We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No fun, rude employers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Byron Bay Side Central Motel
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No fun, rude employers.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Rooms are a great size, also handy have the kitchen and washing machine/dryer. Staff were pleasant and helpful at the start however inconsistent with they're rules. Was threatened to be evicted for having more then the registered guests in one room, even when they were staying in another room and even when the night before the other manager dropped by when there was 2 more people in the room then registered and didn't mention anything. Was constantly being yelled at for playing normal music on low volume at noon, noise was told to be kept at the minimum of 1pm. Not pleasant if you're with friends and like to socialise with them. Probably great for families. Not the nicest interior but comfy beds and spacious rooms. Great for families not young adults.

Room Tip: If you want quieter and nicer hotels, you're just gonna have to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbbagoo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
It is important to us that our registered guests enjoy a peaceful and pleasant stay and for this reason we only permit registered guests in our motel units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    50
    30
    8
    10
See reviews for
24
51
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this place online at Wotif after checking trip adviser reviews. Upon arrival we greeted by a very friendly man at reception who gave us the run down on the room & was exceptionally helpful about getting around the bay. The room itself was very large with a double bed & single bed & kitchenette as well as washer & dryer in the bathroom. I was impressed with how spacious it was & the level of cleanliness. We were also super impressed at the large balcony attached to our room which we loved & had drinks on every arvo. Location is perfect just a few minutes easy walk to the hustle & bustle of Byron. Guests were all informed if the no noise/no party policy which reassured us we had picked the right place. Free undercover car park that is secure at night was also a bonus. We were in room #17 & was great for the 2 of us & happy with the price of approx $150 per night given the location & quality of the room. Would definitely stay here again!! Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated by all of us here at Byron Bay Side Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location and very helpful and friendly staff, free wi-fi too which is a bonus. The room and kitchenette were a good size and the private balcony was great to have - especially with a washing machine and drying rack available. The room itself was a bit dated but was clean and serviced each day. Good place to stay if you're looking for somewhere central and affordable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Staff pleasant and very helpful, accommodation basic but clean and spacious and the bed is comfortable. Was value for money but didn't expect any different for under $150. Walls very thin and you hear eveything! Our room was #21, right at the front door, which on reviewing others comments is the room suitable for elderly or disabled persons, it is quite noisy being right on the street.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for another room if offered #21
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sblucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Sorry we were unable to give you a room upstairs but it wasn't possible. The motel units do have 8"concrete block walls but we have installed a window shutter so the unit is quieter and darker so guests can easily sleep even during the day if they should wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Great location staff very friendly and helpful. Easily accessible to the beach, bars restaurants and shops. The room was large with a double and single bed and couch. The kitchette was a great addition so if you didn't want to eat out all the time at least you could make basic meals. There is also large balconies on all the rooms which is a great feature.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The gentleman on the desk was welcoming and friendly. We stayed here 1 night and had a family suite. The washing machine and dryer was a welcome sight! The room was comfortable but over priced. We were charged extra for 1 child in a family room which was a shock as we had booked a family room! The motel is in a good location but I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it as it was over priced for what we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed the room facilities. Room rates are displayed on the internet and when making the booking it is important to list all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We checked in here for 1night only and found the staff to be particularly welcoming and helpful which is always a bonus!
We got a 1 Studio apartment which was very roomy and spacious enough to accommodate our travels cots for our Twin infants. The apartment had a washing machine and dryer which was a bonus, given we needed to do just that!
Represents good value for the price and locality. My only critisism would be that the rooms could probably benefit from a makeover at some point, otherwise, clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated by all of us here at Byron Bay Side Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.2 mi away
Byron Motor Lodge Motel
Byron Motor Lodge Motel
#31 of 32 in Byron Bay
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hibiscus Motel
Hibiscus Motel
#8 of 32 in Byron Bay
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#20 of 32 in Byron Bay
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#17 of 32 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Bay Side Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay Side Central Motel

Property: Byron Bay Side Central Motel
Address: 14 Middleton St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay Side Central Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay Side Central Motel Apartments offer great value for money when booking Byron Bay Holiday Accommodation, making it a perfect holiday destination for friends, couples and families. Airport shuttles arrive frequently from Ballina / Brisbane and Gold Coast Domestic and International Airports to Byron Bay Side Central Motel Apartments. Friendly onsite managers will welcome you to the Fully Self contained, Hotel studio apartments providing guests with Free Wi-Fi Internet and undercover Car Parking for guests with cars. Byron Bay Side Central Motel Apartments is located in a very central, convenient and yet quiet location in Byron Bay with Main Beach, Byron Bay lighthouse walk, shops, restaurants, entertainment and coach station only 3 minutes' walk away. All studio apartments have air conditioning,a large open plan lounge, fully equipped kitchen and ensuite bathroom with washing machine & dryer. A private balcony attached to 18 of the 20 apartments ensures a feeling of spaciousness and an enjoyment of the outdoors. One fully equipped disabled apartment. Enjoy beauty, hair treatments & massages within the complex as well as the very popular vegetarian restaurant "'Heart and Halo'' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Byron Bay Side Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing