach and right along to Main Beach. A fabulous, relaxing escape!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JYR933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

"Only a B&B" doesn't do it justice. Room was very good and the location is fantastic. Free loan of surf gear was put to good use.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biker_michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

My husband and I had a five night stay in the one bedroom apartment (Beach Suite 3 - upstairs) in November 2008.

We were escorted to the apartment by Lizzie who organised our booking, and on arrival the view of the beach absolutely took our breath away. The apartment was immaculate with special touches throughout - lemongrass wax burning, great books to read everywhere I turned (my joy), just lovely little touches throughout. The French doors had been left open for us for when we arrived and the sound of the surf was awesome.

Whilst we had pretty crappy weather for 75% of our time at Byron, it really didn't matter - the view from the apartment (both lounge and bedroom) was just fantastic any time. There's great walks around the rocks to the other little beach and to the lighthouse beyond. We took most of our own food and only ventured into the township for occassional food top-ups. (The Beach Hotel food was a great disappointment, but Legends Pizza, near Woolworths' was really good, as was Cardamon Pod Vegetarian Food on Lawson Street).

I had read a review about this place in the Weekend Australian (a journalist had spent part of his holiday here) and had recommended Beach Suite 3. Having now seen the downstairs suites, we would stay there on occassion, maybe for one night, but if you're going to pay $400, pay $500 and stay upstairs. It's totally totally worth it. The view would have to be better and you get total privacy. Also, you can leave the French doors open and listen fall asleep listening to the surf!

The only downside (for me only) was there was no bath - and no oven. Who knows, maybe the microwave is convection - I didn't care that much to look.

I don't want to sound pompous, but we have stayed at heaps and heaps of places here and overseas, and this would have to be our most favourite beach spot anywhere. We're even buying a Malibu surfboard each and look forward to booking a night each month! God I loved this place!!!!!

I would include some photos, but the beach is that close, the photos just don't do the view justice.

  • Liked — The views and the open feeling of Beach Suite 3.
  • Disliked — No bath - but really, who cares. The beach is 8 steps away!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GlobalDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

We stayed for a long weekend in Nov 08 as a 'babymoon' and Watermark was beautiful. Location was one of the main considerations for us as I was heavily pregnant and didn't want anywhere that was too much of a walk to the beach. It is situated on Wategos beach - the hotel website says 8 steps to the beach, well it is more like 16 but really that was the only complaint!!

We stayed 2 nights in one of the beach suites - they are self-contained 1 bedroom apartments and while I wouldn't rate them as 'spacious' there is enough room to be comfortable and really when you have such a beautiful location on your doorstep, you really don't want to spend that much time in the room anyway. The suite we stayed in had a full but compact kitchen (no oven but a convection microwave) that was well equipped, comfortable lounge area, separate bedroom (sliding doors to close it from the living area) and a well appointed marble bathroom, no bath but a lovely spacious shower. The photos on the website are actually indicative of the accommodation (which is not always the case!)

Probably the only downside of the 2 ground floor suites is that there is a shared path that runs pretty much outside your door. We were lucky that there was no-one in the other unit on the first night and then on the 2nd night we only saw them once. However if you had people who were constantly coming and going you would be walking past each other quite a lot. I would recommend asking for Suite 1 (as then people aren't walking past you (we were in Suite 2) or paying a bit extra and opting for the upstairs apartment (Suite 3)

Everything around Wategos is pretty expensive (Watermark starts at $390/night) but the location is amazing, we spent most of our 'beach time' at Wategos not needing to venture into the main/busier beaches at Byron Bay.

Watermark at Wategos is definitely a great place for couples who like quality accommodation and being very close to the ocean.

  • Liked — proximity to beach
  • Disliked — potentially limited privacy
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Lanna75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#13 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
3.0 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
3.5 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
3.3 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark at Wategos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark at Wategos

Property: Watermark at Wategos
Address: 29 Marine Pde, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Watermark at Wategos 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark at Wategos is a unique beachfront property offering luxury lodging in three separate suites/ apartments. Settle into your self-contained luxury suite, with absolute beach frontage of one of Australia's most beautiful beaches, Wategos Beach at Byron Bay. Watermark consists of two sumptuous Beachfront Studio Suites, one Ocean View Apartment and of course the magnificent 3 bedroom Private Residence, all literally 10 steps from the sand. Every detail of the interiors has been meticulously and lovingly styled, with beautiful hand carved furniture, Pony chairs, a comfy lounges and Italian marble ensuite bathrooms. None of the mod-cons have been overlooked with each Suite having its own flat screen LCD TV, CD/DVD player and an integrated BOSE sound system with Apple universal iPod dock and wireless internet access. Open the concertina doors, breathe the fresh ocean breeze with a hint of frangipani and .....Exhale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Watermark at Wategos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing