We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Bay Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Beach Motel
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Bay Beach Motel is good enough for the price - and everywhere is very expensive in Byron Bay. The rooms are cosy in size and some of the fittings are a little worn. It is very convenient to the beach and the main strip of Byron and the staff are very helpful. Fine to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeaceLoveBratwurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just to get the negatives out of the way first (and like most tripadvisor reviews, focusing on minor annoyances):
- the taps in both bathrooms took an almighty effort to turn off to stop a constant dripping
- construction site next door (not their fault and soon to be finished as the town library)
I struggled with an average versus very good rating. Why? I'm not sure. We really enjoyed our stay. The position is great, close to beach, town, and lighthouse. Perhaps because it wasn't cheap - but then it was in line with Australian motel prices, and Byron is an expensive place to stay.
We stayed in an apartment with one double and a one two-bunk bedroom. The kitchen was clean, well provided, and had a good eating space. The bright and comfortable lounge room was on a corner with a great view up the main street to the hills.
The rooms were unobtrusively cleaned and freshened every day with a comprehensive attention to detail.
It is on the main street, so there is some noise through the street-facing bedroom windows, especially when the backbackers on the next block empties after their band nights. Luckily it is getting towards the lighthouse end of the beach drive part of this street.
Overall it felt like a very relaxed holiday break with no accomodation worries or quirks, so that's always a good thing in my mind.
Perhaps if I could do a 3.8 rating, I would....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mature_traveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Only about 4 minutes walk to main shops and beach. Service was very, very helpful. Heaps of off-street parking.
Looks a bit ordinary from the street, but is a lovely motel. Rooms very spacious and decor/fittings appear quite new. Is a mexican restaurant at the front.
Rrice was about $100 less per night, than adjacent motels !
Would definitely recommend this motel

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, choose room on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sglawrence2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

After having stayed there about 2 years ago we decided to come back to Byron for a long weekend and paid the Bay Beach Motel another visit. A great place if you have a bit of a budget. It is clean, the owners are friendly and it is within short walking distance to the shops and restaurants.
Last time we stayed in a room upstairs with a balcony and it was very nice for summer. This time in winter we had a normal room upstairs without balcony and it was still very comfortable as we didn't go swimming anyway. The aircon was working well and heated up the room nicely at night.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would come back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Having stayed at the Bay Beach Motel a year ago we decided to try it again. The rooms are still very comfortable and stylish and being kept fresh is a credit to Helen and her staff. While not being a 5 star rated property the Bay Beach Motel is certainly well situated the decor is refreshing and stylish without clutter. I would and will stay again the staff are friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both the standard and the balcony rooms and have not been disappointed, should you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camthm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

great location within easy walking distance to the heart of Byron. Lovely room, good price and nice and quiet.

Room Tip: All rooms fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roslyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We thought for the price we paid that it was rather dissapointing! The room was ok however the bathroom was tiny, had no sink/mirror, the shower overflowed and was very unclean with hair and the likes on the floor and tiolet. When you compare what you get at other hotel/motels in the area this is really not that great value for money.

The room was very noisey also. However this is usually the case with motel accomodation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwitravels80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#17 of 34 in Byron Bay
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hibiscus Motel
Hibiscus Motel
#9 of 34 in Byron Bay
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
3.0 mi away
Tallow Beach Motel
Tallow Beach Motel
#2 of 3 in Suffolk Park
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#15 of 34 in Byron Bay
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beach Motel

Address: 32 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range: £99 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bay Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing