We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for an upmarket self-service apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Royal Apartments
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great choice for an upmarket self-service apartment”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at a first floor two bedroom apartment which we found to be well appointed, modern, and clean with all the facilities that our small group (two couples) required for our short stay.

Location on the beachfront was great and very close to all shops and restaurants without being in the middle of town. The only problem was an all-night party on a Friday night at the park across the road which made sleeping rather difficult in the front bedroom of the apartment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank geodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    27
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
darlinghurst
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here as part of a group of 10 women - booked apartment 1a/b & 8. They were next door, and 1a/b was a "penthouse" over three levels with a fab roof top terrace. Unfortunately due the weather we did not get to enjoy it!! Each apartment slept 5 comfortably in separate beds.
Everything was in walking distance - great restaurants, beach, lighthouse, shops etc.
Apartments were very clean and well stocked.

Room Tip: Spend the $$$$ and book the Penthouse Apartment 1a&1b
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My family of 4 stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at Bay Royal for the easter Hols. What a delightful place and convenient location just across the road from the beach. Because the managers don't live on site it is free for all after 8.00pm. The first night we stayed we were kept awake until 2.30am with about 30 people partying in the next door apartment. We called the police twice but they were a no show. We complained the next day and the matter was delt with. Because there is a car park across the road from the apartments the backpackers come out after dark and camp for free in the carpark and they all stay up until at least 2.00 - 3.00am in the morning. They don't care how much noise they make and don't care how late it is. No one inforces them to move on because they are so valueable to the economy in Byron. What a shame because the apartments are clean, neat and the pool, BBQ area and tennis court are all well maintained. If you could pick this resort up and move it to a back street it would be perfect as it is central to everything.
Byron Bay has so much to offer with trendy cafes to fine dining restaurants. Street performers, markets, boutiques, surf shops etc etc. It is like driving into a time capsule, I've never seen so many combi vans in one location, it brought back soo many memories of growing up. Our young kids just loved the experience. As for the backpackers in vans, they really need to come up with a solutions where as the cheap traveller doesn't spoil the likes of the luxury traveller. Final bit of advice stay somewhere off the main drag.

Room Tip: All rooms are located on a busy corner opposite car parks so all noisy thanks to the pack packers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mundubbera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Absolutely loved spending the night here, on the last night of our honeymoon. We stayed in a one bedrooom apartment on the ground floor. We walked in and it was just 'wow'. we paid a standby rate and it was still a bit more than we would usually spend, but it was definitely worth it. It was so modern, spacey, just loved it. Had everything you could need. we had a great big courtyard. We used the pool which was lovely and reception were very friendly. would love to go back for our anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytimes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Clean, well designed, great location and views. Only issue can be the noise from the park/beachfront if people decide to party or play music in their cars. Worth staying all the same. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadlerij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Family of 6 stayed in room number 1 for 6 days. We all had a great time in Byron and in the apartment, we loved the fact the the apartments were so close to everything (literally across from the beach and 2 minute walk until you hit the main road!) however there were a few things that could have been improved upon our stay. The kitchen had many appliances but it was lacking in regular casserole dishes, so we had to improvise and we had to buy all of our food as the apartment didn't contain even the basics. There were also a few appliances that seemed as though they were not cleaned before we arrived. The rooms were very comfortable however the kids complained as they were woken in the morning due to the noise of others and although the windows in their rooms had blinds, a light that was situated right outside was kept on during the night. On our last two nights we were kept up by backpackers parked across the road (although there is a law that they are not allowed to be there during specific times) they were very rowdy and played music throughout the night and continuously smashed bottles on the road. I know this is not the apartments fault, it's just a heads up. The teenagers were forever entertained with everything that was on offer. The management supplies tennis rackets and balls for anyone to play with and there is a $2 movie hire at the reception which we used.
Altogether we had a great stay at these apartments except for the things I have mentioned. However, if we returned to Byron we would look for other places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtraveller2495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

www.bayroyal.com.au

We stayed at apartment no. 11. The charges are high for a non-serviced apartment.
The position is good but this apartment (not sure about others in the building) really needs updating. Very dark and not serviced unless you stay over one week. The bed linen (doona cover) is never changed from tenant to tenant I was told by one of the staff - it should be changed for every occupancy. This is not acceptable for "luxury" accommodation. We had to have the two bedrooms thoroughly cleaned due to the amount of dust which contributed to bouts of hayfever.
I will be looking at Jades on Lawson for my next stay - really amazing apartments just behind Bay Royal.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayview Beachfront Apartments
0.0 mi away
The Terraces
The Terraces
#25 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Byron Bay Beachfront Apartments
0.1 mi away
Beach Bure Byron Bay
Beach Bure Byron Bay
#36 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#17 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Apartments

Property: Bay Royal Apartments
Address: 24 - 28 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bay Royal Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Royal Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing