We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Sun Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
First Sun Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

As everyone says, the location is perfect! Right on the beach, very short walk to all shops and restaurants. The cabin was nice. Nothing amazing, but it was clean and had everything you needed. For what it is, it is a little pricey - however when you compare it to all the accommodation in Byron Bay - it's good value. The only negative I have is when checking in. We arrived at 12:30pm (1.5hrs early to check in) and when arrived (with a screaming baby) we were not allowed into our room. She said it was being "checked" and would ring me when it was finished. No one called, so when we checked back in at 2pm - everything was ready to go. It was really disappointing way to start the holiday. If they have a policy not to let people in early, that's fine, but just be honest with people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
I am glad to hear in general you enjoyed your stay. We do always do a quality check of all accommodation before guests check in and do try to allow early check ins where at all possible. Obviously we did not meet all of your expectations in this regard and hope you return to stay again soon to allow us to improve on this service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    57
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
48
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We booked the top notch cabin for about a week.
It doesn't come for free let's say, as they charged (in 2013) about $230 per day.

The location is amazing, right in front of the beach.

However the cabin was filthy. It looked like no one had been there for years. A thick layer of dirt was present on all surfaces, especially the ones above your head (fan, paintings, etc.). Unbelievable.
When I asked to facility management to clean things up a bit, they looked at me puzzled. In fact we ended up cleaning everything ourself.

See my photos to believe.

It's such a shame. The location is amazing. I wish that management could take care of their treasure a little more. Hygiene comes before anything else.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ocean Beach. But ask to be clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We are sorry to hear that the cabin did not meet your expectations however we do have a quarterly program in place to attend to these finer details. Our cabins are in high demand and it is not always possible to attend to these every clean. Given the doors are left open for your comfort on arrival dust can accummulate very quickly. I do hope you will visit us again and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

What a great place to stay. The property is perfectly located on the beach, separated by a gated fence, and two minutes walk to town. Despite being so close to the eateries and shops it is not a all noisy. The staff and very friendly and helpful, happy to have us check in early as the hut we were staying in was empty. We stayed in a Hippy hut (N02) and it was terrific, everything you would need, mini kitchen supplied with all the basics and an ensuite, linen and comfy beds. The park facilities were very clean and well maintained.I would have been very happy with the general camp kitchens and the shared showers etc. We were completely chilled within an hour of checking in and did not want to leave! the cabins also look great and each have their own little BBQ on the verandah, good if you want aircon, we had fans in the hippy hut and the 5 of us very very comply. The huts back on to the unpowered camping and they were well spaced. I would struggle to stay anywhere else in Byron, you really can walk everywhere from here so it really allows you to chill. Great place!!

Room Tip: Hippy Hut 2 - has a little grassy area at the back that is private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
We are here to please and glad to see we did not disappoint. The Hippy Huts are designed to help you relax immediately but still give you the camping feeling. They have the extra comforts of home. I am sure we will see you again and look forward to another excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

stayed 4 nights on a powered camp site mon -fri. Excellent location to township and beach. Staff friendly and efficient. Facilities great and very clean. Had wonderful time and was excellent value for money - we will be back :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park. We are glad to see we met all of your expectations and look forward to greeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at first sun for 10 days staff are excellent facilities are great position is close to town,which can be a problem.The music noise is extremely loud from 9 pm till 12 but we got used to it.
Only thing I can say is lock up everything clothes esky and bikes as they have a problem with thieves at night.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Byronba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property. Unfortunately all camping grounds experience theft at some time or another. We do have night security to try to eliminate this. I do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Right on the beach and close to all the restaurants and bars.
It has several cabins, lodges, in addition to the usual camping spots etc.
This time we stayed on lodge number 4, on our first visit we stayed in lodge number 1.
All lodges are the same, very simple but with everything we needed.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Any lodge is good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroCarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for the positive review. Our lodges are great for those travelling on a budget. Some have an ensuite and others have shared bathroom facilities. We have also recently erected Hippy Huts which cater for those looking for a bit more comfort but wish to experience the camping atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

park staff were friendly and welcoming on arrival. Amenities were clean with free BBQ facilities if required. This tourist park is convenient to Byron Bay's beach and attractions. Very busy on weekends so book in advance if planning to arrive Thursday onwards. Music from the nearby Beach Hotel at night maybe a put off for some. Enjoyed the stay and would recommend

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for your review. You are correct when you mention we are very busy on weekends especially during the summer months. Advance bookings are encouraged to ensure you get to enjoy our beautiful facilities and convenient location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#36 of 65 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach
1.1 mi away
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
#29 of 65 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.2 mi away
Byron Holiday Park
Byron Holiday Park
#20 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Sun Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Sun Holiday Park

Property: First Sun Holiday Park
Address: Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — First Sun Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Byron Bay, just metres from the beach and town centre. Located on the beachfront at beautiful Byron Bay, First Sun Holiday Park offers you everything Byron Bay is world renowned for literally metres from your cabin, caravan or tent. Wake to the sound of surf lapping ‘The Wreck’ beach and take a stroll along the golden sands towards Byron Lighthouse. Step into town for a coffee, a night out in one of Byron’s many restaurants, pubs and clubs, or take in Byron’s eclectic shops, street life and markets. At First Sun Holiday Park you need never take your car anywhere because everything is so close at hand. Choose from Self Contained Cabins, Lodges, Powered and Unpowered Caravan Sites and a shady camp area. Our facilities are first class and the views towards The Wreck, Byron Lighthouse, Mt Warning and beyond, are only a few reasons why you should visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your First Sun Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Sun Holiday Park Hotel Byron Bay
1st Sun Holiday Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing