We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”
Review of Nomads Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nomads Byron Bay
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hostel is in a great location, and has a fantastic atmosphere! Staying in a private room I was pleasantly surprised. The room rivalled a lot of hotels at a much better price: spacious, clean, balcony, air con, and hotel amenities. If you're travelling solo, I'd strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbsaxby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    148
    78
    41
    39
See reviews for
6
61
107
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Nomads has a great buzz of energy and it was full to the brim.

The kitchen was well equiped as was the lounge & tv area. The shower rooms were large and there was never a que.

Perfect location and ideal for meeting new people as it is so busy. I stayed in a mixed dorm and although the corridors & rooms were noisy at night, its what you expect for the price.

It was, however, too busy for me so I moved to the YMCA hostel around the corner, which was abit shabbier but also more relaxed and chilled out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifitrix_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We (couple in our 20s) stayed here for two nights...

Good
- Location is right in the centre, can't get better than that!
- Facilities are good, decent kitchen, nice big lounge with an outside area, with a hot tub! Nice!
- You can BYOB!!
- It's a great location to start a night out, make sure you head to Cheeky Monkeys!

Bad
- If you want a party hostel, this is it. Which means you take the good with the bad, so you'll get people wrecking the bathrooms, there'll be vomit and people blundering into your room at 4am. I'd recommend a decent set of earplugs if you want to get some sleep.
- Our A/C unit was broken the first night.
- It's expensive, for what it is, but then again BB is one of the most expensive places in Australia

If you're looking to meet friends and go out for some nights on the town, this'll serve well as a crashpad

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a double esuite bed room. We had our own tv and fridge, the room was very clean and parking was included. The hostel is quite noisy and the kitchen is a quite dirty. Our room was quite isolated from all the noise which was quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chat79a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed over the June long weekend, in a four bed ensuite dorm. The room was amazing for a hostel, we had a brand new bathroom and a balcony. The room had just been refurbished and was looking a million bucks!! Great party atmosphere!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loverlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

In summary: location is phenomenal (two bottle shops, Aldi right next door), staff were great, rooms excellent.

I stayed at Nomads Byron Bay for one night with a group of 10 people. I stayed in the 6 dorm room with ensuite with 4 other people. We wanted the ensuite as it was mostly girls staying in the room and we wanted our own space, etc. If I stayed there again I would get the ensuite again most likely.

Didn't see the shared shower facilities, but the shared bathrooms were really clean.

There was a great common area on the same level we were staying on (Level 1). There are big tables with benches to sit around on and play drinking games etc.

The night we stayed there (Friday) they had a DJ playing from 7pm which was really good plus dinner (sausages, onion, bread) for $3! It was quite busy and everyone seemed really friendly.

They had club promoters come and give us free entry to Cocomangas and a free drink which was good

The location is probably the best you could ask for with two bottle shops and ALDI right next door and the bets places to go out (e.g. Cheeky Monkeys) a 2-5 min walk. This meant we spent $0 on Taxis.

They have a great jacuzzi!

Already planning our next Byron trip with more people and are planning to stay two nights at Nomads.

If you are after a great time with excellent rooms and staff stay here!

Only con: when I called up the guy on the phone said we would have to pay for the extra bed in the 6 dorm share room (even though there was only 5 of us?) and we would have to pay $200 bond! This turned us off a bit. When we got there though we paid $32 each for a bed and weren't asked for bond. So in all we were extremely happy.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ensuite are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire_S_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hostel really wasn't my thing and I wouldn't stay again but that's just because it's not the sort of backpackers I tend to stay at. I prefer smaller places that have a bit more of an atmosphere.

It's great if you're staying in a group and want somewhere central to stay and party in Byron but for me it was overpriced, too big and impersonal. Staff seemed nice enough but I didn't like having to pay for luggage storage, wifi etc

To be fair I didn't stay long at all and it was raining the whole time so that might bias my opinion. Other people seem to have had a great time so it depends what you're after.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alellis441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#28 of 66 in Byron Bay
177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#7 of 66 in Byron Bay
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#16 of 66 in Byron Bay
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Byron Bay Hotel & Apartments
Byron Bay Hotel & Apartments
#13 of 66 in Byron Bay
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.3 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#19 of 66 in Byron Bay
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Byron Bay

Property: Nomads Byron Bay
Address: 1 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Nomads Odyssey)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Byron Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is the winner of the North Coast Tourism Awards 2010 for Best Backpackers Accommodation. This is Byron Bay’s newest premiere backpackers/flashpackers. Opened in March 2009, Nomads Byron is located just minutes from the stunning main beach behind the iconic Great Northern Hotel.This brand-new property offers a variety of dorms and en suite private rooms. Facilities include our Mad Travel Shop, a sun-drenched courtyard with two 12-seater spas, a fully equipped kitchen, Global Gossip internet, a BBQ, balcony views and a TV lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nomads Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing