We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T GET RIPPED OFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
Gosford, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DON'T GET RIPPED OFF”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Booked what was supposed to be a discounted price of $225 for a cabin a Byron Bay Tourist Village. When I checked in I discovered the price for the cabin was actually $150 which the office staff at the Village had tried to conceal by blocking out the price on my receipt. When I queried this with them they said it was $225 because there were three people. I informed them that there were only two of us and that their receipt said as such. They then informed me that they had upgraded our cabin. I find this hard to believe as the cabin we were offered was very old and dilapidated. They refused to refund the overcharge of $75. I was so annoyed that my husband and I left and did not stay the night. I will leave this feedback on as many places on the net as I possibly can to avoid others being ripped off by the Byron Bay Tourist Village.

Room Tip: Avoid this place altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Discovery Parks - Byron Bay, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
On behalf of Byron Bay Tourist Village we would like to thank you for your review.

I understand that you made a booking with Booking.com website for a 3 Person Cabin and recorded 3 people on your booking form. The cost for this room type and 3 people on a Saturday night during this period is $225 which is what you paid.

I am extremely sorry to hear that my staff made a clerical error with your booking and recorded the change in your booking from 3 people to 2 people. As a result this altered the amount on your paperwork.

As you can understand booking through online websites the prices are fixed. Once booked through these websites you are contracted to them.

I am very sorry you feel you have been badly treated by our company. We did not intentionally try to “rip you off”, we offer that room type and number of people on our website for $5.00 cheaper than you paid to entice people to book direct.

Thank you for your time in contacting us and trust that the next time you stay with us will be a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    80
    42
    20
    30
See reviews for
97
72
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Pros - Excellent service for checking out, a lovely man went to check we hadnt left anything behind (not sure if this is normal process) and we had, so he delivered it to us waiting out the front. Beds were comfy. Self contained cabin has everything you need.

Cons - Dated decor, expensive $175 for cabin for 3.

Other - Couple of kms out of town, so may need bike/car. Was a little bit loud at night but nothing you wouldnt expect at caravan park.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerNZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in what we thought was advertised as a modern caravan park. The accommodation in cabin 4 (same as 1 to 4) can only be described as something out of the early seventies. Very old cabin and fittings. Old shower and a stainless sink for a vanity. Very expensive for what you get.
Otherwise the staff are friendly and the park is certainly quite large.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here for three nights in a cabin, just before bluesfest. Can't fault the park at all, we really loved our trip to Byron. The staff were super friendly at all times and went the extra mile to give us any info we needed, when we needed it. Special mention to the lovely lady who runs the Kiosk cafe - she makes awesome BLT sandwiches and muffins! We will miss her!
The cabin was clean and tidy, completely self contained and had everything we wanted and more.
Facilities on the park were fine and the people staying were friendly and fit. The park was a bit of a walk from Byron, but do-able, but we hired bikes which made it a dream!! Only 5 minute ride from Byron as opposed to a 20 minute walk. But mind out for stray shopping trollies on the path on the way back at night!!

Room Tip: Be prepared for a little walk into town but great value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devongirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed here during a very wet weekend, 2 nights camping and 1 night in a cabin. The site itself is located just outside Byron but it is within walking distance if you don't mind a walk. The communal Kitchen area is great, particularly if you have the wind and rain we had, just pop down and cook up your food and sit back and enjoy. We needed to stay in a cabin for our last night because the storms were coming in, the staff were really helpful! We had a 2 bed cabin, it was well equipped and comfortably accommodated 6 of us. The amenities are clean and the showers hot, always a plus after a rainy day. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Manager at Discovery Parks - Byron Bay, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Byron Bay Tourist Village. I am delighted that you found your accommodation comfortable and that you had a great experience with us. We will always try to go that extra mile for our customers.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beenleigh, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our cabin was clean and tidy with plenty of room. At home we sleep in a waterbed so finding a comfortable bed to sleep on when away is sometimes impossible but our bed and pillows were comfy and we both had a great sleep and woke up with no sore back or hips. The grounds were clean and tidy. It was about a 20 min walk into town on flat ground. Next time I would take the bikes to get in and out of town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Carey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
First Sun Holiday Park
First Sun Holiday Park
#20 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#18 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach
2.9 mi away
Byron Holiday Park
Byron Holiday Park
#16 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#34 of 65 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Byron Bay

Property: Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
Address: 399 Ewingsdale Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Byron Bay Tourist Village)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Byron Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its relaxed holiday atmosphere, modern facilities and stunning natural scenery, Discovery Parks - Byron Bay is an idyllic escape. Set amongst picturesque tropical gardens and lakes, and just 2km from the Byron Bay town centre, Discovery Parks - Byron Bay is a family friendly caravan park and offers a range of excellent accommodation. Accommodation options include self-contained cabins, ensuite sites and powered sites all located within a beautiful setting adjacent to Belongil Creek. Laze by the pool, enjoy the full size tennis court, or take a short walk to the nearby beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing