We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a budget stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Parks - Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a budget stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here for three nights in a cabin, just before bluesfest. Can't fault the park at all, we really loved our trip to Byron. The staff were super friendly at all times and went the extra mile to give us any info we needed, when we needed it. Special mention to the lovely lady who runs the Kiosk cafe - she makes awesome BLT sandwiches and muffins! We will miss her!
The cabin was clean and tidy, completely self contained and had everything we wanted and more.
Facilities on the park were fine and the people staying were friendly and fit. The park was a bit of a walk from Byron, but do-able, but we hired bikes which made it a dream!! Only 5 minute ride from Byron as opposed to a 20 minute walk. But mind out for stray shopping trollies on the path on the way back at night!!

Room Tip: Be prepared for a little walk into town but great value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devongirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    78
    40
    19
    28
See reviews for
86
67
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed here during a very wet weekend, 2 nights camping and 1 night in a cabin. The site itself is located just outside Byron but it is within walking distance if you don't mind a walk. The communal Kitchen area is great, particularly if you have the wind and rain we had, just pop down and cook up your food and sit back and enjoy. We needed to stay in a cabin for our last night because the storms were coming in, the staff were really helpful! We had a 2 bed cabin, it was well equipped and comfortably accommodated 6 of us. The amenities are clean and the showers hot, always a plus after a rainy day. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Discovery Parks - Byron Bay, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Byron Bay Tourist Village. I am delighted that you found your accommodation comfortable and that you had a great experience with us. We will always try to go that extra mile for our customers.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beenleigh, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our cabin was clean and tidy with plenty of room. At home we sleep in a waterbed so finding a comfortable bed to sleep on when away is sometimes impossible but our bed and pillows were comfy and we both had a great sleep and woke up with no sore back or hips. The grounds were clean and tidy. It was about a 20 min walk into town on flat ground. Next time I would take the bikes to get in and out of town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Carey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We have just enjoyed 3 nights in a powered camp site at BB Tourist Village. The park was close to the main part of town and the beaches (although you really need a car or bike to get there). The grounds seemed to be well maintained and the amenities were always clean and tidy. Our youngest son enjoyed having the tennis court on site. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this park and it did seem like good value for money compared to some other caravan parks in the area. Would be happy to recommend this place to others.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mewett_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were friendly and helpful, bathroom's/toilets were always clean and overall this place had a nice peaceful atmosphere to it. Our cabin for 2 had all the necessity's that we needed for our stay, however the only thing we had an issue with was the smell of the cabin. As the cabin was quite old it had a horrible smoke/mold smell to it including the cupboards. We didn't want to use any of the glasses/utensils because they smelt horrible! Also it was quite annoying that we had to clean our own dishes before we left/take out the rubbish. We generally wouldn't have a problem with this, though whoever cleaned the dishes before us had put the pots back half dirty. Nice place overall, just need a few minor touches.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runaway81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Ok so I haven't stayed anywhere else in Byron Bay apart from here and a backpackers, so maybe it's just the whole of byron bay that is overpriced. The room was clean, staff were friendly but I thought it was overpriced. We payed $150 for one night in September for a tiny room with double bed, kitchen and bathroom. There were only two pillows on the bed, no face cloths and no shampoo or conditioner. Don't expect much!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.8 mi away
Byron Holiday Park
Byron Holiday Park
#20 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
First Sun Holiday Park
First Sun Holiday Park
#22 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.8 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach
1.3 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#14 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Byron Bay

Property: Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
Address: 399 Ewingsdale Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Byron Bay Tourist Village)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Byron Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its relaxed holiday atmosphere, modern facilities and stunning natural scenery, Discovery Parks - Byron Bay is an idyllic escape. Set amongst picturesque tropical gardens and lakes, and just 2km from the Byron Bay town centre, Discovery Parks - Byron Bay is a family friendly caravan park and offers a range of excellent accommodation. Accommodation options include self-contained cabins, ensuite sites and powered sites all located within a beautiful setting adjacent to Belongil Creek. Laze by the pool, enjoy the full size tennis court, or take a short walk to the nearby beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Discovery Parks - Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing