We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have stayed here twice, once in November 2013 and once in November 2012. The location is great, right on the beach. We noticed a big decrease in the standard of our cabin between November 2012 and November 2013. The first time was fantastic, clean well maintained and everything worked perfectly. The next time everything in our cabin was tired. The doors didn't shut properly, neither did the blinds, the hot water in the sink didn't flow freely, the soap holder in the shower was too loose in the wall to hold soap, the cabin had a mouldy smell. It was OK but just not as wonderful as we had remembered from the time before when everything was perfect and clean. You are paying pretty top dollar for a cabin in a non swimming pool park and it just didn't seem worth it this time. We gave all this feedback to the staff on duty at the time but with the exception of the hot water in the sink the rest of the issues remained unsolved during our two week stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whenwhenwhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    50
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed on a powered site with ocean glimpses. Most I would say you can hear the ocean, especially at night, great sound. The park is clean and quiet with excellent facilities. The beach platforms are fabulous spots to chat to fellow travellers or just sit overlooking the beach and read. Of course beach access is just there! Walking to town is not a problem, the lighthouse and also Wategoes is within walking distance.
Enjoy as we did ;-)

Room Tip: Just look at the site map to choose where you want to be located
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur_DY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I've been here before and I'm sure to come here again. Whilst it's one of the highest priced site you'll get around Australia, the location is certainly ideal. Right on the beach, north facing and there both sunny and shaded sites: in my case a request for a sunny site was granted. The only negative here is that they don't take reservations for one night; if they did I'd come more often. Single nights are permitted but you just have to roll up and hope they have space...

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NotQuiteAWinnebago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting Clarke's Beach for a number of years now. Amazing beachside location, walking distance to some of the best cafés & restaurants in NSW, great walking tracks to local landmarks. Park Facilities are some of the best we have seen especially family bathrooms & communal dining room overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights between Easter and Anzac Day. The site we had (58) was quiet and very close to the beach and amenities block (which were clean and empty around 4, but beware the pre dinner rush!). The park seemed very family friendly, loads of kids and a nice playground, but we spent most of our time on the beach, which is simply stunning. This park is in the best location, with a gorgeous wide beach just off the reef near The Pass, and a brisk 20 min walk from wategos. It's also about a 10 min walk from the centre of town, and felt very safe and secure. I just can't wait to get back there!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ENSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Three adults rented a cabin (number 15) over Easter whilst attending Bluesfest. Cabin was clean and tidy, water was hot and kitchen had everything you could need. The single beds were a bit short and the two of use sleeping in them are only 5' 5" - our feet could touch the wall. Our cabin was right in the middle of the park and across the road from the children's playground, so sleeping in wasn't that easy, but overall the park is quiet.

The park is crowded and I am not sure if that is an Easter thing or normal. Also, our car park was surrounded by trees, so every night the car was covered in bird poo necessitating a trip to the car wash before we headed home.

Overall, a bit expensive but everything in Byron is at Easter. We chose this park because it s beach proximity, the easy walk into the town centre and the fantastic cafe next door. We got exactly what we were expecting. I note a few comments about poor customer service in previous reviews - we had no issues whatsoever with this and found everyone we dealt with to be friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The website has a good site map available. I would go for cabins 18,19, 20 or any of the beachfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbjo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I don't know what it is about this place but everytime i enquire about staying here i come off the phone feeling very frustrated and upset. This morning i tried to make a booking but the staff member had a couldn't be bothered to talk atitude, and unfriendly. i have now been left feeling once again like i will spend my money elsewhere as this atitude is unacceptable in this industry. i have stayed here before and have paid for ocean view room with our 7 month old and it ticks all the boxes, but when you get atitude like this it makes you feel like you don't want to give them your business. What a shame! All we wanted was a very happy friendly person on the other end of the line who makes you feel like your there already, when life is as hectic as it is getting round to a holiday or even booking one can be just as tiring as life itself!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank twitchiegeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
236 reviews
0.8 mi away
First Sun Holiday Park
First Sun Holiday Park
#22 of 64 in Byron Bay
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
#25 of 64 in Byron Bay
233 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 64 in Byron Bay
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach

Property: North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach
Address: Bay Street, off Lighthouse Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly NCHP Clarkes Beach Holiday Park)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to be close to the splendor of nature but not too far from the reassuring hiss of a cappuccino machine? Then Clarkes Beach Holiday Park is your perfect holiday destination. A recent winner of the prestigious Environment Excellence Award, it provides a serene, tranquil environment, with an abundance of plant and animal life. It is an oasis amongst the sand dunes with its modern facilities, amazing views and great atmosphere. It is also within walking distance – and if you take the beach route, what a walk that is! – to Byron Bay, and all the delights that bustling town has to offer, be they shopping, eating or entertainment. Some of Australia’s most iconic beaches: Main Beach, The Pass and Wategoes Beach are all within walking distance of the park, and all have something extraordinary to offer. For the surfer there are those world famous waves, for the family there is squeaky white sand, crystal clear water and the reassurance of patrolled areas, and not to forget the simple pleasures such as enjoying a picnic lunch on the park’s own viewing platform while watching, spellbound, as the migrating whales pass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing