We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic place, fantastic location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Sun Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
First Sun Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, fantastic location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night on our way back home to rockhampton from picking up a new camper in Coffs Harbour. The polite friendly receptionist was more than happy to accommodate us, even giving us a beachfront powered site after arriving unexpected! Perfect location close walking distance to everything, beautiful beach views, immaculate well kept park, spotless amenities and facilities. Will defiantly be coming back and staying longer next time, thank you FSHP

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andychurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our park. Make sure you call us before coming next time so we can ensure you get to enjoy our beautiful waterfront sites again. We are looking forward to greeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    54
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
47
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boonah, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We took our 12 foot retro van for a 3 day mini break and complete the Byron Classic Ocean Swim. Booked a site on the beach and had a fantastic stay. The location is sublime. The staff friendly and helpful. The amenties very well maintained. Photos posted back to family and friends definitately had them jealous. Thankyou for a great, affordable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madonna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We invite you to post some photos of your stay on our facebook page for all to view. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed for 4nights on a powered site in our motorhome Dec 2013.Family of six 2 adults 4 children [one with special needs].powered site good size,amenities good.showers get very busy 6pm!Great location ,great beaches.not to noisy,air con in motorhome blocked out noise from town! but in all fairness the music just adds to the whole experience and was actually quite by 2200hrs.Walking distance from everything you need,great stay had ,thankyou.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our park and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Great spot could see the left working at the wreck from bed.
Clean and quite just a few steps to town good place for the keen surfer.
Central point to base out of we stayed in cabins but heaps of capervans and motor homes calling the place home.
Byron fresh 2min walk for coffee and meals best place in town by far.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday park. We look forward to greeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

As everyone says, the location is perfect! Right on the beach, very short walk to all shops and restaurants. The cabin was nice. Nothing amazing, but it was clean and had everything you needed. For what it is, it is a little pricey - however when you compare it to all the accommodation in Byron Bay - it's good value. The only negative I have is when checking in. We arrived at 12:30pm (1.5hrs early to check in) and when arrived (with a screaming baby) we were not allowed into our room. She said it was being "checked" and would ring me when it was finished. No one called, so when we checked back in at 2pm - everything was ready to go. It was really disappointing way to start the holiday. If they have a policy not to let people in early, that's fine, but just be honest with people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
I am glad to hear in general you enjoyed your stay. We do always do a quality check of all accommodation before guests check in and do try to allow early check ins where at all possible. Obviously we did not meet all of your expectations in this regard and hope you return to stay again soon to allow us to improve on this service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We booked the top notch cabin for about a week.
It doesn't come for free let's say, as they charged (in 2013) about $230 per day.

The location is amazing, right in front of the beach.

However the cabin was filthy. It looked like no one had been there for years. A thick layer of dirt was present on all surfaces, especially the ones above your head (fan, paintings, etc.). Unbelievable.
When I asked to facility management to clean things up a bit, they looked at me puzzled. In fact we ended up cleaning everything ourself.

See my photos to believe.

It's such a shame. The location is amazing. I wish that management could take care of their treasure a little more. Hygiene comes before anything else.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ocean Beach. But ask to be clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We are sorry to hear that the cabin did not meet your expectations however we do have a quarterly program in place to attend to these finer details. Our cabins are in high demand and it is not always possible to attend to these every clean. Given the doors are left open for your comfort on arrival dust can accummulate very quickly. I do hope you will visit us again and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

What a great place to stay. The property is perfectly located on the beach, separated by a gated fence, and two minutes walk to town. Despite being so close to the eateries and shops it is not a all noisy. The staff and very friendly and helpful, happy to have us check in early as the hut we were staying in was empty. We stayed in a Hippy hut (N02) and it was terrific, everything you would need, mini kitchen supplied with all the basics and an ensuite, linen and comfy beds. The park facilities were very clean and well maintained.I would have been very happy with the general camp kitchens and the shared showers etc. We were completely chilled within an hour of checking in and did not want to leave! the cabins also look great and each have their own little BBQ on the verandah, good if you want aircon, we had fans in the hippy hut and the 5 of us very very comply. The huts back on to the unpowered camping and they were well spaced. I would struggle to stay anywhere else in Byron, you really can walk everywhere from here so it really allows you to chill. Great place!!

Room Tip: Hippy Hut 2 - has a little grassy area at the back that is private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
We are here to please and glad to see we did not disappoint. The Hippy Huts are designed to help you relax immediately but still give you the camping feeling. They have the extra comforts of home. I am sure we will see you again and look forward to another excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#34 of 64 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Byron Holiday Park
Byron Holiday Park
#21 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Sun Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Sun Holiday Park

Property: First Sun Holiday Park
Address: Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Sun Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Byron Bay, just metres from the beach and town centre. Located on the beachfront at beautiful Byron Bay, First Sun Holiday Park offers you everything Byron Bay is world renowned for literally metres from your cabin, caravan or tent. Wake to the sound of surf lapping ‘The Wreck’ beach and take a stroll along the golden sands towards Byron Lighthouse. Step into town for a coffee, a night out in one of Byron’s many restaurants, pubs and clubs, or take in Byron’s eclectic shops, street life and markets. At First Sun Holiday Park you need never take your car anywhere because everything is so close at hand. Choose from Self Contained Cabins, Lodges, Powered and Unpowered Caravan Sites and a shady camp area. Our facilities are first class and the views towards The Wreck, Byron Lighthouse, Mt Warning and beyond, are only a few reasons why you should visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your First Sun Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Sun Holiday Park Hotel Byron Bay
1st Sun Holiday Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing