We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brekkie in Byron”
Review of Bay Leaf Cafe

Bay Leaf Cafe
Ranked #3 of 195 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Mill Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Brekkie in Byron”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I am very into expresso and this casual hip place does it very well. The single draw Ethiopian was unique. I was well advised not to get a Picallo (with a bit of milk) as this was a very delicate bean. I have never tasted anything quite like it. The day before I had the single draw from El Salvador has a Picallo and came back for another later in the day.

The Brekkie Greens with two poached eggs and pulled ham was excellent. The place is small so first grab a table, ideally outside, and look at a menu, then order at the coffee bar. Everything we have tried so far has been fresh and delicious.

Best of Byron.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveandpeace47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    123
    29
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden off the main drag”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Did my research on this one and it didn't disappoint.. What a find. Had two coffees it was so good and the poached rhubarb and pear muesli : )
Am going back for lunch can't wait, get off the Main Street you won't be disappointed

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleVickiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice location food&drinks”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Every day happy our from 4 til 6 pm. Nice salades. Location is in the mainstreet towards the beach. The have heating outside when it gets colder in the evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelbeer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place but a bit of a let down the second time”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Was in Byron for a fabulous 4 day break. Had the breaky greens and I was heaven. I am a bit of a foodie and so I documented what was in it to make the same at home. Sadly two days later I returned to have the same dish and at 12pm the ingredients were vastly different. Half the things missing and in fact all I received was a plate of greens with a few token bits and pieces. Come on guys, get some consistency going. You can't do that and expect people to be ok with it. Coffee terrific A+++, staff lovely, as is the place itself but need to get the meals the same each time. Sorry... very poor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucylovesMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Tried chia seed porridge for first time...and delicious !!! Came with fresh berries, nuts and yoghurt. Service could not of been better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SasianX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay Leaf Cafe also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Bay Leaf Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing