We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the looks sway you, and the new managers/owners are lovely”
Review of Hibiscus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

From the outside it looks like a 1970 motel, but the rooms are generous, well refurbished and has great self catering facilities (fridge, microwave and plates cutlery etc and a normal sized sink)
The new owners/managers where fantastic, so friendly and warm nothing was too much trouble, we had a sick son and they washed his clothes and porta cot sheets for us - will come back and stay for sure

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slacko76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne T, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure looking after you during your stay with us at Hibiscus Motel. We look forward to you returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at this motel for one night and were impressed with the renovated room. The motel is in a great location for the town centre. Only a couple of little niggles - the towels smelled a bit musty, like they'd been left damp for too long. Also the room could do with an information guide about how to use the AC, TV, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caz134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed at the Hibiscus Motel in 2008 and at that time the beds were really old and smelled funny. The location however is great as it is super central. What's more, it did remind me of the typical 70s motels I used to stay at when I was young.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

So we arrived in Byron Bay and were actually booked into another place which was horrendously poor, almost bordering on appalling! A friend was staying at Hibiscus and so we asked were any rooms available for us to stay here - 3 females. Staff were über helpful and friendly and we ended up staying in a family suite which was amazing! Two separate bedrooms, a lovely bright bathroom, huge tv, kitchen area and living area. Great value for money, a stones throw from the beach and perfectly situated for everything that Byron Bay has to offer. Great time had by all - thanks and would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank KATE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review Hibiscus Motel
We enjoyed having you all here as guests and were pleased that we were able to accommodate you in the renovated suite.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Australia.
Thanks again for choosing Hibiscus Motel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed here for 1 night recently on a last minute trip from the Gold Coast. We were allocated a refurbished room, which was just lovely. The refurbishment has really paid off! What a great location, room and staff! Great value for money. Will definately be staying here again. Thank you Bronwyn and your team!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodntravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hibiscus Motel
We are very happy to welcome guests who have stayed with us before and try to make their stay as comfortable as possible,
The renovations are on schedule and the last two rooms will be completed at the end of April.
Thank you Jackie for commenting on the renovations!
We really hope to see you again when next you visit Byron Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for Xmas day as was only in Byron for this day only and a nice little stay it was,

On checking in bronwyn the lady owner was very polite and gave us a lot of information about the area and even apologised as the room we were allocated was not yet renovated as they were renovating the place and ours was one if the last. On getting in to the room it was big and clean and yes maybe a little dated in parts however it was perfect for us. The shower was hot and the bed massive and comfy so a real bonus.

Location wise it was really good a 2 minute walk to the town centre/ beach so perfect location.

Lots of shops and restaurants close by along with a 24hr mini mart.

If I was staying in Byron again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here as good hosts, good location and very good value for money if on a budget.

Thanks bronwyn and John

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchandsheyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Hibiscus motel. We value the comments guests write as they help us to see if we are on the right track. The motel will continue being renovated at the end of February and this will bring all our rooms up to the next level.
Glad you both enjoyed staying here ,we wish you well with the rest of your travels and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Hibiscus Motel was the first stop in our mini drive down the north NSW coast. The motel itself is clean and comfortable, although our toilet was a bit stinky - it looked clean, so not sure whether it was a plumbing problem? Check-in was friendly and helpful, with plenty of maps and suggestions for places to eat and walks/sights to take in. Had a very good night's sleep here too. For a one night stopover, it was ideal.

In terms of the entire range of accommodation in the market, this is probably down the list. But in terms of budget motels, it's spot on.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex-and-Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 33 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 33 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 33 in Byron Bay
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#2 of 33 in Byron Bay
191 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#16 of 33 in Byron Bay
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Motel

Address: 33 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range: £99 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hibiscus Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing