We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word Brilliant!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluewater on the Beach
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

After a mix up with a booking agent we turned up to find we had no booking. This was our 30th annv and the shock on our faces must have been noticed by Anthony who greeted us.
To calm things down we went for lunch only to be called by Anthony with an offer of another appartment.
It was perfect.
The customer sevice he gave us was out of this world.
Our stay 10/10
Anthony 11/10
Booking agent 0/10
Thank you. We will be back!
The worst part was leaving.
Robert & pauline

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Soapy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

It honestly doesn't get any better then Bluewater on the Beach! We have been coming here since our daughter was 3 months and now have two toddlers. The most perfect location and luxury for young families. Ian is extremely accommodating and will do whatever it takes to help ensure you have the perfect experience. Thank you again! Can't wait to come back.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank FranceHolidayParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I first wrote about our fabulous stay at Bluewater on the Beach in April 2012. Well, we loved it that much we returned for a longer stay in April 2013. This time we stayed in Beach Belles, a lovely, relaxed and very private two bedroom house just behind the four dwellings with ocean views. We had access through a grassy, large private garden to our own sandy cliff top views to the ocean, or along side the house at the front to access the steps to the beach or any of the available lounge chairs. The house is designed with the two bedrooms and bathroom at the back, and the open plan living room with comfy, L-shaped lounge, kitchen and dining table at the front. In between these living areas is a light-filled, under cover passage way, with a sunken spa bath for two at the garden end, the front loading washer and entrance doors at the other. There is another eating table outside, beneath cover, and surrounded by lush tropical colourful foliage. We used the barbeque most of the time for cooking as we prefer to do at home. There is a microwave, full size fridge/freezer and oven, and all that you need in the way of essential utensils, cooking and table ware. The cool evening breezes and ceiling fans do a great job of keeping the air flowing and night time sleeping comfortable. There was a supply (and we had also brought) some Mortein coils to keep the mosquitoes out, and these were highly effective and unobtrusive. Ian is easily at hand and always willing to help out if needed, and equally laid back to leave us to ourselves to enjoy what we came for - a slice of heaven right on the beach. We loved it so much this year, that we have booked in again for even longer April 2014, and I can hardly wait.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the cottages here as they are all fully self-contained. Select co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here for 11 days just after Easter 2013 in Laila's Cottage. It was a really wonderful holiday all round and we will definitely be back later this year!

Laila's is a lovely cottage, perfect for a family of 4 (we have 2 kids aged 6 and 8). The cottage is spacious, clean and well-furnished with everything you might need. Everything is good quality and things like toilet roll, laundry liquid, matches, etc. are all provided. Ian gave us a very warm welcome and was extremely helpful, lending us boogie boards and beach toys so the kids were fully equipped for a beach holiday!

The garden is beautiful with amazing views and direct access to Belongil Beach. Belongil is safe with good surf and no dangerous currents although the waves are quite big. But even a non-swimmer would be happy playing in the shallows and if you go about 500m towards town there is a lovely calm bit with shallow, calm water to play in.

At high tide you can't walk along the beach into town (well, you could but you would get a bit wet!) but about 3 hours either side of low tide it's accessible. It's about 1.2km along the beach into town (800m to the end of the beach then a bit further past the car park to the top of Jonson St) and 1.6km along the road if the tide is too high to get along the beach (distances on my Garmin measured during my runs from the cottage) Round the corner (200m) are the Belongil Bistro and Tree House, which both open at 7am for coffee and breakfast - the bistro does the BEST bacon and egg rolls and a very good flat white! We had dinner at both and were very impressed.

All in all we had a wonderful holiday at Bluewater on the Beach and can thoroughly recommend it for a family with young kids. We are looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Spent 9 nights here with the family and had a great time.

Ian who runs the place is very friendly, super attentive and gave us a few tips on where to take kids, eat, etc...

We initially stayed at Beach Belles and then given all the rain/dampness and a slight pest problem as a result of this Ian offered Laila’s Beach House which we took up.

The rooms and properties are clean and well presented. There are clearly signs of rust ,etc... given the harsh environment next to the sea. This is understandable.

Whilst I understand this is not a 5 star property I do think however few things listed below could be improved given the price range -

* Mould on curtains/blinds and few stains on carpet is something I would not expect in the price range. My wife and son have allergies so this did become a problem towards end of trip.

* Cable TV was not available in Laila’s Beach House it was however at Beach Belles

* Gas Cook top and BBQ should start without the need for matches

* BBQ's could be a tad cleaner. Seems they had not been cleaned for a while.

Property location is great - set up on a dune so kept private from beach walkers but with a sublime view. It's is a good 2 Km walk into town using roads as we could not access via sand given the high tides.

Taxi fare if you need to get home on wheels it's about $8 - $13 depending on traffic. We ended up renting a car. Much easier.

Great place if you are after 5 star attention to property details. And forgot to mention ... the Free unlimited Internet is fast and handy !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MortByronBay, Manager at Bluewater on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you for your review and for staying with us, Just to answer the few problems you had with your accommodation. As you guys realised we had really bad weather during your stay with us, in fact it had been raining for a couple of weeks. Due to that fact and as the property is beach front certain things are hard to control. Thank you also to bring to our attention the issue you had with the BBQ, the electronic lighters on the Webber BBQs we supply do not work when exposed to salt air so matches are supplied. The other comment made which is incorrect regards to the distance the property is away from the CBD. We are located 0.8kms by road or 0.5kms by the beach......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week in September 2012 and it was exactly what we needed after a pretty rough year. It was instant relaxation from the moment we arrived. We stayed in Tamarama which, like all the cottages, has incredible ocean views and overlooks a beautifully maintained front lawn area. The beach is pristine and is about 15 metres from the front deck of the cottages. We spent quite a bit of time on the lawn deck chairs that overlook the beach.

The real beauty of the property is that it's just outside (an easy relaxing 10 - 15 minute walk along the beach) the busy Byron Bay town centre. So you get the best of both worlds.

Ian the owner/manager seems to be a great guy and was really welcoming. I mentioned as we were leaving that this is the only place that I've been that I wouldn't hesitate in coming back to. It was fantastic.

Rich B

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Views magnificent, sounds magnificent, location magnificent, not 5 star but what the heck. It's a picture perfect location which left me asking Ian (the owner/manager), when could I come back. We stayed in Lifesaver, which would be more than suitable for 2 couples. It's an east walk to Byron but why would you go there? Most of the time we were more than happy to cook at home. The weather wasn't perfect but.......

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank StephenGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
194 reviews
1 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
439 reviews
2 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#14 of 34 in Byron Bay
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.4 mi away
Shambhala@Byron
Shambhala@Byron
#40 of 65 in Byron Bay
24 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater on the Beach

Address: 3 Don St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £210 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluewater on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the sand hills of beautiful Belongil Beach is one of Byron Bay most exclusive private addresses. A relaxed aomosphere catering for those needing a quiet place to unwind in private surroundings. Featuring 180 degree views from Brunswick Heads to the Cape Byron Light House and all with in a 15min walk along the beach to Byrons famous town centre. The property consists os 4 absolute beach front villas and 2 rear set houses all with beach front decks. Classic simple beach house style villas that are fully self contained and well maintained. Please go to our web site to view all the villas floor plans to see what would suit your needs. If you havent been to Byron Bay before and you want to spend alot of time at the beach, this property will not disappoint as it is one of only a few absolute beach front properties. We also offer free use of bikes and surfing equipment etc.....You will love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bluewater on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing