We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Hibiscus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
chennI
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Booked to stay at the Hibiscus Motel Byron bay after reading about it and was really disappointed.

Nothing much to write home about. A decent Motel , pretty cramped, small toilets, poorly ventilated unless you leave the main window or door open which faces the driveway. Its ok if you have to stay a night on an onward trip. Have to mention though that the staff are very helpful and courteous.

On the upside the location is fantastic within walking distance to the beach, shopping, restaurants etc. You do get to secure park your car right in front of the room and parking is free unlike most other places in Byron where you might have to pay.

Would not stay again though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    51
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
57
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We spent one night here during our trip through Australia. It is average motel and good for your money. We only spent a night here so it didn't bother me. I prefer to allocate my money into more important things than a pretty room in which I only sleep. Coming to Byron Bay was important.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaciejK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
1,415 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This is a basic Motel from the 1970s and aging fast. The rooms are small and cramped. Maintenance is poor, the taps leak, the bathroom door does not close properly and the noisy aircon/heater vibrates annoyingly.This combined with the street noise will keep you up all night. There is no washing machine or a place to dry your clothes and you have to walk two blocks to the laundry.
In its favour the Motel has a friendly owner who is keen to make your stay comfortable. The location is good and you can walk to most places; Byron is a small place anyways.
You get what you pay for, so if the dollars matter to you then stay here, but, for one night only.
Enjoy Byron from several other worthy places.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The operators of the motel were very friendly and helpful. We (4 friends) were in town for a wedding and wanted a cheap but decent place to crash for the weekend. This place was great for the occasion. Less than 5 minute walk to the beach, the shops and the cafes.

None of us have any complaints at all. Yes it looks like an older style 70's motel and tacky decor... But that's what we were expecting. It's definitely not 5 star resort accommodation, but it is great value and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreweggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Hibiscus Motel. The motel often hosts guests who are in Byron Bay for weddings as we are in a very good location, close to popular wedding venues.
The motel is in the process of a face lift and this will be an ongoing process.
We look forward to seeing you again at The Hibiscus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virden, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The experience with this hotel started off with the incredibly friendly staff. The owners are very hands on and proud of their establishment. The rooms were very clean. Perfectly located to walk around Byron Bay. Very good experience.

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Araelya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Hibiscus Motel. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests from overseas and we do try to make their stay in Byron Bay a pleasurable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again should you pay us a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Hibiscus Motel itself is probably not much different to any other motel in Byron bay - except that the owners were fantastic, I felt like I was staying with friends as opposed to at a motel.

The location is ideal, being only a block or two away from the restaurants, the beach and the mini-mart you're just close enough that even if it's bucketing down (which it was) you don't have far to go before you're under cover again and you're just far away to not be in the middle of it.

The room wasn't anything special, but it was clean, spacious and the price was reasonable. This said, I got the impression that the particular room I got was usually only used when they were full or on special occasions - it might have been a bit bigger than the other rooms. The window also leaked quite badly during the night which was particularly wet and it was close to the road - so take your sleeping mask with you if you need a dark room because there are fairly bright lights outside.

While the traffic abated at a reasonable hour there is, unfortunately, a backpackers (or at least a cheap hotel) straight across the road which made it difficult to get to sleep (even after a very long day of driving). I suspect the other rooms, being away from the road would be much quieter... and the leak was taken care of once I drew the owners' attention to it.

Despite all of this I decided to take a break from driving and stay a second night. I didn't bother changing hotels or rooms, so it can't have been too bad - although I thought about it and, again, the bar was fairly noisy.

All in all I had a good stay. If I go back to Byron I will try to stay here again, but probably in a different room.

Room Tip: Not the front one... Room number 1 I think - unless you're a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Breaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We arrived late in the evening during heavy rainfall. The motel's location is perfect if you want to becentrally located. The room was properbut would benefit from renovation. For this price you get much nicer and more modern rooms with much better facilities just a little further out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#14 of 32 in Byron Bay
316 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Motel

Property: Hibiscus Motel
Address: 33 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hibiscus Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing