We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hostel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nomads Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads Byron Bay
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Brilliant Hostel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Me and my partner have just traveled up the east coast of Australia and we chose to stay with Nomads the whole way from Sydney to Cairns.

This hostel was by far the best :). We were in a private room which was very spacious and clean, we had a king bed, TV, fridge, outdoor area and good air-con.

There was live entertainment and it was overall a great atmosphere to have a few drinks and meet some other travelers. Its located right in the middle of town...2 minute walk from the beach and bars.

The staff were awesome with their local knowledge and like every Nomads they had a good travel desk selling cheap tours as well.

I highly recommend to stay here!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    144
    74
    40
    36
See reviews for
6
59
95
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I had to book a night in here as my friends and I decided to extend our stay in Byron Bay and Nomads was the only place that had beds left on the Saturday night. They are pretty pricey compared to some of the hostels, but as a last resort I put up with the price.
Arriving at the hostel, I was impressed with the modern-looking lobby and heading up to the room, the corridors were similarly decorated. Looks, however, are not everything. There were some vomit stains on the floor, and though they had been cleaned, they still looked unattractive.
The bathrooms here were a little odd, they had one for both genders and one exclusively for females (us men like our privacy too!) The bathroom was very hot and smelly as the window was broken, there were tissues strewn across the floor and a sink was blocked. Maybe it was bad timing on my part with it being a Saturday night, but bathrooms should be kept to a better standard.
The 10-bed dorm was very average and the beds were rickety and squeaky though comfortable one settled in. There is absolutely nothing being done in the hostel about the enforcement of the rules regarding noise and alcohol in rooms. When I entered my room, hoping to read a little before sleeping, as the main common area was closed, people were playing music loudly and drinking. Eventually they left to go out, but returned a couple of times in the night, turning lights on and shouting to each other in spite of other guests trying to sleep. People could also be heard in the corridors at various times of the night. If the hostel is going to put the posters up banning such behaviour, then it should be prepared to follow though with punishment.
The location of the hostel is great for people wanting to go nightclubbing as you can hear the music from the nearest club from just outside the lobby and the hostel is teeming with party people. Otherwise, I'd recommend looking elsewhere for a more peaceful (and probably cheaper) hostel in the area.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the end of a corridor, the walk is far, but you'll be away from the noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Billy P,

Thank you for your candid review. I apologise that your stay was not what you expected it to be and also that we did not have male only bathroom facilities.

As you suggest it is a large hostel which is very busy on a Saturday night, as such we can have up to a couple of hundred people using certain bathrooms in the hostel. We do have staff members working at all hours of the day and night to clean and maintain all of our bathrooms facilities.

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding monitor our noise policies. We do also have staff that monitor the hallways to move people on that are hanging around to minimise disturbing other guests and once again I apologise if you were disturbed by other guests making noise.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We paid $190 per night for the 'king deluxe' room with ensuite and as soon as we walked in we regretted our decision to stay with nomads.

Here's a few reasons why we won't be coming back.

1, It was dirty. The carpet, the utensils and even the walls were stained and grotty. Worst of all though was that there was a blood stain on our bedding (we didn't notice until the second morning after the cover slipped off the top of the doona.)

2, The room was tiny. The king bed takes up the whole room. It's so cramped you can't fully open the wardrobe door.

3, It's Noisy. I know it's a backpackers, but the noise is ridiculous. All the doors are heavy and slam loudly. Every time someone enters or exits any room, anywhere in the building, you will hear it. Also, lots of street noise and loud music.

4, Annoying to access. The lift doesn't go to the underground car park, so if you're not travelling light you'll need to lug all your bags up several flights of stairs to your room.

In short, do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewmurphy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear andrewmurphy97,

I am certainly disappointed to read your review and I apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations.

I am shocked to read your comments, as this is the first I have heard of your negative experience. I would strongly suggest that if you are not satisfied with anything during your stay to discuss it with reception and / or management while you are here. This way we can make the necessary changes to ensure you enjoy your experience with us.

Please feel free to contact me directly through the hostel if you would like to discuss your stay in more detail with me.

Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This is a great hostel. Very clean rooms and good size communal areas. I would stay here again. The only negative would be as a solo traveller I think the smaller hostels are better, saying that a still met people. Awesome place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AMB8410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Me and a few friends spent a couple of nights in the hostel and were very impressed with how clean it was. The rooms were plenty big enough and the kitchen had excellent facilities, although the electric jobs took a little getting used to. The bathrooms at the hostel are shared, so all cubicles. The toilets and showers are separate and there are separate female toilets for those uncomfortable producing scents for others to share...we did have a little mis-hap with our booking in that one of us wasn't actually booked into the hostel for one of the nights, although we did make a booking for 4 over the phone, but this was sorted quickly and they even moved us all into one room, which we were told we couldn't do at first over the phone because the rooms were fully booked. The hostel is also in a very good location, central and has an ALDI store behind it,which is very handy for backpackers, who are on a limited budget. All in all a very good hostel, would recommend 100%

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I are backpacking Australia and south east Asia and will review all hostels comparatively speaking. We use trip advisor before booking anywhere and will be 100% transparent and genuine in our reviews in order to help provide you with factual information in our interpretation of what this particular hostel is like.

We stayed in nomads for 1 night before moving 5 minutes walk to 'holiday village resort' (due to availability)

First and foremost the location is perfect, a stones throw away from everything a backpacker needs.

Wifi is free in the reception area but signal isn't great; in fact signal strength is pretty awful everywhere in Byron.

Rooms: we had a balcony which looked out into the mains trip, air con had no problems and the bathroom looked fairly clean considering we has a full dorm. The rooms had small lockers for valuables (need your own padlock).

Kitchen: they were hot on it in the kitchen making sure every person cleaned up after themselves which is what you want from a hostel. Everything was clean and tidy and incidentally had a nice balcony you could sit out on to eat.

The hostel as a whole has a party party vibe to it, the evening times everyone sits out on the great communal area and drinks their goon before getting kicked out at 10:30 to the bars and surf clubs.

Overall we had a good stay here and would recommend to anyone that stays in the fantastic Byron bay! Stay in Byron for longer than you plan to. Trust me.

Summary-

Pros-
• Rooms spacious and clean
• location couldn't be better

Cons-
• wifi isn't great
• if you don't want to party you might not like it, but it's easily avoidable
• storage area for bags whilst waiting for check in could be more secure.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeansinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed in Nomads Byron in mid December and found that the hostel was clean and that the rooms were simple and modern and smelt clean. This is a relatively new hostel and so it definitely is in much better condition than a lot of others. It is in a great location just off of the main street and close to the beach. We did not have our own shower and toilet but there were some available on the floor with about 5 showers and toilets, plus some separate disabled ones and I can't say that i ever had to wait for one. Kitchen was small(ish) and a lot cleaner than some hostels, they also had a large eating/drinking area and hot tub.

The wifi was a let down for me. Whilst travelling free wifi is important and something that sways me to book somewhere. You could only use it downstairs in reception and even then it was not a simple process to login. I don't know why they can't just password protect it and bobs your uncle. This is Nomad's all over Australia, not just this one.

Overall great place but it isn't the cheapest...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#5 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#22 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
#42 of 64 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Byron Bay

Property: Nomads Byron Bay
Address: 1 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Nomads Odyssey)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Byron Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is the winner of the North Coast Tourism Awards 2010 for Best Backpackers Accommodation. This is Byron Bay’s newest premiere backpackers/flashpackers. Opened in March 2009, Nomads Byron is located just minutes from the stunning main beach behind the iconic Great Northern Hotel.This brand-new property offers a variety of dorms and en suite private rooms. Facilities include our Mad Travel Shop, a sun-drenched courtyard with two 12-seater spas, a fully equipped kitchen, Global Gossip internet, a BBQ, balcony views and a TV lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing