We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no ventilation”
Review of Nomads Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nomads Byron Bay
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“no ventilation”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

we stayed in the king room for $150 a night and unfortunately the window had been sealed shut and we could not have any fresh air. This was made worse when the exhaust in the bathroom was not working and the only fresh air came from a enclosed corridor. we really didn't expect much but is it even legal not to have a window?
we were very disappointed and will never stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sophie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear sophie l,

Thank you for your review. I was obviously disappointed to read your comments and I apologise that the stay did not meet your expectations.

We do have a variety of King rooms which are different styles, some have the circular windows such as the room you stayed in and others have full opening doors with balcony's. Different people do have difference preferences and once again I apologise if you found your room uncomfortable.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    146
    78
    41
    39
See reviews for
6
61
103
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I first visited this hostel three years ago and thought it was brilliant. It was clean, modern and with some great staff. Sadly on returning it appears to be run down and run by a team of young, immature staff with the main goal of getting you to go out and get drunk every night. It's as though a bunch of young nightclub reps have been let loose managing a hostel.

The noise is terrible with shouting / screaming in the corridor at 3am midweek seeming standard. The staff are fully aware of this (see the managers responses to other reviews) yet it seems that no effort is taken to manage this. In many ways it's of their own making as staff appear instructed to literally whip guests up into an excited drunken frenzy from 7pm every night.

The staff manning the front desk seem very fake and in my experience fairly unhelpful. They seem to spend more time on their mobile phones, flirting with random local men or discussing hangovers than helping guests. We felt sorry for the girl running the travel desk as she seems genuinely lovely but is left working with some pretty irritating reception staff.

Considering the many reviews complaining about noise I do not understand why security staff are not used to control behaviour late at night. It would be so simple to solve yet is almost deliberately neglected by their lack of any attempt to tackle this.

Personally I'm sad the vibe has changed so much here and would avoid this hostel but if you do stay remember to pack ear plugs! For such a chilled out and awesome location, the vibe at this hostel is more Ibiza than Byron Bay. This hostel has much potential but for now I'd sadly give it a miss.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wacko_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karine B, Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear wacko_1983,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Nomads Byron Bay.

I apologise if your stay was not what you expected it to be and I also apologise that you were disturbed by noise during the evening.

I am not sure which response/s you are referring to when you mention to read the responses to other reviews, however I would like to clarify that we are a hostel that caters towards youth travelers. As such, we do have staff that run activities such as light house walks, pool competitions etc. and they also take people down to local bars each evening when our common areas close at 10pm. We do this to take people out of the hostel that wish to party so they don't disturb other guests that choose to sleep or have a quiet night.

We do not allow drinking or partying in the hostel after 10pm. We also have staff, including contracted security that patrol the corridors of the hostel to monitor this.

wacko_1983 once again thank you for writing a review, if you would like to provide further details please do not hesitate to contact me, I would appreciate the opportunity to get further clarification on your comments.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Great hostel, nice and clean with great staff. The facilities are good, tv room with a selection of DVDs and plentiful areas (indoor and out) for socialising with friends and other guests, including as organised events each night by the hostel.

I ignored the reviews commenting on the hostel being noises, partly because that tends to come with the territory of hostels and knowing I'm infact a very deep sleeper. However, there's only so much noise you can sleep through, unfortunately parties in the corridor isn't one on the list. With this in mind though it wasn't always the noise of the parties that woke me up, but often the shouting of angry guests trying to sleep.

This hostel really is ideal for those looking to be out till 3am. I'd come back with friends, but only with the intention to party all night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Karen N,

Thank you for your candid review!

I am pleased that you enjoyed the hostel and staff, however I was obviously disappointed to read that you were kept awake by noise in the corridors. We certainly do not allow party's or gatherings in our corridors and we do not allow socialising in the hostel after 10pm.

We do have staff that monitor this through-out the evenings so I am honestly apologetic that on the night you stayed this incident was not stopped as soon as it started.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in Australia!

Kind regards,
Sam B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed in a 10 person dorm and the room was adequate and clean. The bathrooms were very nice and always clean. The location of the hostel is great, just off the high street and a few minutes walk to the beach. The only downside is it was always very noisy from other guests and music. if you want a quiet and peaceful stay i wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Alex R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Nomads Byron Bay and thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I apologise that you were disturbed by other guests making noise and playing music. We now have strict procedures in place to ensure that there is no socialising or partying in the hostel after 10pm.

I am pleased that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in future.

Kind regards,
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here recently in a king room with an ensuite. There wasn't much room for anything apart from the bed! The ensuite was a good size however a little shabby looking. The shower leaked water all over the bathroom and the tiles was grubby. The walls were also quite thin and you could hear everything going on in the corridors and nearby rooms. The noise from outside was worse. The room was right above a drive through and there was a consistency of traffic and deliveries right through the night until the early hours of the morning. I won't be booking this hotel again and I won't be recommending it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacelm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear stacelm69,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Nomads Byron Bay.

I apologise that the condition of your room was not up to standard, I will certainly be discussing your comments the with Housekeeping and Maintenance Managers to ensure that they amend their procedures to ensure we do not receive feedback such as this in future.

Thank you again for your review and please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to provide further details.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Book the king bed room with private bathroom. Exceeded expectations for a backpacker/hostel. Clean, spacious with clean, comfy bed. There's a fridge, tv, and kettle etc. Not that we needed it but good to have. Room looks fairly new. There was a loud knock on our door one night but after that it was quiet, guess being at the very end of the corridor helps. I can imagine dorms being noisy at night though, especially close to the game/lounge room. Overall, happy with stay and will book again.

Room Tip: Get the room with private bathroom if you are willing to pay $45 per person per night. So worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chifufunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear chifufunie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Nomads Byron Bay and thank you for taking the time to review your stay!

I am pleased that your expectations were exceeded and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed there with my 3 friends for only one night (Saturday) and the noise was very loud carrying on past 12am. There was random knocking on our doors throughout the night and the wifi in the lobby wasn't working. The location is right in the middle of town and the showers were hot and strong water pressure

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Racheath,

Thank you for your review.

I apologise that you were disturbed by other guests during your stay, we do have staff monitoring the corridors of an evening to move on people making noise, so once again I apologise for any inconvenience caused to you.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#19 of 65 in Byron Bay
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#27 of 65 in Byron Bay
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Byron Bay

Property: Nomads Byron Bay
Address: 1 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Nomads Odyssey)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Byron Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is the winner of the North Coast Tourism Awards 2010 for Best Backpackers Accommodation. This is Byron Bay’s newest premiere backpackers/flashpackers. Opened in March 2009, Nomads Byron is located just minutes from the stunning main beach behind the iconic Great Northern Hotel.This brand-new property offers a variety of dorms and en suite private rooms. Facilities include our Mad Travel Shop, a sun-drenched courtyard with two 12-seater spas, a fully equipped kitchen, Global Gossip internet, a BBQ, balcony views and a TV lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nomads Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing