We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Bayhaven Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayhaven Lodge
Ranked #8 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Bayhaven Lodge offers a great location to stay in Byron Bay that is reasonably priced. You can walk into the centre of Byron in just a few minutes and there is plenty of on-road unlimited parking in the immediate vicinity (on site parking is available for some of the rooms). The Lodge is nice and quiet and the fittings/furnishings are of a high quality. The room and Lodge were very clean. We stayed in a garden view room which was not a spacious sized room but it was well appointed and more than ample sized for our two night stay. Free WIFI was also available. We would recommend this accommodation for both price, comfort and location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johnathan_Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi Jonathan_Nicola, thanks very much for sharing your experiences with the rest of the world. The location in regards to township is one of the most highlighted feedbacks we get, as guests are surprised on how close we are. Thank you for highlighting our parking arrangements. With the Deluxe and Garden Suites we offer on-street parking, with the Superior and Grand suites we do offer off street parking. If you have any questions phone us direct. We do hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    58
    25
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
143
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The rooms were modern and very comfortable. The location was great as it was close to everything, literally within walking distance of the best Byron has to offer. My Mother & I had been able to experience the best of Byron with thanks to the on-site owners of Bayhaven Lodge who sat down and explained where to go as well as the best spots usually kept on the lowdown.

Overall a great experience, if I had to pin-point on thing I could report being unhappy with it would only have to be the Wi-Fi connection at the time, which I'm sure is an easy fix.

Thank you Bayhaven Lodge and see you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lacynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayhavenlodge, Owner at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2016
Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to let other travelers know what we have on offer here at Bayhaven Lodge. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with my husband for my Birthday. Located on a quiet street only a few hundred metres walk from the main restaurants, bars and shops. Rooms are really well presented and have everything you need. Gary checked us in and gave us loads of info on things to see and do. Try Fish Heads for seafood or Il Buco for Italian! Would recommend Bayhaven Lodge for couples :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mpap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Mpap,
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. Thrilled you had lovely birthday. We endeavour to give as much help and information about what to do in the Bay. Thanks for the photo looks great.
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Amazing place to stay! My sister & I booked in for a couple of nights on our way up the coast. The rooms were beautifully laid out & had every thing we needed. The staff couldn't do enough & were constantly on hand for all our needs. It is perfectly situated close to both the shops & beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel & will return again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayhavenlodge, Owner at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2016
Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to let other travelers know what we have on offer here at Bayhaven Lodge. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Second time at the Bayhaven. Great location close to city center and beach, nice rooms, easy street parking. The only downsides were the cost and if there are other guests it can get quite noisy. If you can find a special rate on Wotif then this is a great deal.

I ended up getting very sick during this visit and was bedridden for two days, staying one unplanned day at the bayhaven. Summer was very helpful in terms of accommodating my needs and helping me out. Thank you Summer!

Cheers,

JJ

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Jonathan. Glad you had a pleasant stay even in the circumstances. We are thrilled to see returning guests enjoy their time with us as much as the first. We do have some great deals all year round for everyone.
Hope you visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed in the grand suite, and there was nothing grand about it. The area has no privacy and whilst flicking through the TV channels I saw my self on TV. YES the room had a camera in and so did the other areas.
We could have been recorded naked or worse. We were not informed of the camera and presume others in the house were not. We had to check our bedroom.
Will not stay again, and don't think you can use the cooker if you stay less than 7 nights, yes pay $900.00 and can't cook. PATHETIC

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for the Review, however we would like to point out that Security Camera are not in Rooms but in all SHARED/COMMON areas for the protection of guests and staff. It is stated in all websites, including our own, and welcome booklet that there are security camera in these areas.
There are basic food preparations in the Grand and Superior suite available.There is microwave and fridge at all times. Again clearly stated that unless staying 7 or more nights fully cooking facilities(oven and hobs) will not be made for full use. We would like to point out that this gentleman did stay for less than 5 days in our most luxurious suite.
We are pleased he liked our location and rated us highly for our cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This bed and breakfast was lovely, with nice furnishings but the rooms were rather small and the amenities were minimal. There is little storage for luggage and no room fridge, cooking facilities, not even hand towels. But the rooms are clean and cozy. Only major complaint is that the rooms aren't very sound proof. The hotel us located right next to town and is close to the beach. We were hoping to use the spa and kitchen facilities but these were only allowed for the superior guests.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alainavarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Alainavarr. Thank you for the review on our Guest lodge. Sorry that you felt the Deluxe was small, this is our most affordable room. We do have more spacious rooms at Bayhaven. The Garden and Deluxe Suite do have a Shared fridge available for use in the Sun room. The Grand and 2 Superior Rooms have basic food preparation however if guests in these room were staying longing than 7 nights only then full cooking would be use to them.
Thanks again and we hope you have safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
334 reviews
2.2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#20 of 32 in Byron Bay
163 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cape Beach House
The Cape Beach House
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayhaven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayhaven Lodge

Property: Bayhaven Lodge
Address: 16 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayhaven Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within a very comfortable 150 metre stroll to the heart of town and adjacent to ‘The Wreck,’ one of Byron's most famous surf breaks, Bay Haven Lodge is a fully renovated and modernised traditional whaler's cottage. It is the only one of its kind offering guest accommodation in Byron Bay and a must see for those in search of a relaxing and memorable holiday. Set in a brilliant location, it is the closest B&B to Byron's buzzing town centre and stunning beaches so there's really no need to bring the car! This beautifully appointed property has warmth, character and charm, with a fresh, modern and relaxed feel. We have a range of Suites to cater for everyone’s budget, starting from the more affordable Deluxe Suites and Garden Suites through to the further appointed and spacious Superior Suites, ultimately with our best being the magnificent Grand Suite, all featuring beautiful décor with eye-catching prints by local artists, ensuites with choice of showerheads and tea and coffee making facilities. They also contain all the modern fixtures one would expect, including reverse cycle air conditioning, remote control ceiling fans, dimmable down lighting, large mirrors, 3D compatible LCD screen TVs and DVD players with MP3 connection. The lodge has an expansive north-facing sunroom that has been converted into a communal guest area for Garden and Deluxe Suite guests to enjoy, with comfortable lounge suites and a large shared guest fridge. A fantastic area to simply sit, unwind and enjoy a good book. The wall-to-wall bi-fold doors of the sunroom open onto a tranquil, Balinese-style garden where you can enjoy a BBQ, lounge by the water feature, savour a morning coffee or just relax in peace and soak up the romantic tropical atmosphere. The Garden Suites have the added luxury of their own French doors opening onto the sunroom, offering direct access and views to the gardens. Indulge in a glass of red by the water feature or relax in your own room and gaze at the dimly lit garden. At Bay Haven Lodge we aim to provide a slice of the Bay’s traditional tranquillity in true character of the property itself, with all the wonderful benefits Byron has to offer, literally at your doorstep. Bay Haven’s owner has been a Byron Bay resident for 25 years and can provide great firsthand advice on local tours, culture, scenic sites, markets, activities and eateries. He can also point you in the direction of the best beaches, surf breaks and snorkelling spots, all within a 3 minute stroll from our front door!The Superior SuiteModern suite located in our newly completed extensions, the Superior Suite features square-set ceilings, polished spotted gum floorboards, Ensuite with choice of shower heads, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote controlled ceiling fan, dimmable down lighting, large mirrors, hanging space, 32 inch compatible LCD screen TV, Blu-ray DVD with MP3 connection and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bayhaven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Haven Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing