We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Motel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Moss Vale, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Nancy and Greg were very friendly hosts. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and our hosts were more than happy to help us out with wi-fi, and restaurant recommendations. We requested a late check out so that we could do a snorkelling tour and that was no trouble to them at all. Would stay there again if ever we go back to Byron

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancye A, Public Relations Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for praising our hospitality. We love meeting and talking to all of our guests. We enjoy all of your wonderful stories and are always happy to help to make your stay as memorable as possible.

Hope you visit us and the Bay Motel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    72
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
49
64
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

So upon booking this place and looking at photos online I was not expecting much...but I was definitely pleasantly surprised!!

When checking in the managers were super friendly and helpful..this continued for our two day stay as well as cleaning staff !

The rooms are extremely modern with a mini kitchenette including a microwave and bar fridge . The bathroom is nothing special but suit us fine.

Location was perfect as you are right on the water front and on the doorstep to all of Byron city centre. The lighthouse is just a five minute drive up the road. Compared to other places around the price is fairly reasonable but you ate still in tourist central so it is a little on the high end.

All in all perfect little getaway for us ! Will definitely be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
To Jordy. We thank you for your honest review and now please let me know what we can do in the bathroom that would make it better. Glad you had a nice time and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We were greeted by manager when we arrived with a rude "about time" at 9.00 pm, even though I had rung earlier and told them that there is a chance we might be late due to traffic more than once. The owners seem to have a problem that there was a mixture of male and female friends though the number of people were quoted correctly, and told us that "people like you come here to PLAY UP". Also the owner was not happy about booking the room online telling us how we should have called to booked the place. When asked if you didn't want people to book online why did you advertise it on an online booking site his reply was a pathetic "that's the only way we could advertise it online". A paying customer should not have to put up with such rude service. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xi'an, China
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A bit expensive but it is Byron Bay. You can walk to the beach and also right in town. Quiet considering where you are and good parking.

Not to many young people staying which helped.

recommend if you must stay in Byron Bay. Don't recommend Byron Bay though

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you mentioned we are only 50m walk to the beach which is a great drawcard for our motel.

Im sorry to hear you didn't enjoy Byron Bay as much as you'd hoped. Byron Bay has beautiful scenary and great things to offer and we really hope you do return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This overnight stay was booked by Corporate traveller for me. I knew how much the tarriff was so was a bit surprised when I turned up...It looked as if I was going to be staying in a tired old room. Greg showed me to the room (room 2) and I was so Pleasantly Surprised. New, Modern, elegant, clean, big bed - it was lovely. that night I went around the corner to eat and told the waitress where I was staying. She could not picture the motel until i said the old one tucked away. She was also surprised there were nice rooms as she was under the impression that they were old rooms too...
Looks can be deceiving!
Don't overlook this one - it is so handy to everything!

Room Tip: Room 2 is renovated - some others are too...but not sure which ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our new rooms and yes I agree our exterior is tired but we are working on improving this in the near future.

Thank you again for your kind words and hope to see you again on your return to Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tooradin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This place should promote more, with immaculate we'll fitted rooms included a super comfy king sized bed
The outside doesn't inspire and the inside is a welcome surprise. Loved the place and wouldn't hesitate to return

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathytooradin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are extremely proud of our newly renovated rooms. At some stage we will renovate the exterior but until then we will still have the old school motel look.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moranbah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed here overnight with our son. When I booked, because of the price and location, I really wasn't expecting too much but figured it was just for one night and we wanted to be able to walk to dinner/breakfast/beach. We were pleasantly surprised by the recently renovated room (reading the other reviews for this motel, maybe we lucked out with this?), but seriously you do not get a better location regardless. We will definitely stay here again :)

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella_1970a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of our motel.

It’s such a pleasure to hear that you had a memorable holiday experience with us recently. Nothing is more rewarding than knowing that our guests are enjoying our new renovated rooms.

Please continue to remember us whenever you planning your next holiday to Byron Bay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Nancye & Greg
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#27 of 32 in Byron Bay
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Property: Bay Motel
Address: 12 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on beautiful Byron Bay beach, a stay at the centrally located Bay Motel will have you coming back for more. With the white sand of one of the most pristine beaches just 50m away and the surf club directly across the road, the Bay Motel is the perfect location to soak in all that Byron Bay has to offer.Offering double, twin and suites with air conditioning, free satellite TV, microwave and coffee making facilities. Free secure parking is available for all of our guests. Across the road on the beachfront is a park offering barbeque facilities and children’s playground. At the Bay Motel we offer you the best location, friendly service and great value for your holiday dollar. Our goal is to make your stay with us in Byron Bay comfortable, enjoyable and most of all memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing