We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located, very clean and nice motel”
Review of Hibiscus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Well-located, very clean and nice motel”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This motel stand really near from main beach, and in the same time near from the center of Byron Bay. The room we booked was really clean and big enough for four persons. The owners are really friendly, and provided us any information we needed. This is a highly recommended place to stay, for anyone visiting Byron Bay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tursyop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    49
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
57
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My family of 3 were completing the great Aussie road trip from Sydney to QLD over the Easter school holidays and Byron was our second stop on the journey. Looking at online specials, and doubting availability in the area due to Easter and Bluesfest I found this little gem tucked away in the centre of Byron town only 100m from main beach.
As we were limited for time, arriving from South West Rocks late afternoon, and leaving mid afternoon the following day, this was the perfect place for a quick check-in, some advice on local eateries for dinner and a kindly late check out in the morning (upon request) so we could get in a hearty breakfast nearby and a magical swim.
The room was small but suited us perfectly for our purpose - and it was spotless!
Modern and simple it more than adequately served our purpose and the hosts were lovely.
Thanks Hibiscus :)

Room Tip: Ask what room options are available if you require a bigger space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The motel has been recently refurbished so the rooms look much better than the outside. They are rather small, but very cosy and functional - and they look good too. The location is superb - very close to the beach and the "action" downtown, but still in a quiet area. Friendly owners. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
460 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We discovered BB is a pretty expensive place to stop with limited accommodation. Hibiscus was recommended to us by the Beach Motel which is owned by the same person. But the Hibiscus has been renovated, rooms were clean, with the necessary amenities as well as limited free wireless internet. Located within the central BB area with easy access to lots of restaurants, beaches and shopping. The managers (who apparently are moving on) were excellent providing us with lots of information on the area and assisting us with some reservations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulowlcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne T, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
it was lovely you stayed with us thankyou for your reveiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A great motel super close to the main beach (about a 2 min walk!) and all the restaurants and shops etc. Owners are lovely and very helpful, there's free wifi with a generous limit for every device but they were happy to extend this for us as my bf was revising for an exam! Super helpful.
The rooms were great, amazingly clean and modern -they look nothing like the traveller photos on here as they've been completely done up- only thing missing was maybe a hob but other than that the kitchen was great, and all the restaurants and food places are so close anyway!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucya18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne T, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review. It was our pleasure having you here. I hope the exam went well (I'm sure it did), and next time you come to Byron Bay, we'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for the first time over the weekend - well, our first time at this motel but we have been to Byron several times before. This place is a real find. The location is awesome, right near the centre of town but still quiet.
The four of us stayed in a two bedroom unit and there was plenty of room. Looked like it had been renovated in the past few years. Everything was really clean. Air conditioning was greatly appreciated.
There is a common iron and ironing board in the laundry but there were no issues in being able to get in there to use it.
Finally, the owners were really nice and couldn't do enough for us. This will be our new place to stay in Byron.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne T, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Very glad that you will be back to see us. Very much looking forward to the pleasure of your company again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldcoast
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great little spot in Byron with nice people running the motel.

The rooms are very spacious, and modern and very clean.

It was very hot , whilst our stay and was thankful for good air-con.

The only negative to us was the bed seemed small.. not sure what size it was

But overall a very good place to stay and would stay again..

4/5

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaidgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne T, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We do take pride in our Rooms, and always strive to keep them spotless, and to give good customer service.
In response to your query regarding the beds, they are Standard Queen Size in a Double Room; standard Queen size and King single in our Twin Rooms; and Queen Size and single beds in our Family Suites - as advertised.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, and that you would stay with us again. We certainly look forward to seeing you again. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
238 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
151 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Motel

Property: Hibiscus Motel
Address: 33 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hibiscus Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing