We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great park Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Sun Holiday Park
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Currently staying in the lodging with private bathroom room is great friendly receptionist checked in at 10am bed is comfy big camp kitchens and very clean.
MAKE SURE YOU BRING YOUR OWN CUTLERY AND PLATES

Thank you for giving me a great place to holiday

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for your review. Although we do advertise a 2pm check in for all of our onsite accommodation we are happy to arrange an early check in if your room is clean and ready to go. Please always contact us to check if this an is option for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for First Sun Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent 2 weeks at First Sun Holiday Park and absolutely loved it! It is definitely one of the best holiday parks we have stayed at in our travels over the years.
We stayed on a powered camping site (for most of our stay), which was grassy and half covered in shade - perfect!
The Holiday Park has clean amenities, with modern toilets and bathroom facilities and a fantastic camp kitchens with cooking facilities, fridges, microwaves and tables to sit at.
The park is located pretty much on the beach, and everything is within walking distance - shopping, restaurants, markets, pubs and bars. It couldn't be more central to everything you need!
Unfortunately during our stay there was a massive storm and our tent was going to blow away... so we ended up staying our last 3 days in one of the lodges! The staff were very helpful and the transfer was easily done. The lodges are relatively small, but if, like us, you plan on spending most of your time outdoors and not holed up in your room, they really don't need to be any bigger. The lodge we stayed in was very clean, had a double bed, ceiling fan, bar fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a community bathroom within the lodges, however some of the lodges have there own bathrooms.
A few things I can recommend doing (although there are many more), include going to the Beach Hotel, taking a visit to Nimbin, snorkeling, going up to see the lighthouse and getting a ride around the town or down to another pub/club with one of the guys who rides around on a bike taking groups of people back and forth.
Byron Bay is one of my favourite places to be regardless, and staying at a fantastic holiday park there was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonitamaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for an excellent review. Byron is a place like no other. We do try to help out as much as possible and glad that your stay was not tarnished by the storm damaging your tent. You are right the lodges are small and basic however do provide somewhere comfortable after a busy day exploring. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at First Sun in one of their beach-front cabins.
We started out by booking one of the "lodges", but as soon as we checked into the room, we realised it was absolutely tiny and too small for us. Hardly any room to even put our bags, more suited to backpackers or very budget conscious travellers etc. So we went back to the front desk and upgraded to one of the cabins, which we absolutely loved and found very spacious, clean, relaxing and well fitted out.

It was relaxing watching the ocean straight through our front door, it was super convenient walking to all the local restaurants and shops from our room without needing to jump in the car and the room was very pleasant and comfortable.

We really enjoyed Byron as a location in general as well and found the place had a very relaxing vibe on the whole as well. I felt genuinely recharged after just spending a few days there.

We will almost certainly go back at sometime in the future.

Room Tip: While the "lodge" rooms are cheap, we felt they were a bit claustrophobic. But the cabins...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fortcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. Unfortunately our lodges are very small but do provide adequate accommodation for those travelling on a budget. It is great to hear that we had a cabin you could upgrade to enjoyed your overall experience of our Holiday Park and Byron Bay. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few nights at the end of June. Right by town which was very handy. Had a campervan. Facilities were clean. Actual site could do with more trees/shrubbery. Right by the beach although walk round to Clarkes which is nicer. Byron is the most expensive place we have stayed in on the Coast right up to cairns. This was abit cheaper than other sites. You can hear music from the town at night at the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freckled_Face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for your review. It appears that you enjoyed your stay and the walkway along the beach front. I do hope we can welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

just had a week up here staying in the hippy huts - the park is super clean and well maintained. Has a well stocked kitchen, with plates, glasses etc, even a hair dryer Out hut did have the verandah facing the road - so at night time the glass doors could do with curtains to pull across for privacy as people walking past can see straight in and you do have the street light right at the door. Loved our stay - the huts would be amazing on the beachfront.
Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jodi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for your review. Since that time we have installed privacy screens on all 3 huts but still enabling you to enjoy the camping feeling. Unfortunately due to severe winds and restrictions placed on us with Workplace Health and Safety we are unable to install beachfront huts but stayed tuned there may be more coming.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

At $47.00 for a powered site for one night I consider this robbery. The staff uniforms should be black and white stripy jumpers because they are robbing everyone is this place. How much really can power and a shower cost, to charge this much is an insult. I was recently in Hervey Bay and I paid $33 a night and they had a spa, larger TV room, unlimited internet, lovely clean bathrooms and under a minute walking distance to the beach. I won't be coming back purely for the price you are charging. I could understand these prices if you was in the peak season or in a main city like the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank zak h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. Sorry you feel we are over priced however I am sure if you compared our prices with similar Holiday Parks in Byron Bay with direct beach frontage and in the heart of the CBD you would find we are quite reasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This park is right in town , very handy to all shops,restaurants and bars, I found that bathrooms where kept clean continually through out the day . There is a variety of cabins and camp sites to choose from . I loved how we could take a glass of wine up to a sitting area to watch the sun set each evening above the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ageless66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. It is park policy that the amenities are checked regularly throughout the day. You are correct in saying how pleasant a glass of wine is whilst watching the sunset. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#20 of 65 in Byron Bay
476 reviews
0.8 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach
2.2 mi away
Byron Holiday Park
Byron Holiday Park
#17 of 65 in Byron Bay
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Sun Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Sun Holiday Park

Address: Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £61 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Sun Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Byron Bay, just metres from the beach and town centre. Located on the beachfront at beautiful Byron Bay, First Sun Holiday Park offers you everything Byron Bay is world renowned for literally metres from your cabin, caravan or tent. Wake to the sound of surf lapping ‘The Wreck’ beach and take a stroll along the golden sands towards Byron Lighthouse. Step into town for a coffee, a night out in one of Byron’s many restaurants, pubs and clubs, or take in Byron’s eclectic shops, street life and markets. At First Sun Holiday Park you need never take your car anywhere because everything is so close at hand. Choose from Self Contained Cabins, Lodges, Powered and Unpowered Caravan Sites and a shady camp area. Our facilities are first class and the views towards The Wreck, Byron Lighthouse, Mt Warning and beyond, are only a few reasons why you should visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your First Sun Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Sun Holiday Park Hotel Byron Bay
1st Sun Holiday Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing