We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary Indulgence”
Review of Garden Burees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden Burees
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the wonderful Garden Burees for 3 nights for our 20th wedding anniversary and we can't speak highly enough of the room, the service, or location. All excellent. It was the perfect place for such a short stay as we spent most of our time in Byron and it was so close to the shops and restaurants ,but far enough away as to be very quiet at night. Loved the cinema next door and the Brewery for a drink afterwards. Found it just by Google searching "couples/romance" accommodation and it was perfect - and perfect price too. Will DEFINITELY be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Athena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Athena,
We are completely delighted that you soaked up everything that the burees has to offer and especially on such a fantastic occasion. Happy 20th wedding anniversary and see you in the near future for another indulgence. what a lovely review...thank you - Simone Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Four friends & I just returned home ( 16th June 2014) after a stay in the Grande Buree & I miss the place already. Prior to our trip I spent countless hours searching on the internet for 3 bedroom accommodation that would give us a unique Byron Bay experience but nothing showed up that appealed to me. Luckily the Australia edition of the Lonely Planet Guide steered me towards the Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge which had a link under "Funky Abodes" to the Garden Burees. I was looking for somewhere special to celebrate my 40th birthday & boy did I get it! I hadn't told my friends where we were staying & they fell in love with the place as soon as they saw it too. Three of my friends have been to Bali & they assured me that this was the next best thing. The Garden Burees are situated a short distance from the CBD (less than a 10 minute walk with high heels on while carrying a 6 pack of alcohol) & yet we felt like we were in our own private paradise. We were able to put the outside spa to use despite it being Winter (which is unheard of when you live in Victoria). We spent far more time in the Grande Buree than we had planned because it was so beautiful and relaxing. One of my friends loved the fact that bath robes were provided. The champagne and Byron Bay Cookies were a nice touch too. We hardly heard any noise from other guests in the Garden Burees or the Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge which is close by. Might take the husband next time!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Nicola, it is so great to hear that you had a great time for your 40th in The Grande Buree. It is a very unique and special place and we are over the moon that you found us. The Bathrobes are very fluffy! We really look forward to seeing you again with your Hubby, please do not forget to call directly for your return guest discount - Simone Phillips :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the garden burees and really enjoyed our stay. The location was great, short walk to the beach and local shops. The hubby and I felt very refreshed and calmed after our visit and plan on coming back soon. The burees were everything we wanted for a weekend away and the owners were lovely, leaving us to enjoy our private weekend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sashia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you Sashia for your review on your stay in a Garden Buree. They are very cute and it is wonderful to hear how much you both had a relaxing and fun stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back - Simone Phillips ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

My hubby and I headed down to Byron Bay for a quick getaway from Brisbane. Booked into Garden Burees through hotelclub since they had a deal for an extra 12% off. We stayed in the Galeria buree, which was lovely and relaxing, rustic beachy style reminded me of the old bachs in New Zealand. Bed was comfy, shower was warm with good pressure, it was a bit cold but the heater supplied fixed that. There was supposed to be free wifi but we couldn't get our modem to work (I'm sure that would have been rectified of we had been bothered to talk to the manager). All in all, a good stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank knordstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

What a beautiful review on your stay in The Gallery Studio, I looked up the old bachs in New Zealand and there is definitely a similar look. I had never seen them before. Happy Travels and thank you for reviewing us - Simone Phillips :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great value for money close to the Byron main hub . We will be back :) rooms had attention to detail ,beautifully decorated .The garden & surrounds reminded us of being in Bali but without the chaos .we stayed in the Birdsong - 2 bedroom 2 double bed accomadation .The kitchen was full size & modern .The enclosed private patio area is beautiful complete with outdoor dinning table ,lounge & sun lounges . This is a great getaway for couples / friends & families with various accomadation set ups . The Backpaker village located adjacent was a friendly noise of laughter & gauitar ...... We can't wait to return :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fruitfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

It makes our day to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in Birdsong Hideaway. The decor is beautiful and we always like to see locals staying in Byron, it's so close to Coffs Harbour. Thank you for your review - Simone Phillips :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I love the Garden Burees and I've stayed in the beautiful big Grand Buree twice, once with my partner and 2 other couples and just recently we had a fun girls weekend there. It's an amazing Bali-inspired house with a private garden and outdoor entertaining area and is perfect for families or groups of friends (as it sleeps 7). The outdoor spa pool is exactly how I like it - hot! For our girl's weekend we spent most of our time in the spa, had beautiful treatments next door at the Buddha Garden Day Spa and enjoyed the awesome food spots in town, especially Asia Joe's behind the pub. I'm a regular to Byron and have stayed in various places, but The Garden Burees is my fave. Next time I go back there, if I'm just with my partner, we'll stay in one of the other rooms suitable for just 2 ... but I'm gonna miss that spa pool!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you Tracey for your gorgeous review on your stay in The Grande Buree. I think you need to try out Dragonfly's Rest next time with the wonderful clawfoot bath under the stars. I look forward to seeing you again soon - Simone Phillips :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Three girlfriends and I recently stayed at the Grande Burees at Garden Burees and had a fabulous weekend. We spent a large part of the time in the hot/cold plunge pool and enjoying the surrounds with wine in hand. Although Byron Bay is so beautiful and there was so much to do, every time we ventured out into the town, I was excited to come back. The decor is stunning and the service is second to none. We'll be back as soon as possible :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Grande Burees - it was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

It was so great to have the 3 of you stay in The Grande Buree over your girls weekend away from your hectic schedules in Brisbane and happy to hear you made good use of the plunge pool. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Burees - Simone Phillips :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
196 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hibiscus Motel
Hibiscus Motel
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Burees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Burees

Address: 17 Gordon St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £106 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Burees 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-Energise, Kick Back and Chill Out at The Garden Burees Byron BayEscape to a lush wonderland and immerse your senses with a cozy and unique array of accommodation styles that suits all occasions and budgets. From individuals wanting time to reflect, to the hopeless romantics and not to mention get togethers with family or your partners in crime, each individual retreat sings it's own song. From the luxury of our 2 storey Grand Buree to the chic and edgy self contained hideaways or the balinese inspired bungalows, the Burees will have a style that will suit your needs. This tucked away treasure, nestled in tropical surrounds is only a short stroll (10 minutes) to the famous beaches, shops, markets and restaurants of Byron. Located next door to The Garden Burees is a treasure trove of enjoyment with The Buddha Gardens Day Spa, The Iconic Arts Factory Lodge, The Arthouse Lounge Cinema and Byron Bay Brewery. Whatever the pleasure....................... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Burees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing